We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet location, short walk from town.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Horizontes Finca Ma Dolores
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Stayed two nights on a group tour. New cabin near the site boundary. Managed to jam the key in the doorlock late at night but it was fixed first thing in the morning by pleasant staff. OK dinner, underwhelming folk dancing - a brief explanation of the dances would have helped. Slowish breakfast service(no buffet). Good clean swimming pool with bar (beer prices cheaper than hotel bar).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnfred4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had no choice about this hotel as we were on a pre-booked tour but If you want to experience lively Cuba, don't waste your time on a night stop here unless you have transport to take you into Trinidad. We stayed in one of the newer rooms (which had the only soft towels we had in all our Cuban stay) but the lighting was inadequate and the air-conditioning, although amazingly quiet and effective, was so positioned that it blew across your head when you went to sleep so we had to turn it off. The in-house entertainment staff worked hard but there was no atmosphere in the restaurant which meant the evening was a real disappointment. All-in-all not a good experience if your time in Cuba is limited.

Room Tip: Stay in a hotel in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grannytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

After staying at this hotel, I can now understand the vast difference in people's views. I suspect the majority who wrote poor or terrible stayed in a standard chalet, everyone else, in a superior. We were in a standard, and I will simply say we had to change twice, though if we had been able to, I would have happily paid the difference to upgrade.

Clearly there is an upgrading programme going on (our first room was 6ft away from banging and hammering from 7am), and when the project is complete, and they decommission the current "standard" chalets, it will be quite a nice place to stay despite the disadvantage of just being outside Trinidad.

My advice is if you do use this hotel, go for a superior room. Things will not be perfect, but a standard room is just not worth the disappointment, which ruined otherwise a lovely couple of days in and around Trinidad.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Scullyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed in a clean, secure bungalow - room got very cold at night - the air conditioning unit was same level as bed so cold feet!! Staff were very slow at breakfast we had to ask for hot option. Salsa dancing lesson was very good fun although expensive even though part of a large group. The evening entertainment was simple and crude - cuban version of the Chippendales. Lots of dogs and cats in the restaurant - 6/7 at all times.

Room Tip: Turn off air conditioner at night if you don't want frozen feet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

When presented in our travel papers it looked so good. Simple but clean bungalows near the village of Trinidad. Simple and clean is okay, but simple and not clean is absolutely not okay. Missing shower curtains, leaking toilet (we changed bungalow for that).
Swimming pool that got dirtier by the hour, with well-stocked bar but moody waiter.
We got breakfast and dinner (skipped the last one), the manager of the place was very proud of his kitchen and the meals produced. Service was varied, depending on the person waiting on you.
I wouldn't recommend this place but for the experience!
there is a shop on the premises, but I've never seen it open for customers.
receptionist speaks a little english, bring your dictionary!

Room Tip: the upgrade is def worth the extra money, but check the room before unpacking! when dissatisfied, ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tantefrans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

A sort of halfway house between being in Trinidad and being in one of the nicer hotels on the peninsula. On arrival, the porters were rude to us and rude to our tour guide and decided they couldn't be bothered to help with luggage, The restaurant staff ignored any offered greetings and only served breakfast when they could be bothered to get round to it. The bar staff at the pool were indifferent and non-communicative. This was definitely not a happy ship when we stayed. On that basis alone, it's a big fat one-star from me.

We had a cabin quite near the pool and surrounded by paths leading to other cabins. With the curtains open you felt very exposed and there was no veranda to sit on, so opt for a cabin away from the centre if possible. The room was a large triple, clean but very dilapidated and a heath and safely nightmare with electrical sockets hanging off the wall in the bathroom.

As with many Cuban hotels, paying day guests are allowed around the pool and bar so it was heaving during the day. We were out all day so not a problem for us but If you fancy a quiet afternoon by the pool, you are at the wrong place.

The price of drinks and ice creams seemed to be random and varied from restaurant to pool depending on who was serving, so be careful you don't get overcharged.

There are various animal & bird cages dotted around and free roaming goats and chickens. The teenagers in our party found a litter of young kittens living inside the billiard table in the restaurant which was the only fun thing about this place.

I couldn't honestly recommend this at all. The only nice thing was the savoury biscuits served with breakfast.
,

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swansilvertone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I stayed three nights at this hotel.

positive:
I loved the horseback riding to the waterfall that they offered - even if it lasted for too long and you had pain all over your body the next day. it was magical to see the waterfall and swim in it.

The animals at the hotel were really cute and it was such a nice atmosphere there, it was peaceful.

The people who worked at the parking area were very nice.

The woman at the front desk (the reception) was very nice.

The rooms (the bungalows) were huge and very fresh.

Negative:
The pool was dirty. Apparently the engine had been broken for several weeks, which meant that the pool was almost brown.- allthough that has happened here before as I have seen other reviews.

The staff in the restaurant were very unpleasant, they seemed like they absolutely didn't want to work there. When we asked where our food was after waiting for about an hour, the waitress started to yell at us (on my birthday ofc...)

You have to wait about an hour for the food and it is not very good - plus, they do not have everything on the menu as they say.

There was a lot of mosquitoes in the room.

They tried to trick us into paying for something that we did NOT take from the fridge in the room, as we were checking out.

Overall:
It was simply a pretty horrible stay there. Allthough there was some nice things as you can see above.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emiepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
1.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Trinidad
5 mi away
Hotel Ancon
Hotel Ancon
#8 of 11 in Trinidad
967 reviews
4.5 mi away
Club Amigo Costasur
Club Amigo Costasur
#1 of 1 in Playa Ancon
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 11 in Trinidad
180 reviews
41.1 mi away
Hotel Los Caneyes
Hotel Los Caneyes
#2 of 7 in Santa Clara
486 reviews
44.1 mi away
La Granjita
La Granjita
#1 of 7 in Santa Clara
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizontes Finca Ma Dolores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizontes Finca Ma Dolores

Address: Carretera de Cienfuegos, Km. 1 1/2, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
Price Range: £59 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Horizontes Finca Ma Dolores 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Horizontes Finca Ma Dolores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing