We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful casa - very much recommended!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Las Margaritas
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful casa - very much recommended!”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed two nights in the Casa of Janio and his family. The house is led very professional and at the same time you stay with a very nice and lovely family. When we arrived Janio explained us what to do in Trinidad and provided us a map of the city. English is spoken here, so when you are not too familiar with spanish, no problem in this casa. The house is beautiful and very clean, our room was very cosy with fan and aircondition and a nice big bathroom. Breakfast is served in the beautiful inneryard terrace. The house is very central, so you can walk everywhere from here in Trinidad’s centre. When visiting Trinidad we can heartly recommend to stay in this casa!!

Room Tip: We had the room looking to the inner Yard, i think all rooms do. The room had 1 smaller and 1 bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisiwiena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    18
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
50
238
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
rmd73
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Trinidad is a quaint and wonderful old town and Hostal Las Margaritas was the perfect place to stay during our visit. Janio, Yahima and family were warm and accommodating hosts.
At the time, there were only two guest rooms, although it looked as though an extension may have been in progress. Both rooms were located off a picturesque courtyard to the rear of the house. We had the upstairs room complete with large fridge, TV, fan, AC and separate toilet / shower room. On the patio outside were a pair of sun loungers and a table and chairs where our breakfast and dinner were served upon request. The downstairs room also had its own dinning and patio area.
Janio met us a the the Viazul bus station (no more than a 10 minute walk away; everything in this wonderful little town is close at hand).
We we provided with a tourist map and Janio kindly walked us through all the things to do in Trinidad furnishing us with all the locations, prices and timings of the various attractions.
All in all it was a wonderful stay in a wonderful place and Hostal Las Margaritas is highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rmd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed at Las Margaritas for 4 nights, and wish we had booked for longer. Janio, Yahima and the whole family (4 generations in the same house!) were truly amazing hosts, very friendly and helpful. Janio met us at the bus station and arranged a bici-taxi to their casa, which took all of 3 minutes. He then gave us a proper introduction to Trinidad with loads of advice and a great map of the town.
Their casa is only about 5 minutes walk South of Plaza Mayor and is a beautiful home. We had the double en-suite room upstairs, which was nice, big and clean, but the mattress was pretty hard.
We had breakfast there every day, which was the best we had in Cuba, and had dinner there twice, including my first ever lobster! The meals were amazing and outstanding value, all served to us on our own private terrace outside our bedroom. Probably the best food we had the whole time in Trinidad.
Janio also arranged a horse ride for us with a neighbour to the nearby Parque El Cubano and waterfalls.
Thanks for having us Janio and Yahima, we would love to come back and stay again one day!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Super place to stay if you are in Trinidad , very close to the center of the city.Food is very good ( also diner) Our room was nice, with a lovely private terrace to sit out on. Janio and his family are very hospitable - he picked us up from the bus stop and provided great information on activities in and around Trinidad, which really helped us to get the most out of our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Olivier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed just one night with Janio and his family, which is a pity, as we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. He is a great host, speaking excellent English, and kindly gave us a lot of his time explaining where to go in the town. Our room was clean and offered all we needed. It was handy having our own keys, as we came back quite late - every night, the whole town parties on the steps alongside the church (not to be missed!). We were provided a tasty breakfast ready for our early start, and Janio even arranged a taxi for us. Excellent service all round - highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalrusOfHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We have just returned from two week holiday and stayed at Hostal Las Margaritas for two nights during our trip. This is an excellent casa and a great base to explore Trinidad from with it only being a few blocks walk away from the two main squares in Trinidad. The casa itself is lovely and is huge inside, which is unexpected when you first arrive at the front door. There are two rooms in the casa, both at the back of the property one on the ground floor with a patio area where you eat your meals if you chose to have breakfast/dinner there (which we would definitely recommend!) and the other on the first floor with a balcony terrace. The host Janio made us feel very welcome, his English was great and when we arrived he sat down with us and gave us maps, directions and key information about the local sights which was a nice touch. You also get your own keys to the casa front door as well as your room key which is great as there are some nice music bars in Trinidad to head out to at night so you can stay out late without worrying about disturbing anyone on your return. The room was clean and spacious with its own en suite shower room, air con and ceiling fan, and a mini fridge with water and soft drinks. We ate breakfast there both mornings and had dinner there on the second night which was three courses and very nice, we would recommend eating in the casa each night of your stay as we found that restaurant food in Trinidad (and Cuba in general) wasn't too great and quite pricey for the standard of it. Gracias to Janio and his family for a wonderful stay in Hostal Las Margaritas!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amie-Cummine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We just had a great stay here. Our room was nice, with a lovely private terrace to sit out on. Janio and his family are very hospitable - he picked us up from the bus stop and provided great information on activities in and around Trinidad, which really helped us to get the most out of our stay. I booked Las Margaritas through the HostelsClub site, which was a smooth process.

Room Tip: There are two rooms. We had the upstairs room, and really liked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blink76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
7.9 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 11 in Trinidad
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
181.1 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,296 reviews
123.5 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 63 in Varadero
1,215 reviews
177.5 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#16 of 79 in Havana
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Las Margaritas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Las Margaritas

Property: Hostal Las Margaritas
Address: Clemente Pereira no 53 | Cruz Verde, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 221 Speciality Lodging in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 26

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing