We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Hosts, Great Location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Dr. Suarez y Sra. Addys
Ranked #5 of 350 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Delightful Hosts, Great Location”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Addys and Jose are two of the loveliest people you are likely to meet. Kind and generous and friendly and helpful. I enjoyed my time talking with them immensely. We even went to Casa De La Musica one night together (get Addys to dance, she is great and she loves it!)

The house is a perfect Casa Particular, clean and spacious and light. As with other guest reviews here, arrangements were made for my arrival and departure.
Breakfasts are plentiful, if anything, there is too much food!

There are 2 rooms and they are separate from the family's living area, located on the 2nd floor. I had the room at the terrace which is a good size, clean and comfortable. The shower is good with constant hot water and the pressure is fine. I used the fan mostly but the aircon was perfect to cool the room down. The terrace is a lovely spot to sit and relax with its beautiful views.

Forget about internet in Trindad, it cost me $12/hr in the local "internet cafe" and is super slow. Actually forget internet in Cuba altogether! It is not easily available or accessible anywhere in the country.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TalbsOnTheGoGoGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    44
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
351
54
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed here three nights in late August, and the hospitality was great. We were met at the bus station, and our bedroom and ensuite were comfortable, clean and air conditioned. There was television, but we didn't watch it.

We ate pork one night, and breakfast everyday at the house, and all were delicious.

Sre. Addys and Dr. Suarez are both very accommodating and easy-going, and I'd definitely recommend their hostel to any traveller.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We arrived in Trinidad after a long bus ride from Havanna, stepped out of the bus wondering how we were going to find our hosts amidst the crowd, and then spotted one special smiling face that was Sra Addys.
A 3 wheeled cycle with plastic sheeting for roof cover was our transport to the home. Fun all the way in our rustic vehicle. Our driver(cyclist) had the strongest looking calves ever.
Sra Addys and her husband Dr. Suarez greeted us as we arrived. We were escorted through the long narrow house,the traditional structure of the area of tightly packed row houses, with decorative wrought iron in front through which one had a full view of the living area of the house.
Our room up a narrow staircase was spacious , well furnished and air-conditioned.
After a good night's sleep, we arose to the most delicious breakfast on the 3rd floor terrace, with views of the rooftops and distant church steeples of Trinidad.
Our friends who chose to stay out of town in a Hotel missed the wonderful opportunity of spending time with a Cuban family. It was very a very informative and inspiring experience.
We wish the family all the best and hope one day they will be able to visit my own guest house in Trinidad & Tobago.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FortyWinksinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

This casa particula is a beautiful place in the centre of Trinidad. We had the best food in Cuba, very nice hosts and we enjoyed the beautiful terrace. It was simply perfect and we would recommend this place as the best spot to stay in Trinidad. There are just two rooms, so you can really enjoy some privacy in the house. Addys and Jose are lovely people with a great sense of humour.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This casa of Dr. Suarez and Sra. Addys is fantastic, clean and cousy. I stayed here with a friend one week at summer 2012. Do not miss to enjoy Addys's food. I can really recommend this place if you are going to Trinidad.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elmiina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

After a very long bus ride, more than 6 hours, on an overly air conditioned Viazul bus from Havana we arrived at the Viazul station in Trinidad. The bus was immediately swarmed by dozens of people, Trinidad Casa owners, trying to get your attention to stay with them. Thanks to the many contributors to “Trip Advisor”, I had already booked online with “Dr. Suarez y Sra. Addys”, and they had sent a Bici-taxi for us complete with a driver holding a sign with my name on it. When I saw his sign, I knew we were in good hands!
The Suarez’ Casa is a mere 200 metres from the Viazul station, and as we pulled up we were immediately struck by how clean everything was in Trinidad! All the streets were clean, no dog/cat excrement, buildings were clean and painted, etc. Completely unlike any experience we had in Havana! We were promptly met at the door of the Casa by Addys and Jose who spoke some English, but that didn’t matter as we quickly figured out how to “hand sign” and get the job done. Addys was always laughing! She’s an absolute delight! Oh my, what a beautiful house! Every surface was either tiled, painted or otherwise tastefully decorated. Very, very clean! We were taken to our suite, the two bed fully self contained unit at the top of the stairs with cleanest washroom I have ever seen! We knew we were in the right place! Once settled we were offered delicious Mojitos and Addys asked if we would like to have a lobster dinner. Ah…yes please! It was fabulous, no rubber lobster here! Our hosts also offered a lovely breakfast complete with fresh fruit, juices, breads, eggs, ham, etc. served on the beautiful terrace that had lovely views of the city. Of course, any food offered was at a minimal additional charge. Sleeping in the room was serene, as you couldn’t hear a thing and the lovely Panasonic air-conditioner cooled and kept the room absolutely perfect. No shortage of hot water for showers, and the stocked, at cost, mini-bar was a very welcome addition. Our hosts never bothered us as we had the whole top floor of the house to ourselves. Mornings found us sitting on the lovely, clean terrace watching the sun rise, listening to the Spanish roosters crowing, and the street vendors selling their early morning wares, such as bread, vegetables, etc. The terrace was our favourite part of the Suarez’ Casa anytime of day. We also met some lovely German tourists who were staying in the other room, and shared many delightful stories. We were given our own set of keys to the suite and front door of the Casa, so we came and went as we pleased! The Casa was within easy walking distance, no more that 5 minutes, to all of the major attractions in Trinidad, such as Plaza Mayor, Iglesia Santisima, etc. We spent a lovely 2 days with the Suarez’ and our biggest regret was not having stayed longer. We absolutely recommend this Casa for a very clean, welcoming, trouble free stay. Magnificent!

Contact Info.

Phone Number: (53) 41 992422.

Address: 174 Santiago Escobar Street. Between Frank Pais and José Martí.

E-mail: addystrinidad@gmail.com

Internet: http://www.hostaldrsuarezysraaddys.com

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a great time. The location is excellent, within a short walk of all the main sights. Addy and Jose were great hosts, very warm and welcoming and helped us with organising activities and taxis etc. The food was also delicious up on the terrace.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidB-UK12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
7.7 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 11 in Trinidad
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa MiCuba
Casa MiCuba
#18 of 350 in Trinidad
121 reviews
37.7 mi away
Hostal Ivan y Lili
Hostal Ivan y Lili
#1 of 139 in Cienfuegos
297 reviews
84.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#4 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
6,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Dr. Suarez y Sra. Addys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Dr. Suarez y Sra. Addys

Property: Hostal Dr. Suarez y Sra. Addys
Address: Santiago Escobar Street 174 | Between Frank Pais and Jose Marti, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 350 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostal Dr. Suarez and Mrs. Addys offers you the opportunity to stay in a private house in Trinidad to satisfy the desire to share the joy, food, hospitality and affection of a Cuban family, which has been recognized in the years 2012 , 2013 and 2014 with the Travelers Choice award and currently with the 2016 Certificate of Excellence. Our house is located in the center of the city and we offers you two rooms, comfortable, quiet and safe on the second level, each room has private bathroom, air conditioning, TV set, minibar, safe, Towels, shower with hot and cold water twenty-four hours. The most spacious room has two double beds and the smaller one a double bed. The house has two beautiful terraces with a view towards the city center and mountains where you can enjoy (if you want) delicious Creole food and fresh and different marine products Cocktails.At home English is spoken. . See you in Trinidad - Book your accommodation now! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing