We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Casa”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Dr. Suarez y Sra. Addys
Ranked #6 of 351 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Northumberland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Casa”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights last month. Clean and comfortable, with the best air con we found all holiday. Breakfast on the terrace was lovely and we ate one evening meal of Lobster which again was beautiful. We were met at the bus station which is a 5 minute walk away.

Trinidad is a beautiful place and we'll worth a visit. We hired a taxi from the guys who hang around on the main road to go to Santa Clara, and for 60cuc we had a great day out seeing all the che stuff there.

In short go to Trinidad and stop at this Casa

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ted-tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    479
    44
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
348
54
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This casa was definitely the best we stayed in Cuba and the cheapest.

Sra Addys made our stay amazing. She is accomodating and funny. The casa is renovated and very very clean. She gives you a key and doesnt enter your room if you have double locked it. It is almost hotel service, offers towels and umbrellas for the beach, umbrellas for the rain and shampoo/shower gel.

The location is really great near the old town, and the terrace has a beautiful view of the main square.

She brings you a welcome Mojito on arrival, and her mojitos are AMAZING!

Without hesitation we recommend this casa.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hostal Dr. Suarez y Sra. Addys in February 2014. We picked this casa because of all the great reviews and we are glad we did. Our room on the second floor was clean and had a small fridge. There is also a beautiful terrace on the second floor where we enjoyed many meals. The casa has a great location within easy walking distance of the town center and many restaurants. Jose was very helpful and arranged for an early morning taxi the day of our departure. If you are looking for a place to stay in Trinidad which is close to the center of town yet quiet and safe, I would recommend this casa.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conny L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

we arrived Trinidad and a free bike-taxi waited for us. Suarez and Sra were very nice and always with a smile on their faces. the breakfast was very good and the rooms was wonderful! the casa located couple of steps from the main plaza.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avi8007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed here for a week at the beginning of February and had a wonderful time.
Addys and José are great hosts and their Casa is very well located for a stay in Trinidad.
This was our first time staying in any Casa and we would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone wanting to try something different from the typical resort and hotel packages.
From the 2nd & 3rd. floor terraces you can relax and look out over the old town with the mountains in the background, or in the evening look to the south and west and watch the sun go down over the sea. It is within easy walking distance of the Plaza Major and related attractions and the many music venues and restaurants. Trinidad is a very safe place and we always felt secure walking anywhere at any time of day.

We had the smaller of the two available rooms located directly behind the second floor open terrace; it has one double bed that was very comfortable. There is a TV with several channel choices (not that we spent any time watching it). In February the evening temperatures are just about perfect for sleeping comfortably but should you need it there is a modern Panasonic air conditioner that runs very quietly and also an oscillating fan. We had our own bathroom with sink and shower; it was all very clean and had hot and cold running water at all times. There is a small fridge stocked with bottled water, pop and beer all very reasonably priced (no more than if you went out to a store and got your own). Every morning we had the (optional) excellent breakfast on the terrace consisting of coffee, tea, juice, fruit, pancakes, fresh bread, ham and cheese, and your choice of eggs (fried, scrambled etc.) It was always very good and enough to last us until supper time.

I had earlier mentioned in an email that it would be my wife’s Birthday the first morning after our arrival. When we got up for breakfast they had decorated the terrace with balloons and a “Happy Birthday” banner and made a nice cake. We were also given a complimentary bottle of wine that we enjoyed later with dinner. A friendly & charming couple from Germany who were staying in the other room joined us all to sing the Birthday song. Coming from the freezing cold of a Canadian winter to enjoy a birthday breakfast outside on a warm terrace with a great view and with people that treated us like friends and family was unbeatable.

José was always very helpful, one day arranging bicycle rentals from a neighbor and another day making calls for us to check if the train was running for a day trip to Valle de los Ingenios. The bike ride through La Boca and along the coast to the Playa Ancon resort area, stopping for a swim and then riding back through Casilda was very enjoyable. That was probably the easier way to go around the loop as the downhill ride into La Boca seemed quite a bit steeper than the gentle uphill slope on much of the return route.

Overall our Casa experience was very positive and if we visit other parts of Cuba we will be doing it again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This may be the best casa we have stayed at while traveling in Cuba. It is located close to the center of Trinidad (approximately 3 minutes on foot). So you will enjoy everything that the center can offer you, yet is it very easy to escape the bustle and relax on the rooftop terrace. Dr. Suarez and Sra. Addys are fantastic and make a great couple. Frankly, i fell in love with Addys ;-) And i am sure i am not the only one... She makes great mojitos and delicious food. Dr. Suarez and Addys' main concern is our/your well being. If you want to have breakfast or dinner at the casa: perfect! Want to go out for some food? Fine! All very relaxed. They are also willing to tell you the nice places to go when in Trinidad.

Room Tip: Both rooms are perfect. We stayed in the slightly bigger one "behind you" when you take th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean-Marleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

we had a wonderful time in this casa. brilliant town centre location ,spotlessly clean and very private. lovely terrace for meals. excellent friendly hosts. town centre 5 minutes and local excellent restaurant just around corner -'sol y sun' when you don't have excellent dinner in casa,

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mature_couple_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
7.7 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 11 in Trinidad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
181.1 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,253 reviews
178.9 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
84.2 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#4 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Dr. Suarez y Sra. Addys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Dr. Suarez y Sra. Addys

Property: Hostal Dr. Suarez y Sra. Addys
Address: Santiago Escobar Street 174 | Between Frank Pais and Jose Marti, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 351 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostal Dr. Suarez and Mrs. Addys offers you the opportunity to stay in a private house in Trinidad to satisfy the desire to share the joy, food, hospitality and affection of a Cuban family, which has been recognized in the years 2012 , 2013 and 2014 with the Travelers Choice award and currently with the 2016 Certificate of Excellence. Our house is located in the center of the city and we offers you two rooms, comfortable, quiet and safe on the second level, each room has private bathroom, air conditioning, TV set, minibar, safe, Towels, shower with hot and cold water twenty-four hours. The most spacious room has two double beds and the smaller one a double bed. The house has two beautiful terraces with a view towards the city center and mountains where you can enjoy (if you want) delicious Creole food and fresh and different marine products Cocktails.At home English is spoken. . See you in Trinidad - Book your accommodation now! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing