We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really a home stay”
Review of Casa OsmaryAlberto

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa OsmaryAlberto
Ranked #18 of 366 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We had stayed in 2 other home stays before this, and as another reviewer has said, THIS is not a home stay.We had a courtyard room with no natural light(due to a loggia outside), it was spacious and the bathroom had a lovely big shower.
The meals are served in the courtyard,breakfast was excellent ... but the evening meal a little "nouvelle" in its portion sizes.
We were also there for the music night ... where guests from another homestay joined us for a nice evening.
This mini hotel is ideally placed - and although there is no internet .... (COME ON CUBA!!) the internet cafe is in the square near the Iberostar, just round the corner.
Trinidad requires no more than a day and a half pretty tho it is ... so 2 nights ample here.

Room Tip: maybe ask for the upstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stella56A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

This swanky casa is right where you want it to be in the centre of town, one block from the Iberostar, so a 5-10 minute stroll from the main sites and museums. There is secure parking within the property through a challengingly narrow gateway off the street. Osmary and Alberto have five double rooms, and clearly employ a number of staff, so the place is to all intents and purposes a small hotel rather than a traditional family home-stay. Not that that really matters, but their management had something of a hands-off feel to it; we had maybe got used to practising our Spanish on chattier and more engaged hosts. Our upstairs room was large and very extravagantly decorated and furnished. A good bathroom and shower, fridge and modern (= silent) AC. Breakfast was taken in the courtyard, and was the usual formula, with perhaps more choices than usual (sausage, bacon etc.) if you asked for them. Dinner one evening was a bit disappointing, again possibly reflecting the fact that a less-than-engaged employee cook was having to cook for just two guests that night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We didn't stay here - staying at casas down the road - but we did eat here and very nice it was too. I had lobster and fish (why the fish? there was lots of it), after a minimalist starter, and it was delicious. We were serenaded by a trio of singers throughout the meal, which was in a shady courtyard. It is a little difficult to find, when the door to the street is shut - just look out for the sign!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank fredpipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

English version below

Increíble casa, tiene un patio/jardín central al cual dan las habitaciones, cada habitación tiene su terraza, todo al mas puro estilo caribeño. Las habitaciones con baño en suite son espaciosas y pulidas.

La casa y sus instalaciones son divinas pero osmary, alberto y todo su equipo son adorables y eficientes, el día que salí para tomar mi vuelo me olvidé el iphone en el patio de la casa y me lo enviaron a la habana en tiempo récord, no hay palabras.

La excursión a las cascadas de su propio Rancho fué una experiencia inolvidable, el mejor día de nuestro viaje de tres semanas por todo el caribe.

Hemos estado dos veces y cada vez nos gusta más!

Nos ha costado mucho escribir estas palabras, se quedó parte de nuestro corazón.

Andy / David

Incredible House, It has a Garden Patio all rooms face it, every every private room has its own terrace, everything is 100% Caribbean style. The rooms with in-suite bathroom are spacious and neat.

The House and the facilities are divine but Osmary, Alberto and their team are adorable and efficient, the day I left to take my flight I forgot my Iphone in the patio and They send it to me in Habana in record time, 1 hour after I arrived at the airport!

The Waterfall trip to its own Rancho was unforgettable, the best day of our 3 weeks trip to the Caribbean.

We have been there twice and we love it more each time.

It was hard to write these words, we left part of our hearts there

Andy / David

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

There is a scam in these parts whereby a pleasant young man waves your car down on a pretext and (unseen by you) punctures your rear tyre, he very helpfully offers to put your spare tyre on, and guides you to a tyre workshop who charge you 45 CUC to repair it (and presumably split this with the young man). We turned up at this Casa with a fast deflating tyre. Alberto took charge, changed the wheel and while we were out next day arranged for the punctured tyre to be repaired for 6 CUC. Our room was nice, the breakfast was brilliant, the evening meals were very good. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OldChap33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We travelled here from Havana and we were given a choice of rooms in this lovely house. The owner and his family were very welcoming and the breakfast's were superb. My only criticism is that on our first evening we were offered dinner which was defrosted lobster/fish etc. Totally tasteless (and mushy) and we suspected defrosted in a microwave. Apart from that the room was clean, our laundry was a done for a small charge and we would not hesitate to recommend. Great location and the owner suggested a train ride which we enjoyed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We spent one week at Alberto's and loved every day. We had the downstairs room by the terrace, which is spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was included in our room rate and was excellent - fresh fruit and juice, eggs any which way, cake, yoghurt .... Dinner is optional but so good, it's hard to find a better restaurant in town. Any excursions can be arranged through Alberto: Horses, snorkeling, taxis - we tried it all and recommend it. Go on, treat yourselves!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank saint_lydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Trinidad
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 11 in Trinidad
180 reviews
122.5 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Ancon
Hotel Ancon
#8 of 11 in Trinidad
967 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa MiCuba
Casa MiCuba
#47 of 366 in Trinidad
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Buscando a Caniqui
Hostal Buscando a Caniqui
#25 of 366 in Trinidad
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa OsmaryAlberto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa OsmaryAlberto

Address: Miguel Calzada No:114 (Borrell) | /Lino Pérez y Camilo Cienfuegos, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 366 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Price Range: £18 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing