We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfecto!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Casa Colonial el Patio
Ranked #3 of 365 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I' ve been several times in Cuba and I always decided to stay in a casa with the Cubans.
I can say that this casa is by far the best place ever in the whole Cuba.
Excellent rooms...
excellent food...
excellent patio...
excellent feeling...
but most of all, excellent people.

Thank you so much for everything.

Everybody should try to visit and stay there,,, or even try the food in the casa.

With love,
George

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2013

My husband and I spent 2 nights at Casa Colonial in Dec 2012 and it was by far the best casa we stayed in during our 2 wks in Cuba. The entrance of the 18th century colonial home is right out of a museum & it opens up to a lush courtyard with mango and palm trees, flowering plants, and a lounge/seating area with hammock & chairs.

The friendly host/owner, Manuel, greets guests with a drink and makes you feel at home right off the bat, offering advice re: local restaurants, sites, etc. He was helpful on several occasions (we had bikes with us and ran into a few issues) and never made us feel like we were disturbing him with questions or requests.

The rooms (with private baths) are spacious and open up to the courtyard and the location is perfect - on a quiet side street just a 3-min walk to the main square in town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citygurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We spent 5 nights at Manuel's place at the beginning of November 2012. we really enjoyed our stay thanks to Manuel, his wife and his great "chef"! The rooms are really nice: the great room at the entrance is wonderful and the the one where we stayed in the patio is quiet and pleasant with his view on the green inner court. The food was probably the best we could taste in Cuba: the starters and the desserts were different every day and always delicious. And Manuel's cocktails ... Manuel and the family have always been very friendly and never put any pressure on us but always made us feel at home.Definitely the best place to stay in Trinidad and probably the best place we stayed in Cuba! don't miss it!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmanuelaStefano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We stayed in half a dozen casa particulares in Cuba and this was by far the most beautiful. The restoration of the main room was museum quality (17 layers of paint were removed to uncover the original friezes), and Manuel leaves the doors and windows open to the street so all can enjoy its beauty. The front bedroom is spacious and furnished with period taste. Heavy shutters separate the room from the street and in the early morning we heard the call of the street vendors announcing their wares ("limones, limones") and the clok clok of horses on the cobblestones. We took our meals (excellent, generous) in the garden which is verdant and restful.
The best part about our stay was getting to know our hosts. Manuel and Lisbeth are an energetic and enthusiastic and genuinely caring couple. They made our family feel very welcome and were unstintingly helpful in arranging activities and transportation. On our last morning, we found gifts adorning the breakfast table. We felt so grateful to have happened on such a wonderful casa.
Manuel was in the process of installing televisions in each of the two rooms. I hope he decides against this "improvement" since it will detract from the 19th century ambiance. The casa is perfect as is, and gives a real sense of what colonial life must have been like a century or two ago in trinidad.
This casa is very popular and often full. Be sure to book in advance. It is a real gem.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Jjjjjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

I always wonder when all the previous reviews are rated excellent. Are they possibly all relatives?? Now I know- this was a terrific casa particular!! The hosts were so welcoming and accommodating. The food was really good, the garden area was amazing and the colonial architecture terrific. We were even invited to join in a family birthday feast which was a lot of fun! Their new address is:-
casacolonialelpatio@gmail.com

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dugla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We hadn't booked ahead and there were no rooms available when we got there.The owner was extremely helpful and directed us to another BB just few steps away. He also allowed us to visit his house which is undoubtedly beautiful!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and from the time we were met at the bus until the day we left it was perfect, and amazing value. By far the best and cheapest Casa we stayed in in Cuba. A beautifully restored home with an amazing patio garden to enjoy your meals in. Our hosts Manuel and Elisabeth made us very welcome, organised trips, provided great food and were extremely generous for my wife's birthday. The location is excellent and rooms fine - it has to be the number one in Trinidad.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
0.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
7.6 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
227 reviews
5.0 mi away
Club Amigo Costasur
Club Amigo Costasur
#1 of 1 in Playa Ancon
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hostal Casa Jose y Fatima
Hostal Casa Jose y Fatima
#7 of 365 in Trinidad
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa MiCuba
Casa MiCuba
#17 of 365 in Trinidad
126 reviews
4.9 mi away
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
#11 of 11 in Trinidad
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casa Colonial el Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa Colonial el Patio

Address: Ciro Redondo 274 | La Calle del Museo, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 365 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful colonial house is located in Trinidad's historical center, just two blocks away from the Central Square and local bars (Casa de la Musica, Palenque, Casa de la Trova). The house was constructed in 1754 by the Spanish with all the architectural elements of colonial houses which have been preserved (internal patio, wooden ceiling, floral motif ornamentation of the door and window paneling). Its two rooms have been refurbished with all modern amenities. The owner and his family will certainly make you feel at home! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing