We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family & charming colonial home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Casa Colonial el Patio
Ranked #3 of 365 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Manuel & Lisbeth are lovely and warm. Manuel was very helpful finding us a pair of bicycles (not easy in Cuba) one day and a guide the next to accomodate our various desires.
We ate our best meals in Cuba at Casa Colonial, especially the fish dinners prepared by Lisbeth and family. We felt very privleged to stay in a home of such historical significance and amongst such gracious people. We were only there a few days but felt like family by the time we departed!
Any traveler would be lucky to stay in Casa Colonial.

Room Tip: When we stayed there, we were lucky to stay in one of only a few rooms that are available to guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed here towards the end of last year. Manuel was such an amazing host. A great cook with a very welcoming kind family.
The casa was well looked after. One of the best in Cuba. The location is central, clean with quiet rooms. Highly recommend this casa!
Phil.

Room Tip: Think the front room is slightly larger but both rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This casa is the MOST beautiful we have stayed or seen in Cuba. Breathtaking from the moment you step in. Every single corner you look at shows a loving dedication to details and respect for the amazing history of this place. A great taste overall. The extremely sympathetic and helpful hosts Manuel and Lizbeth created a unique, almost dreamy atmosphere. The patio is far more beautiful than everything we have seen on our trips to the jungle. You want to spend time in this little spot of peace and beauty. After travelling 3000 kilometers all over cuba this casa is remarkable.
It shows that people can realize great things under 'difficult' circumstances if they want to. Obviously they wanted and suceeded gracefully. They created a small paradise. Respect!

A Beautiful and rich breakfast is served in the patio. Unfortunately we didn't enjoy the dinner. Next time.
In our rooms everything was on a high level. Perfect bathroom, air condition and so on. Clean and cosy atmosphere and again a good taste in the details overall. Only the bed is a bit to short eventhough I am not the super tall guy.

We highly recomend this casa!!! THANK YOU

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sascha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Pictures don't do this casa justice. This is not a place to miss! The history in this place speaks for itself. Manuel and his family are extremely welcoming, generous, kind and great to talk to. The back garden is a small Eden .. beautifully designed and maintained. The rooms are very luxurious as far as casas go in Cuba. We are vegetarians and ate breakfast and dinner there - so delicious! Absolutely no complaints, and would recommend this to anyone travelling through Trinidad. - Kiran and Shawn

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkp1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Good food, clean and quiet rooms, warm and friendly hosts, central location ... what more can you ask for? A great place to stay in Trinidad and a wonderful way to connect to the real Cuba. Bill (Australian traveller)

Room Tip: We stayed in the room off the rear courtyard so there was no street noise whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We were very happy when entered the house first. We stepped into a museum, had a short 'tour' in the exhibition, and then entered the patio. That is maybe the best part of the house. Just sit and enjoy it, especially during the evenings. The house itself is situated in a very good position. You will be just in the old city, some minutes from everything you may be interested in. Manuel and Lizbeth are great hosts, feel free to ask anything.
You will enjoy, in every meaning, your meals in the patio where you will be served like in a first class hotel. The cuttlery and the plates are selected very carefully. The food is great and I recommend rather to have dinner here than to go to one of the restaurants.
Abot the room: we were a little bit affraid as the house is very, very old, but this is an extremly good accomodation. We had here the best aircondition and even flat TV in the room. The bathroom was very nice and comfortable.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pirosinges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We were on our honeymoon. By far best Casa in Cuba. Nothing to compare with. Manuel and Lizabeth are just amazing couple. Rooms are great, beautiful (!) garden. The atmosphere allow you to relax and feel at home. Location is also great.
Just go and try. We highly recommend

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ziv B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
0.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
7.6 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal Casa Jose y Fatima
Hostal Casa Jose y Fatima
#7 of 365 in Trinidad
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa MiCuba
Casa MiCuba
#19 of 365 in Trinidad
126 reviews
4.9 mi away
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
#11 of 11 in Trinidad
1,668 reviews
37.6 mi away
Hostal Ivan y Lili
Hostal Ivan y Lili
#1 of 141 in Cienfuegos
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Casa Colonial el Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Casa Colonial el Patio

Address: Ciro Redondo 274 | La Calle del Museo, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 365 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful colonial house is located in Trinidad's historical center, just two blocks away from the Central Square and local bars (Casa de la Musica, Palenque, Casa de la Trova). The house was constructed in 1754 by the Spanish with all the architectural elements of colonial houses which have been preserved (internal patio, wooden ceiling, floral motif ornamentation of the door and window paneling). Its two rooms have been refurbished with all modern amenities. The owner and his family will certainly make you feel at home! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing