We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a perfect dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sabor Tropical

Sabor Tropical
Ranked #53 of 119 Restaurants in Trinidad
Price range: US$4 - US$19
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Cash Only, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Colonial y buen gusto
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a perfect dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

a perfect dinner experience a little off the turistic tracks of trinidad - everything so fresh and well prepared - lovely staff and some nice music - enjoy!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rikke l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    19
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coldstream, BC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Food - Great Music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

Wandering around the streets of Trindad we stumbled upon this gem. This is a don't judge the book by it's cover deal. The sign out front dosen't really tell the story. We went there for lunch. The service was great because when we arrived we were the only ones - the food took a while to prepare but was well worth the wait - delicious and fresh. Besides in the meantime we were seranaded by Yaydi Pinero a young woman with a beautiful voice and classical guitar. As it was she was sitting on a stool behind me - my wife being across the table was facing her. I felt like one of the judges on The Voice during blind auditions. Part way through her first song I slapped the button but alas by chair did'nt automatically turn around. She notice that I did this and needed me to explain what this was all about. I told her about the show. She didn't know who Blake or Shakira were but she cetainly knew who Adam Levine and Usher are. She was flattered by our reaction to her musical talent - I'm actually listening to her CD while I'm writing this review. I don't usually buy all the CDs I'm offered but I did buy hers. This is the beauty of Cuba - you never know where you're going to come across the full cultural experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yaniel David C, Propietario at Sabor Tropical, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Google Translation
Thank you, Your opinion mean a lot for us, Regrese pronto lo esperamos Un saludo Yaniel DC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Average restaurant in Trinidad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

We came here for a light lunch and didn't want the menu with inclusive meals. We eventually got the detailed menu and could order what we wanted. The vegetable salad was very good but the chicken salad was drowned in sauce. Staff were amiable and the value was very good.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andalsnes, Norway
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food and service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

Worth visiting if you want to dine in a nice-looking restaurant with good food and service. We had dinner there on our last night in Trinidad in November 2012 and were all very content with the presentation and taste of the food. It was actually one of the better meals we've had during our holiday.

However, they do not know a thing about opening wine bottles, - I had to do it for them and our red wine was taken from the fridge so it was quite cold :-). We didn't mind and found it a bit charming as a matter of fact. Wine is not a common drink in Cuba anyway and you have to take it as it is.

I wouldn't rank this as a paladar (as one of the other reviewers has), - it's more a regular restaurant. We didn't have the best experiences with the food in paladares when we were in Cuba, but it's worth trying!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maarstet
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great restaurant - great music!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Spend an evening at Sabor Tropical. Great meal - but what I really remember is the Duo Alborada - they could easily win Idol and X-factor. Thanks a lot!! Coming to hear them again very soon (at Sabor Tropical)!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steen-Maarstet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sabor Tropical also viewed

Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
 
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
 
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
Trinidad, Sancti Spiritus Province
 

Been to Sabor Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing