We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Marilu y Nelson
Ranked #69 of 348 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

very nice people, we enjoyed our breakfast on the terrace it was more than enough, with fresh fruit, juices, eggs at your choice. we had excellent meals, which we choose in advance.
important for us: the parking for our rental car.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SvenmartineV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    22
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
46
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
telkwa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed in this casa particular for 4 nights in January,2013. Fresh fruit every morning with breakfast as we had come to expect in cuba and good optional dinners if you chose to eat in. All the facilities worked as planned, plenty of hot water. The two terraces are a welcome addition to the good sized bedrooms, lots of people use their rooftops here and it was fun to join them in the evening while sipping one of Carlos mojitas. Casa is on a sidestreet, "callejon" so the majority of the traffic is of the 4 hooved, two wheeled variety. Also it is only a couple of blocks from everywhere in Trinidad including the bus station. Would recommend this to anyone familiar with casa particulars and for anyone trying to break loose from the resorts.

Room Tip: we stayed in one of the two uptairs rooms ajoining the terrace but the one downstairs room might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TelkwaBeemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

it was really good experience.
they based right in the centre of the city.
especially loved their breakfasts and dinners (if you will ask for it) on their great balcony.
they have car parking next door from them.

also you can ask them about horse tour - it's good (but could be painful for you butt))))
anyway really recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergey53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

We stayed with Marilu & Nelson in December and we had such a great time! Great family, comfortable house and lovely food! They help you with everything from packed lunches to excurision advise and give you a warm and lovely enviornment for an unforgettable stay in Trinidad. I truly recommend this casa particular! //Erika

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikaKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed in Hostal Marilu y Nelson in Trinidad from 17 Dec until 21 Dec 2012.
Very nice family ( 3 generations) , really interested in their guests and giving all help you need.
Nothing seems to be uncomfortable in their Casa Paritcular.
I will recommend it to all I know travelling to Cuba.
Karin Erika 68 year old teacher from Sweden

Room Tip: the room next to the terass is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin Erika E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

We loved Hostal Marilu and Nelson! We stayed with Marilu and Nelson in August during our 8 days in Cuba and by far it was the most amazing part of our trip. From the minute we arrived we felt like part of the family and very welcomed in their beautiful home. We were amazed by how clean and beautiful the house was and the terrace was amazing. We arrived as the sun was setting and enjoyed a beautiful view of Trinidad from their peaceful terrace. In the morning, we were served breakfast on the terrace and enjoyed the delicious assortment of fresh fruit and juices. Marilu suggested a delicious restaurant for us to enjoy and many local sites. She was very available and willing to support and help us with any questions. She and Nelson both has tremendous patience and genuine interest in sharing their stories and suggestions with us. We felt completely at home and relaxed and so fortunate to have such an amazing experience with a family. As we were checking out there was a confusion with the money and Marilu was very quick to say, that we had made a mistake and that we were giving her too much money. She was very honest and trustworthy and generous at all times. We will surely return to Cuba and visit Marilu and Nelson again. We loved this casa particular!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willits, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Without question the nicest particulare we found on our trip. We visited Havana, Vinales and Trinidad spending the longest stretch in Trinidad due in no small part to the hospitality at Hostal Marilu y Nelson. Very clean with comfortable beds in spacious, quiet rooms. They run a very nice house convenient to everything in Trinidad. Evening cocktails with a fine Cuban cigar on the terrace watching the clouds over the mountains...perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmw6-7-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
0.0 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 11 in Trinidad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 63 in Varadero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
0.0 mi away
Hostal Los Hermanos
Hostal Los Hermanos
#91 of 215 in Trinidad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
#8 of 11 in Trinidad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Marilu y Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Marilu y Nelson

Property: Hostal Marilu y Nelson
Address: Santiago Escobar 172 entre Frank Pais y Jose Marti, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 348 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing