We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Simple but good!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Los Helechos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Los Helechos
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Trinidad
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Simple but good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

As most reviewers here we spent a night at the hotel as part of a Trinidad and hiking tour. The room is basic but clean, with a cute flower arrangement by the maids when we checked in. Staff don't speak much English if you are only and English speaking tourist, but they are all very friendly and nice. After all, you are in a Spanish speaking country! The food at the buffet was typically Cuban - simple but nice and tasty. Beds are comfortable, the hotel generally very quiet so you are guaranteed to have a peaceful sleep in the mountains.

When you do go stay, remember you are in a rainforest - there will ALWAYS be mosquitoes. You can't blame the hotel for that ;) Just bring some extra strong repellent and you'll be fine!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheLittleEstonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    35
    90
    46
    18
See reviews for
22
106
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liedekerke, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

During a two days excursion to Trinidad and Topes we stayed for one night in this hotel.After an adventurous bus ride to the mountain top through the dark of the late evening we were received at the reception desk with a free welcome drink.This hotel is situated amidst vegetation and forest. We were given the room at the end of the corridor next to the lobby-bar, unfortunately the sounds of voices and laughter from people at the bar came right through the thin door.The room itself was basic, spacious,slightly outdated and had a damp smell. The lock on the balcony-door needed maintenance. TV worked fine, the airconditioning produced to match noise. Beds were not unconfortable, after the bar was closed we had a good night sleep.The bathroom was just ok; with a schower, no bathtub,two peaces of soap and enough warm water. At the restaurant around dinnertime we found some suitable food ;fried fish & chicken combined with yucca,vegetables and sweet potatoes,etc. Also for breakfast the choice was fairly acceptable: fried eggs, bacon, cheese, fruit juices & slices, etc. We especially liked the "mojito" at the lobby-bar, to our taste quite the best we had throughout this holiday.

Room Tip: If You like to go to sleep early-night ask for a room away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kretenzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

We spent one night here as part of our "overnight to Topes" tour. At first glance I was a bit freaked out but I did just leave a 5 star resort to take the tour. Everything seemed dark in the room when we entered and the lighting was not very good so there were many dark areas and I'm a bit freaked out about bugs etc so I was hesitant about staying there. Our rooms were all 2 double beds with a nightstand between them and the thought of sleeping in this room scared the heck out of me, didn't think I'd sleep a wink. Our tour guide was kind enough to allow us to push the beds together so my husband and I could sleep nearby each other and she even helped us do so.

The bathroom seemed so dark with its red tiles but once you looked close it was obvious that not only was it clean but it was also quite newly redone. The shower area is just slightly recessed from the floor and has a shower curtain. I thought for sure that the floor would be soaked but it actually worked very well. The walls seem to be made of concrete and there is a fair size closet in the room with a couple of commercial type benches inside. There is a wall safe that requires a key, I expect it is at an additional cost as we didn't get one. The furniture is mostly of a wicker type look and it does the job. The views were absolutely amazing, I had wished I could pack it up and take it back to our resort with us! The patio door did have a large space at the bottom but we just pushed a towel up against it to sleep. The most concerning thing for me was the fact that I couldn't locate a single smoke detector anywhere in the room.

So to sum things up I was a bit put off at first by the room but once I got past the dark corners I saw it for what it truly was, a decent room that was quite clean.

It wouldn't be my place to stay for a long vacation but one night was just fine. I think for backpackers it would be an ideal place to lay your head at night as the sights nearby are amazing.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here before hiking the following day in Topes de Collantes. Food is not bad. The room was basic, clean, and everyone in our room had a great night's sleep. Be sure to bring your own shampoo as there is none.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimfromCanada2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

This place is simply awful...but it is the best of the few hotels in Topes.

Surly, uninterested staff in the hotel itself. Restaurant staff are better and do offer a smile.

Whilst the rooms are clean, the balcony doors do not lock and the curtains clings for dear life to the curtain pole. All very shabby, but if you into the hostel type experience then you will cope.

Be prepared for basic food if the flies that sit on the open food does not put you off. I can cope with a few inevitable flies, however breakfast which was laid out on the table before sitting down was so infested i didn't recognise the fruit.

When i next go to Cuba i will stay in Trinidad and visit Topes on a day trip.

The other hotels are even worst...i would even consider them if i were you.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vespa4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Trinidad hotels

North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

I stayed in this hotel one night as part of my Trinidad tour from Havana, I recommand this hotel. It is clean, quiet, great location on top of mountains and good food. I liked my room and it was pretty comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kijiji2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
165 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed here on our second night in Topes as we were relocated the first night to nearby Villa Caburni. Los Helechos is definitely the better option. It offers a buffet restaurant for breakfast (Included) and dinner (13 CUC per person) , Lunch was a la carte. Their is a heated indoor pool (Water was cold when we were there, heating system has been out of commission since last year) Disco and Games room (Bowling and Pool Table) was also available at an additional charge (quite minimal)

The rooms were quite spacious, Our room had 2 double beds, cable tv and shower with plenty of pressure and hot water.

Tip: All in all this is best equipped hotel in the Topes area, Their really isn't much to compare to. Also in terms of food options their really isn't much options, if you don't want to pay the over priced buffet at Los Helechos you can dine at nearby El Retiro for less than half the cost and you'll also get a wonderful view.

I don't think we will be returning to Topes especially staying for more than 1 night, I would recommend Topes for a really good day trip as their is alot to see. For accommodations and restaurant options Trinidad is your best bet.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simplycuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
8.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
173.3 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
175.5 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
291.4 mi away
Villa Pinares de Mayari
Villa Pinares de Mayari
#8 of 10 in Holguin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
173.7 mi away
Hotel Kohly
Hotel Kohly
#34 of 78 in Havana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Helechos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Helechos

Property: Hotel Los Helechos
Address: Topes de Collantes, Sancti Spiritus, Cuba | Sancti Spíritus, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Los Helechos (The Ferns Hotel) Complex offers hosting services, buffet or a la carte diners, snacks, national and international drinks. The resort is located and runs a protected area, with management category of Protected Natural Landscape. In its public use areas programs of Specialized Tourism or Nature Tourism are developed, extra-hotel services are structured in six Natural Parks with their respective gastronomic services, one of them on a cay just 12 nautical miles from the Ancon Peninsula and the rest in the mountains. This site is located 800 meters above sea level and is an ideal heaven for singles, couples and families that love nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Los Helechos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Helechos Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing