We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Los Helechos
Nearby Hotels
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$280
US$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$134
US$124
galahotels.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$104
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Ancon(Playa Ancon)
US$94
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel La Ronda(Trinidad)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
12
45
110
53
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
45
110
53
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan indoor swimming poolan older hotelspent one night hereclean airshower curtainmain buildingthird floorbuffet stylelarge roomcaburnibutlins
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed here one night as part of the topes overnight tour. Arrived in the evening, check in was easy and we received a free welcome drink.
One thing not to miss was the bowling alley. The rest of our tour went to bed early to rest for the next day, but took our tour guide out to the bowling alley which is on site and played. It was one of the hi lights of my whole Cuban trip. All the locals hang out there, bowl and play ping pong. Bowling was 1 peso/person/round I believe. So much fun.
The room had two double beds which we pushed together, a leaky toilet in the bathroom and wicker furniture. Nothing special, but sufficient to stay the night in.
Breakfast buffet was basic, but good.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank BonnicusRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

stayed here for our excursion Topes overnight. the trip included travel to and from cayo santa maria, visited trinidad and topes all for 99$. did not expect much but i was impresses. though very very simple, it was very clean. spotless. the bathrooms seemed redone and comfortable. good for 1 night stay. breakfast buffet was mediocre but for the price, cant complain! would go again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank susana l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel on an overnight excursion from Havana to Trinidad and other cities.
It served its purpose, but I would have preferred staying closer to Trinidad. The hotel was OK, serving the purpose of hosting guests for one night only. The room was clean, beds good, bathroom newly renovated. But the bathroom came with no shampoo, no floor carpet. Just the basics.
The food in the restaurant was edible but really not very good, leftovers from previous dinner were seen back on the breakfast buffet.
But I guess, if you are on an organised tour, it is OK, as the "russian truck to the national park" excursions start from here, as do the more recent hiking or biking tours.

There is only one computer with internet access in the lobby (no wifi), and the computer is most often booked, and costs money yo use.

Note that this hotel is in the mountains, quite far away from Trinidad. In other words, if on an overnight tour, you will not be able to see Trindad in the evening. On the other hand, as the hotel is at around 700 or 800 m altitude, nights are relatively cool, and off the hot summer season, you will not need the air-conditioning (a separate unit in the windows).


For being in Cuba, OK - otherwise, I would not have given it more than 2 stars

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This is for a one night stop when doing an over night trip to Trinidad. Clean and food was good. ventilation in room worked. Interesting stay it felt like a hotel in the Soviet block in the 1970s so interesting for this alone. Nice people. Really interesting trip to mountains/waterfalls on russian trucks.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mariabud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is one of the best hotels we've had in Cuba. The rooms were renovated, with a small but nice and clean bathroom. The restaurant is quite good, and the best we've had in the government owned hotels. It is on walking distance of the fantastic city of Trinidad, therefore you can easily go into the city during the night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chiel82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews