We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Night to Remember” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Ronda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel La Ronda
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Night to Remember”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

My family and I spent two nights (5&6th Aug 13) at La Ronda which is a stones throw away from the Grand Hotel. We stayed at the Ronda because the Grand was fully booked and it resulted in our best night on holiday.
Food menu is limited but well made
Rooms are spacious and the Towel art is worth the visit
The music from Coincidence (a trio) is outstanding
Laundry service is reasonable priced and excellent, My son's clothes washed and returned on the same day!!!
Did not use the pool (at another hotel) as we spent two full days sight seeing
My son (20) and daughter (15) found Trinidad as the least interesting for them and spent their time on the internet but they liked the hotel and the staff.
Overall service very good especially from the barman called Juventino.

Why was it so special? It was our 30th Wedding Anniversary and we had a wonderful evening especially when the only people around 22:00 were my wife and the hotel staff when Coincidence came and did an amazing impromptu performance to help celebrate our anniversary. The occasion was made extra special when we were also joined by the off duty chef (who could sing), Eduardo (from reception) with a great voice (as well as being a song writer) and Juventino (the barman) who unsurprisingly could also sing. The only people who could not in the building was me and my wife! It was a great evening which we will never forget and will be eternally grateful for the lovely memory of that night and the warm "heartedness" of the Cuban people who all appear to be able to sing!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asanka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    71
    14
    4
    11
See reviews for
28
76
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level Contributor
225 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is one of the best hotels in Cuba. Probably the best in Trinidad. The location cannot be better, right in the center of town, all the scenic squares, and shops and restaurants, within an easy stroll. The pool at this hotel is wonderful, which is out of the ordinary when the traveller ventures out into the the hinterlands away from the resorts on the north coast near Havana. The service was exceptional. We stayed for several nights, and the maids got to know us enough to make towel sculptures each day that picked up on our personalities. Very amusing, and flattering. The hotel restaurant is also top notch, highly recommended even if you are not staying here. We did have a tiny problem with an ant invasion of our room, but it was swiftly taken care of.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreggSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed here for one night only. Staff were most helpful and welcoming, room was spacious and stylish, dinner and breakfast excellent. Really cannot fault it, we would definitely stay again if ever in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street can be noisy after the bars close, when for some reason Cubans can only comm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BournemouthGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Arrived here in tropical downpour which turned the streets into rivers - very exciting when driving your own hire car!! Welcome drink gratefully received as we checked in. They also pre-arranged for someone to keep an eye on the car (which we could leave right outside the hotel) overnight for 2CUC per day. Stylish room with plenty of space and nice bathroom. Good breakfast chosen from a menu rather than buffet style so all freshly prepared. Central location for seeing lovely Trinidad. Having had a long day travelling from Vinales we ate on the hotel terrace on our first night. Food and service were excellent and we had the undivided attention of the band El Fiel Enamorado, whose CD we subsequently bought as a memento. Towel art great fun, as others have commented on. Make sure you get to Casa de la Musica in the evening where tourists and locals alike get up and dance - brilliant fun and what I went to Cuba for! Trip to Playa Ancon worthwhile if in need of a swim. Good beach.
We also stayed at, and have reviewed, the following hotels, if of interest:
Hotel Sevilla - Cuba
Hotel La Ermita - Vinales
Melia Buenavista - Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Nacionale de Cuba - Havana

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LizzieLou1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey b.c.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel on a recent trip to Trinidad, Cuba.Small boutique hotel,17 rooms I think.Great location,very nice rooms for the price and probably the most friendly staff we have ever come across.All the staff from the front desk to the maids were wonderful.The upstairs terrace bar man,Juevintivo, made us feel like we were old friends and of course is a fantastic bartender.Excellent choice for a hotel in Trinidad.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank footie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

The building itself, around a courtyard, is lovely. Our room, on the first floor near the restaurant, was stuffy and somewhat noisy. Other people in our group had problems with the shower, but we did not. Food is mediocre. Staff is incredibly nice. It actually has a decent internet connection, which is unusual in Cuba. You do have to pay. The highlight was the creative towel, clothes, and tissue paper art.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AIS45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
575 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

While the hotel is clean and the maids amuse the guests by designing figures using guest clothing and glasses, slippers and even books, the dinning room can not find butter on the menu, and the mattress is very thin and the sheets scratchy. Air conditioning is much needed and is very efficient. Another problem is that the shower leaks unto the bathroom floor. It is however quiet and is placed in a real neighborhood that allows safe walking at night. Visitors should take advantage of walking in the hood.
No pool and no spa!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank golem67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
1133.5 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1149.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
123.5 mi away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Ronda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Ronda

Property: Hotel La Ronda
Address: Calle Jesus Maria 45, Trinidad 62600, Cuba (Formerly Hotel Isalzul La Ronda)
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small La Ronda Hotel opens onto Parque Cespedes and offers a value-priced budget alternative to the deluxe Iberostar a stone's throw away, while having the advantage of a heart-of-affairs location compared to the similarly priced Hotel Horizontes Las Cuevas up the hill. The concept is fairly simple: take a 19th-century townhouse, fix up the plumbing and install modern bathrooms, give the rest of the building a sprucing and open up to foreign tourists. Hotel Cubanacan (formerly Islazul) La Ronda is located in the centre of Trinidad which has been declared a world heritage site by the UNESCO. Nearby is the Romantic Museum, the Plaza Mayor (Main Square), the Santa Ana Church the Cantero Palace and much more. The 17 air-conditioned bedrooms are on two levels opening to an atrium patio with palms and potted plants. Furnishings are somewhat meager, and the mattresses and pillows are second rate. Nonetheless, the rooms are the equal of most private room rentals (the most popular options in Trinidad) in town. The high ceilings and colonial tile floors help keep rooms cool, and those facing south have tall French doors opening to balconies overlooking the lively plaza. Satellite TVs, telephones, small refrigerators, and in-room safes are standard. The small restaurant and bar here are charming, albeit simple. Continental and criolla meals are served. For a splurge, the ritzy restaurants and bars of the Iberostar Gran Hotel Trinidad are literally a 50-pace stroll away. La Ronda hotel has been recently renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel La Ronda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing