We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three star hotel in a five star location. Truly.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brisas Trinidad del Mar
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
Utah, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Three star hotel in a five star location. Truly.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I hope my experience of broken a/c, defunct TV, unusable safe, etc. were exceptions, but I doubt it. The people at the front desk to learn what "the customer comes first" means. The Caribbean on the other hand is exquisite.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    426
    475
    300
    235
See reviews for
305
710
59
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

On arrival we see that the place is tired. We check in to our room and do not see any of the things our 'Ocean View Plus' room had promised. First of all there were two beds neither of which were big enough to share comfortably as a couple. Our safe was broken, wires hanging out-so no where safe to put our valuables. The bottle of rum which was supposed to be included wasn't there neither were the soft drinks in our fridge. So before we could hit the beach we had to sort this out. This took up an hour of our time while we waited at reception. Finally sorted, we headed down to the beach. Our first impression wasn't good, cigarette butts littered all over the sand. As seems to be the case in Cuba, there wasn't a lack of staff wandering around-but busy doing what?- I couldn't tell you. I saw no reason why the beach was left in this state. In saying that, there was no lack of rubbish bins along it, just lazy disgusting tourists who can't be bothered disposing of their buts properly. With snorkel and mask on we swam out in to what seemed like pristine waters. I couldn't swim past the beer cans, plastic bags and, plastic cups and other trash on the ocean floor without feeling guilty so I made about 10 dives down to retrieve as much as I could before dropping it off in the bins on shore, much to the dismay of other beach goers and idle staff I imagine. The restaurants were closed while we were there so our only option for food was the buffet. Never have I seen such a large display of over cooked food, stale bread, colourless stews all covered with flies of course. It was a case of digging deep for food in the bowls that hadn't been touched by flies, and on more than one occasion myself and other tourists were playing the "find a clean plate in the stack game" - I'm not sure their dishwasher was working. Some smiling staff but many who seemed disinterested in offering service or a smile. Many of the things I've mentioned could have been overlooked at a casa particular or cheaper hotel but we were paying a high price of $190 CUC per night and would have thought that Brisas could have at least tried to provide us with a more enjoyable time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicolejs84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Trinidad hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Third time for us, so it was nice to be remembered and greeted by some of the wonderful staff who made our return so welcoming. The rooms are spacious but basic in their décor and we felt fortunate to have our old lagoon view room where everything functioned and was kept spotless by our maid. Nice little touches not only with the towel art but also creativity with the curtains and flowers made our return every afternoon a nice surprise. There was always ample water, soap, shampoo, toilet paper, our towels and sheets were changed regularly and our pillows were good. We were surprised to see that the foliage outside our room had grown dramatically in only six months so our lagoon view was somewhat obstructed but still pleasant for a nice morning coffee (we bring our own coffee mugs) on the balcony watching the occasional colibri stopping by for a visit.

There are some nice changes: The availability of ice cream at the pool in the early afternoon was a nice treat. We’re not enamoured with guava juice, but the guava ice cream was delicious. Now being able to eat al fresco at the buffet restaurant is another popular option and we definitely took advantage of that since the dining room can be somewhat noisy, cold from the a/c and dim. The food overall was good and we couldn’t understand why one TA member suggested it was worse than hospital food. One lunch we had fresh prawns, we are not fans of prawns per se since we prefer shrimp, but these were fabulous because they were fresh. At that time we wondered what the food critique was all abut. In all fairness, the meals did vary and some days the food (always based upon availability in Cuba) was better than others but we never found a lack of something to enjoy. Mind you, we were disappointed with the food and service in the Ranchon but, to make up for that, we enjoyed a lovely al fresco meal at La Vigia – set up outside for us due to a special occasion. You couldn’t fault the service or ambience. Then we had one of the best meals at the weekly lunch bbq. Pork on the spit and grilled chicken, along with several varieties of rice, root vegetables and potatoes along with very tasty sauteed onions. There was also a wonderful farmer’s soup with pork, potatoes, corn and pumpkin. Added to this wonderful beachfront setting and food was the fantastic entertainment provided by Baby (a great singer) and the animation staff. Fantastic energy and synchronization. This event was definitely one of the highlights of our stay.

The lobby bathroom has seen some improvements since our last visit and we found that there was always soap in the dispensers as well as toilet paper, whereas the bathroom by the buffet restaurant seemed to be hit and miss (so take some tissue along).

Bar service was good as were the drinks but there can be line-ups. You’re on vacation so be patient. LOL. Drink selection is more limited at the beach and pool bars but that is not a big deal. The open air Havana Club bar is a great spot to enjoy an early evening drink (6:30 pm to 10 pm). Premium brand drinks are served here, not only rums but Scotch, etc. and the service is excellent. Here, as in the lobby bar, you will receive your drinks in glasses, unless you are going to the pool or beach (for safety reasons).

There are so many good things about this resort but there is one area that affected our star rating and that was the cleanliness of the swimming pool at the end of our stay. There was a large influx of kids for several days and after they and their parents left in the late afternoon (also leaving their half eaten plates of food on the pool loungers and empty cups strewn everywhere), the pool was in desperate need of closing for maintenance. We don’t know if the pump was broken but the water was a murky yellow without any flow. The pool was not officially closed but we certainly didn’t use it for health concerns and we always had a dip there late in the afternoon after our day on the beach The area around the pool was cleaned up as quickly as possible by the staff, but it always amazes me that some guests (and their children) show such little respect for their environment (su casa mi casa) and other’s well-being especially when there is an abundance of trash containers and bathrooms nearby. Hopefully the pool clean up was resolved soon after our departure.

Conversely, Playa Ancon was spotless and the sea was beautiful. Lots of fabric loungers (not as new or as comfy as by the pool) and plenty of shade available if desired. The water sports team is great and the facility opens at 10 am weather permitting. By the way, there is no deposit for the beach towels and these can be exchanged daily until 5 pm.

Overall, it was another enjoyable stay. The setting with both mountains and sea is beautiful, the grounds are lovely, staff friendly and Playa Ancon is reputed to be the most beautiful beach on the south coast. Add to that the proximity of Trinidad (2 cucs by shuttle bus) – it’s a nice spot if you want the best of both worlds. We rate this as a Cuban 3 star solely because of the pool maintenance issues we experienced. Hospitality and service is definitely a Cuban 4.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank conchesdojump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

The first impression is like you reached paradise , then the small things that can makes your stay uncomfortable show up like : safe deposit box doesn't work, no hot water for most of the day, no towels services in the beach etc.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doukg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Val d'Or, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Large very clean rooms although beds are very uncomfortable, renovated bathrooms. Reserved an ocean view but trees are too tall no ocean view. The food is very average, although you will never go hungry the international a la carte was very good. The service was excellent, all in all. They do make an effort to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Very nice long beach to take walks no shells in the sand, but a lot of sea weeds along all the coast line, they do not pick it up. The water is not as nice as Varadero also. The day trip to Trinidad was well worth the 15 pesos. The catamaran trip leaving from Trinidad to Cayo Blanco 50 pesos was nothing like the other catamaran trip that leaves from Varadero, no animation at all on the beach and the food unappetizing. Do go there with an open mind and you will most likely have a great trip. The weather was awesome. Water pressure was very good never ran out of hot water, we were on the 3 rd floor, and the air conditioning worked very good also.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linel38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

hotel makes you feel exciting when you first arrive to the front desk and lobby. because it is colorful all around. however you might not feel the same when you get to your room. rooms are dull and not in the best condition. it is still okay to stay overnight. the beach is nice, i have not experienced the swimming pool but it was okay. the restaurant must do better. food was not so good. going to trinidad city square about 20 minutes by taxi.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serhat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kfar-Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
207 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is on the beach which makes it fun since you an enjoy the beach after seeing the area.
The room was ok but not more than that. Food was less than average, the dining room is to cold and not truly nice and the evening shows were quite poor.
All in all, the advantage is the location on the beach, the rest is average.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank iritv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
4.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
12.1 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 11 in Trinidad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
182.6 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,211 reviews
33.5 mi away
Hotel Rancho Luna
Hotel Rancho Luna
#6 of 6 in Cienfuegos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
88.1 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#3 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisas Trinidad del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisas Trinidad del Mar

Property: Brisas Trinidad del Mar
Address: Peninsula Ancon, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Brisas Trinidad del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Holiday Gems and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Brisas Trinidad del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisas Trinidad Del Mar Hotel Trinidad
Brisas Hotel Trinidad
Brisas Resort All Inclusive Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing