We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far the casa we had in Cuba, great food (also for vegetarians!)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Brisas de Alameda
Ranked #2 of 347 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“By far the casa we had in Cuba, great food (also for vegetarians!)”
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

This was by far best casa we had during our trip to Cuba! Definitely highly recommended!

Positive:
- wonderfully renovated house with a lovely garden
- close to the center with all sights in walking distance, but at the same time very quiet and relaxing - a real oasis in Trinidad
- clean and well-maintained rooms with a unique style
- wonderful food, also for vegetarians. Johan is a very good cook and he prepared the best vegetarian food we had in Cuba
- lovely hosts who make you feel like being part if their familiy. We really enjoyed the conversations with them where we got to learn a lot about Cuban culture and way of living

What to improve:
We are usually really critical, but we found nothing to improve. The only negative thing is that you will not be willing to leave in the end ;-)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Reisefieber_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
194
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this casa, and didn't want to leave.. the hosts are really nice and friendly.don't miss Jhoan's cooking! it's a beautiful place. highly recommended. The best way to book a room is by email.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merav119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The best casa we stayed in Cuba. Half of it percectly renovated with stucco and earthen plaster, half of it a nice extension with reclaimed wood from old mansions and nice stucco too, gives you more details about traditional architecture of Cuba than any visit in a museum in Trinidad.
The owners are very nice persons and very friendly and helpful.
I hope some day to return to have the opportunity to taste the delicious dinner too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank konstantinos k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and loved it. The rooms were quiet and cool, the hosts gracious and hospitable. I would very much recommend this casa, and the best way to book is by email or phone, not through Facebook. Unfortunately I didn't get to have any of Johan's wonderful dinners, but that leaves me something to look forward to!
Thank you for your kindness.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessa0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

After booking this casa particular due to a recommendation of a good friend in Havanna, me and my girlfriend had no idea what to expect.
When we arrived to the old authentical street and the simpel door of the casa, we really hoped that the casa is in an other condition as the street...
And yes it was!! It was an unexpectet surprise. Colonial style high celings, a green garden to sit and to relax and the room had everything we needed.
The family which welcomed us really had a cheerful disposition and helped us finding good restaurants and nice places.
In addition to all that the owner is an excellent cook who worked as cusinier in France.
All in all a nice place with authentical feeling and very good food!!

Raiza and Remo (Switzerland)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Remo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The casa is located in the middle of the historic center of Trinidad, a few steps away from anything. The house itself is a beautifully restored colonial house where everything just fits perfectly together and gives a fantastic overall atmosphere with lots of attention paid to the details.

The rooms are spacious, bright and beautifully finished. They come with a double and a single bed, a beautiful bathroom and a seperate toilet. Everything was perfectly clean and had lots of charm. The wooden window shutters, wooden doors and ceiling together with the stone floors and the furniture created the feeling of being of a fancy boutique hotel.

The dinner was like straight out of a fancy french restaurant, both in quality and in presentation. It was by far the best food we have had in Cuba (and beats many other dinners we had in other places). It should be mentioned that the owner (Johan) lived 10 years in France and was working as a chef there. For 10 CUC per person you got a great soup and fantastic main dish (Johan actually asks you what you would like and how you would like it prepares. Ask for the fish in the banana leaf, it will be great) and very nice desert. Much better than in most restaurants that charge you twice the price or more.

The owners Johan and Cristel are fantastic, they will consider you as part of their family. We unfortuntaly got sick from some street food while staying with them and they took great care of us, making us herb tea from their garden, making special meals and even organizing medication for us. But the most helpful was really their constant and honest concern that made us feel safe and at home.

But even when you are not sick, Johan will invite you to sit down with him, smoke a cigar and discuss baseball and share stories about the restauration of the house or his family.

The best casa in Cuba.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kschulze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Johan and Cristel's house is the best casa particular we stayed in Cuba.
It is beautifully restored with original materials, it has a relaxing and quiet shady garden, and great fresh food at great prices (we got fresh smoothies, lots of fresh fruit, eggs, cheese, toasts, jam etc. for breakfast, and then big dinners with dishes such as seafood with mint and lemon sauce, tomatoes and mango salads, steak, gratin dauphinoise, pumpkin soup, minestrone, and very tasty desserts!) with lots of French touches (Johan worked in France as a cook for many years).
The rooms are large (our had a big double bed and a single bed), with very well equipped bathrooms, a very quiet ceiling fan, big towels and beautiful floors, doors and windows.
Both French and English ares spoken in the house, and Johan and Cristel are very welcoming and they make you feel at ease straight away. They are happy to help planning daily trips and can show you pictures of the house before and during the restoration, a great way to get to know Trinidad's history and culture. Highly highly recommended!
We googled 'casa brisas de alameda' to get more information (facebook, contact details etc) and we booked via email / phone - we got quick replies and got instructions on how to reach the house by foot from Viazul bus station (very easy, just 10 minutes max.)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elij_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
7.9 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 11 in Trinidad
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
123.7 mi away
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
Starfish Cuatro Palmas
#9 of 63 in Varadero
1,147 reviews
181.4 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
3,205 reviews
179.2 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Brisas de Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Brisas de Alameda

Property: Casa Brisas de Alameda
Address: Jesus Menendez # 84 | E/ Agustin Bernaz and Colon, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 347 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our colonial, family home is in the 18th century zone of Trinidad. I have restored and rebuild it using traditional techniques. We offer 2 rooms with modern comfort in our house. With beds of 185x135 + 185x85 or two 185x85, as well as private, ensuite bathroom, ceiling and floor fan and minibar. You can enjoy our offer of drinks and meals in our patio or dining room. Preparing your Cuban meals with a French finishing touch is my passion. We speak spanish, french and english.Musea and entertainment venues are all at a few minutes walking distance. Trinidad is at a distance of 12 km from Playa Ancón. Tours to explore Valle de los Ingenios and Topes de Collantes are offered locally.Looking forward to having you as my guests,Johan ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing