We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
Certificate of Excellence
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Location”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This is not only the best hotel in Trinidad town (did not go to the beach) but the only true hotel. The staff were welcoming, the hotel and the rooms excellent. It is also ideal for exploring, never more than 20 minutes from anywhere.

Don't eat there though it is far too expensive and there is no need as there are many good restaurants and cafes in easy walking distance. Also drinks, pay a third for water at the local supermarkets.

This is definately the place to stay in Trinidad.

Room Tip: Book well in advance, we had the best rooms with a sit out on balcvony overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    894
    332
    50
    15
    13
See reviews for
161
790
49
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Beautiful foyer with fountain. We had a lovely large room with a view over the square (good sunsets). The chambermaids excelled themselves with the towel sculptures every day. Convenient location and very friendly and helpful staff. Phenomenal choices at breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseR23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morton, IL
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We were on the second floor (traveled with group- we had the best view/balcony) and had a view of the rolling hills and household roof tops of Trinidad. Request a good view- others looked at walls! Hotel was clean, staff was accomodating, rooms were nice, showers were hot- a plus in Cuba. The resturant was very good large selection at buffet. While there is no pool here, it's about 15-20 drive to a public beach, very nice! Wifi was sketchy but I found a good spot on sofa in the common area outside of room where I could get emails out.

Room Tip: ASK ABOUT THE VIEW!! You do not want the rooms that have doors open to the wall of the next building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stylist27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My 3 nights here was the best time that I had in all 3 weeks in Cuba. This hotel is in a great location - just five minutes walk from the main square where all the action is.

I had a beautiful room with a terrace overlooking the little square. Very big with a sofa and armchairs and big bathroom. I had originally asked for a top floor room but that would have been a big mistake, as these are above the rooms with terrace and have tiny windows. I didn't pay any extra for my lovely terrace room - just e-mailed in advance.

The breakfast was very good in the very comfortable restaurant. I didn't have an evening meal here as, in the evenings, the restaurant looked a little boring and there were so many interesting little Paladars to go to in the old town. Also it was a bit on the expensive side at 35 CUC for just a buffet.

Nothing going on in the evening but then there is music everywhere in the old town.

Altogether a lovely place to stay in a lovely town. Loads to see and I wanted more time there - one thing worth doing is going on the steam train - the station is five minutes walk way.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentTwizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Absolutely wonderful hotel. I loved the origami towel displays made everyday and evening. If you get the chance stay at this hotel. Can't fault it.

Room Tip: Only stayed in the one room for 3 nights so can't give any tips.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshinesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We spent 3 nights here in February 2012, and it is certainly the best hotel that we stayed in Cuba. Now if the free internet would just be a bit faster....it would be perfect. However you have a serious breakfeast, with cold cuts that are imported from Spain, and everything is running and working and is in top shape.

Room Tip: I presume room with balcony facing the square have higher prices, but they are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liketodiscover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We spent three nights at beautiful Iberostar Grand Hotel in Trinidad. It was the best 5 stars hotel we went to in Cuba. The service is excellent, rooms big, clean, lovely decorated and they have terrances overlooking the square. Even the breakfast (not the stronges point of Cuban's hotels) was good enough. Very helpful staff at the reception too, guests are offered a drink upon arrival and they can wait in the cool colonial lobby to be checked in. Worth the price.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aida1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
8.0 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
220 reviews
181.3 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,342 reviews
122.5 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 11 in Trinidad
177 reviews
179.2 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
1,646 reviews
84.8 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
3,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad

Property: Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
Address: Calle Jose Marti y Lino Perez, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Trinidad de Cuba is a 5-star hotel in the heart of Trinidad, a gorgeous town characterised by its elegant colonial architecture.The Iberostar Grand Hotel is perfect for couples and adults. A lower age limit of 15 has been set to ensure total rest and relaxation for our guests.The Grand Hotel guarantees visitors a truly extraordinary holiday, at any time of the year, getting to know the culture, the cuisine and the people.The Iberostar Grand Trinidad strives to bring together the great interest that there is in all things Cuban and a wide range of top of the range leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing