We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ruined by the noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
Certificate of Excellence
Walton on Thames
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Ruined by the noise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

This is a really lovely looking hotel with a most beautiful lobby. The room was spacious and very comfortable; the service and the food were very good and the whole experience would have been perfect except for the constant noise of the air-conditioning unit outside our room – for the kitchens, which meant we had to sleep with ear-plugs.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaltononThamesGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear guests:

We do thank you very much for your kindly comments and for the time taken in writing them.

Staff members want to express their gratitude for highlighting the high service and good food that you received during your stay.

Your stay could have been perfect if not for the noise of the outside air conditioning machines, and I asking you to accept our more sinceres apologies for that.
Belive me, we are trying to reduce the impact, that is most noticeable on windy days. Hitherto all the actions taken have just mitigated theissue, but it was not sufficient. We are waiting for a new technology, which will surely enable us to provide ultimate solution in a very short time.

Allow me to reiterate our gratitude for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad and for taking the time to share your comments with us.


Yours sincerely



Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    869
    325
    48
    14
    13
See reviews for
154
776
46
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is a pleasant hotel with decent food and sevice. Wifi is available but only in the lobby, it doesn't work in the rooms.
The problem is the noise coming from the park which can go on and on, including one crazy person who walked around the park continuously, singing at the top of his lungs most of the night. I slept with my Boise headset on. Buses park below the windows so that creates more noise. Try and convince them to give you a room without a park view.

Room Tip: Do not get a park facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank durgaChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear guest:

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review for Tripadvisor about your stay at our hotel.
I deeply regret that the outside noise has not allowed you to fully enjoy your stay with us.
We are situated at the heart of a city and in a country by themseves bustling, and though our rooms are equipped with double pane, occasionally mainly in times of celebrations, it is not sufficient to insulate them entirely from the sounds of the street.
I do not know, isince you do not tell us how many nights have you spent in the hotel, but if you had expressed us your uneasiness, the next day you could have shifted to one of the back rooms.


Allow me to reiterate our gratitude for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad and for taking the time to share your comments with us.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

The hotel itself is beautiful, clean and modern, but it is the friendly and efficient service that really stood out at the Iberostar. It is a real haven of peace and luxury in this magnificently chaotic country. There's even free wifi in the lobby. The breakfast buffet was generous and the food was reasonable although far from spectacular. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel restaurant as there are many interesting little places to eat out and about in Trinidad.

Room Tip: We stayed in a junior suite and it was fantastic, very spacious and with views out over the plaza in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear guests:

We are deeply pleased that you have come to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad for your vacation and that you have encountered our service and installations amazing.
Allow me to express our gratitude for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your comments with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad.



Carlos Lázaro


General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Grand after having stayed at the sister hotel Havana. Both are great but the service in Trinidad is by far the best of its kind. Wonderful, friendly staff, beautiful room with a view over the square and free WiFi (a near impossibility in Cuba). We loved this hotel and hope to one day return. Well done Iberostar and viva Trinidad!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear guests:


Thank you for your nice comments on this site. It is our great satisfaction to know that we have been able to contribute to your wellbeing during your stay among us.

It would be for us a great pleasure to host you again in our hotel whenever you want.

Yours sincerely

Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

A wonderful hotel full of character, with staff who provided impeccable service.
The breakfast and dinner buffets were by far the best food offerings of all the dining experiences we had during our 8 days in Cuba in 5 hotels in various locations.
Best of all, wifi is available in the lobby free of charge, though the connection is slow. For example, you won't be able to upload large numbers of hi-res photos onto Facebook, but uploading iPhone photos was fine.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderlustfulJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear guest:

Your kind and complimentary comments have filled us with satisfaction, and on behalf of all the staff want to thank you mention the good service and attention you received in our hotel. Rewievs like yours encourage us to continue in our efforts of achieving excellence in service.

Thank you very much for your visit and we hope to have the pleasure to meet you again in our hotel on a future occasion.

Best Regards

Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

This is a highly professional, beautifully appointed hotel. My criteria for any hotel has to be that it is of 'the place' - sadly as I have aged, my desire for a comfortable bed and good shower, has tempered this attitude. This is perfect - colonial splendor, fantastic staff and a superb location; just off the track slightly, but only 5/10 min walk into the hub of the historic district.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a view of the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portcred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear guest:

After reading your detailed " report" about the stay at our hotel and your impressions of your visit to Trinidad, I would like to expressto you our most warmest thanks for the compliments on service and hospitality received.
For us the feedbacks from our guests are precious, as they help us to improve and continue in our goal to achieving excellence in all our facilities.

Thank you very much for having chosen us, and we hope to the chance to hosting you again if you return to Trinidad.

Best regards


Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
412 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We spent a few nights here and thought it was lovely. The location is perfect, right in the center of things. The service was excellent although the housekeepers were a little obsequious. We returned every evening to towel sculptures and chocolate. The dinner included our first night was very good and the buffet breakfast each morning was excellent with fresh baked goods, eggs cooked to order, fruit juices, and cured meats and cheeses. The amenities were very nice although we gave away a lot of the shampoo, conditioner, and lotion. The room and bathroom were good sized and comfortable. The wifi is easily overloaded but it was fine when I waited for most folks to leave the lobby. Late at night it even reached to my room on the second floor.

The group of photographers that I was traveling with had stayed at a resort the year before outside of town and found it very inconvenient. We started shooting first thing in the morning before dawn, returned for breakfast and went back out again. By noon the heat was overwhelming and the sun too harsh to shoot so we relaxed for a few hours before shooting again. It was nice to be close enough to the hotel to return anytime. We enjoyed just wandering the neighborhoods and meeting new people and taking photos.

If you're looking for a massage, please go through the hotel. We found a place in town that looked very nice but turned out to be a really horrible experience for my roommate.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCtravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear guest:

Thank you for your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your visit to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel facilities.

Staff members appreciate to know that their efforts have been recognized, thank you for highlighting the high service that you received during your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad



Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
181.3 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,211 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 11 in Trinidad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
121.8 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
84.8 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,924 reviews
269.5 mi away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad

Property: Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
Address: Calle Jose Marti y Lino Perez, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Trinidad de Cuba is a 5-star hotel in the heart of Trinidad, a gorgeous town characterised by its elegant colonial architecture.The Iberostar Grand Hotel is perfect for couples and adults. A lower age limit of 15 has been set to ensure total rest and relaxation for our guests.The Grand Hotel guarantees visitors a truly extraordinary holiday, at any time of the year, getting to know the culture, the cuisine and the people.The Iberostar Grand Trinidad strives to bring together the great interest that there is in all things Cuban and a wide range of top of the range leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing