We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Trinidad
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The Iberostar people have done a sensitive and graceful job of matching the mood and scale of this hotel to that of the charming town of Trinidad. It is small (40 rooms), beautifully renovated and maintained, with an elegant marble staircase, handsome woodwork throughout, and a fountain in the center of the lobby lounge. The only negative I can cite about this space is that the seating area is a treacherously unnoticeable step below the surrounding lobby. I was one of many who stumbled, though not one of those who fell and were bruised.

We were lucky enough to have scored what we later learned is the best room in the hotel (#111), a large corner with louvered doors on two walls opening onto a big terrace overlooking the park. Other members of our group did not do so well, reporting that their rooms at the back faced a wall. All rooms, however, were comfortably appointed in traditional style, with excellent air conditioning, iPod-docking clock radios, flat screen tv and modern bathrooms. WiFi is free but is accessible only in the lobby, which is just as well, since it is so slow as to preclude almost anything but transmitting email. Somehow it all seemed to suit the slower pace and beautifully restored colonial streets of Trinidad.

Service was always friendly and highly proficient. Since tourist industry workers can earn far more in hard currency tips than they do in almost any state-salaried job, one finds chambermaids, busboys, etc whose educations, English language skills and overall sophistication are surprising to those of us in whose countries these are typically lowest wage positions.

Room Tip: Rooms 101 through 111 are most desirable, facing the park and with attractive terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fussydame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear guests:

It is really nice to read the detailed feedback you have posted at this Webpage. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel facilities. Staff members appreciate to know that their efforts have been recognized, thank you for highlighting the high service that you received during your stay.

We look forward to your return to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad and I wish you all the best.

Remaining at your disposal


Sincerely


Carlos Lázaro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

451 - 457 of 1,351 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

Iberostar have done a great job renovating this luxury boutique hotel facing one of the main squares in the town. We had a great room on the first floor, spacious and with two large french doors out on to a balcony. Trinidad is an interesting town, more renovated than most Cuban towns because of its World Heritage status and a must-see if you go to Cuba.

The only minor flaw was that the park in front of the hotel was very noisy until the early hours on Saturday night.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the two rooms with balconies on the first floor at the front, but take ear plugs i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Guest

It is really nice to read the feedback you had placed at this Webpage. We do appreciate the time you had taken to share your valuable impressions to other users.


We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay , and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel or to any of our Iberostar resorts.


Yours sincerely

Carlos Lázaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The best hotel we stayed in on a 9 day tour. Outstanding food at dinner and breakfast buffet. Only drawback was when the hotel had a few visitors there was no dinner buffet. Although I didn't need wi-fi, it was limited to the lobby of the hotel. Clearly, a top rated hotel, among the best I've stayed outside of the US.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauhana56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear guests:

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and wish to thank you very much for your gracious comments.

As for the buffet,due to operational reasons we only serve it when we are expecting a minimun number of guests, otherwise we offer à la Carte Service.

Allow me to reiterate our gratitude for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad and for taking the time to share your comments with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad

Carlos Lázaro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Our 9 day tour, Colors of Cuba, with Friendly Planet included a two night stay here. It is a beautiful hotel with Colonial architecture facing a park. The lobby is spacious with an atrium, central fountain and lots of comfortable seating. There is free WiFi. Our room was large, bright and well appointed in the European style. The included breakfast buffet was exceptional. In the evening there was live music in the bar and adjacent restaurant. Drinks and wine were very reasonable.The hotel is within walking distance to the Plaza Major and a short taxi ride to the beach.

Room Tip: A room facing the Parque Cepedes is quiet and great for people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Guest:

Thank you for your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your visit to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel facilities and its services.

We are keen to welcome you again to the Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad and I remain at your entire disposal.

Carlos Lázaro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We really enjoyed the comfort, serenity and luxury of our 3 night stay at the Grand Hotel Trinidad, sandwiched as it was between several casa stays during our 3 week Cuba trip.

We had one evening meal which we felt was quite disappointing compared to the quality and price of dinners we enjoyed elsewhere in Cuba.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulM2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Guest:

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel , and we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us and the rest of the online community your impressions
about it.
As for the food, we are sorry that you did not find it at the same level as the rest of the services, but at times, no matter how hard we try, the lack of fresh products and the shortages of supplies make it difficult to reach the standars required by our Company . Nevertheless I assure you that we do not give up in our efforts to improve every day the quality and diversity of our cuisine. Moreover, we cannot compite in prices with the local restaurants (Paladares).
because of our higher costs of purchase.

We reiterate once again our gratitude and hope to have the opportunity next time to provide you with an excellent service.

Best regards

Carlos Lázaro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This hotel is a little gem in Trinidad. The lobby surrounds a lovely fountain where users of the free internet gather for cocktails. The rooms are nicely appointed, clean and quiet. The staff was courteous and helpful. The dining room serves a delicious breakfast and wonderful snacks and sandwiches.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 394JaneD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear guests:

Thank you for your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your visit to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel facilities.
Staff members appreciate to know that their efforts have been recognized, thank you for highlighting the high service that you received during your stay.



Do not hesitate in contacting us if you are planning to come again to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad

With best wishes



Carlos Lázaro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We weren't supposed to stay here. As we were travelling with our two kids, aged 7 and 9, we weren't allowed, so we were booked into the Ronda next door. However, on arrival at the Ronda, we found out they had (fortuitously as it turned out) given our room to someone else (as you do) and for some reason we were then allowed into the Grand, but only for one night (as we had kids and they were bending the rules).

The Grand was lovely - we had nice rooms, the lobby was gorgeous, and food good (for Cuba). We stayed in the Iberostar Parque Central in Havana and the rooms at the Grand were definitely better. It was way nicer than the Ronda.

Why they don't allow kids though is beyond me. There's no pool and the lobby is small so it's not like they're going to be running around it and getting in the way. This is by far the best hotel in Trinidad (there isn't much choice) and my husband needs to stay somewhere with wifi. Most kids who've made the trek to Trinidad are going to be on the well-behaved side I'd have thought. I could understand if it were a coastal resort or somewhere where there was plenty of choice, but to ban kids from the only good place in town is a bit mean, to be honest. And if they can bend the rules for one night I'm not sure why they can't for two. My kids didn't disturb anyone. The people chattering in the street until 4am outside our room on the other hand....

This is a five star hotel but I've only given it four for it's anti-small-people discrimination. But if you don't like kids then this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Be careful of rooms overlooking the side street as there's a bar there with revellers drinking u...
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank rosiefromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear guest:

Allow me to thank for your kind and positive comments regarding your stay in our hotel, before trying to answer the central question of your writing.

Within the wide offer of our company, there are some hotels (actually not many) that due to its special characteristics, location, type of customers to whom is addressed, etc.. In short, for commercial reasons, are intended for adults only, as our Grand Hotel Iberostar Trinidad.
Nontheless, we make an exception in very specific circumstances as in your case, in order to help solving a difficult situation.

I would like also pointing out that the reason you could not stay longer than 1 night inour hotel , was because the TTOO Havanatur ( which booked us the rooms for you), had requested the reservation just for 1 day.

I hope I have succeeded in clarifying your issues, and take the opportunity to suggest you considering our company Iberostar next time you plan a vacation travel. I assure you will not regret having chosen us.


Yours sincerely


Carlos Lázaro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
122.5 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
177.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
4.7 mi away
Hotel Ancon
Hotel Ancon
#8 of 11 in Trinidad
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Club Amigo Costasur
Club Amigo Costasur
#1 of 1 in Playa Ancon
590 reviews
179.1 mi away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
122.4 mi away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#2 of 64 in Varadero
6,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Trinidad

Address: Calle Jose Marti y Lino Perez, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
Price Range: £197 - £431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Trinidad 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Trinidad is a hotel located in the heart of Trinidad, Cuba. It has a colonial architecture and it is aimed for couples and adults. A lower age limit of 15 has been set to guarantee the guests rest. The Grand Hotel gives the opportunity to know the Cuban culture, the cuisine and the people. This hotel has 40 rooms (5 of them junior suites), all comfortably equipped with: full bath, telephone, satellite TV, air conditioning, fridge, pillow menu, robes, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, coffer maker and safe deposit box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Trinidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing