We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level Contributor
83 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights as part of the pearl of the carribean tour. We had a front facing room but were not as fortunate as others in the group who had a balcony. No problem we shared theirs for drinks. We had all our meals in the hotel which were all delicious.
There was free wi fi which was a nice change in cuba.
There was plenty to watch out of the window, especially as it was a Saturday night!,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendaCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear guest:

It is really nice to read the positive comments you have placed at this Webpage. We do appreciate the time you had taken to share your valuable impressions to other users.

We are also more than glad to know that you had a pleasurable time at our outlets, and that you found our food offerings deligthful.

Once again I do thank you for sharing with us your kind notes.

Looking forward to host you in the near future,



Yours sincerely.

Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    867
    325
    48
    14
    13
See reviews for
153
775
46
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Spent 2 nights in this hotel as part of an organised tour of Cuba. This was the best hotel which we stayed in during our trip. The room was very large, bright and airy with an outside terrace area. Room was spotless and well equipped with all the things which you would expect of a good hotel; hairdryer, safe, air conditioning, mini-bar, etc.

Reception area was grand and restaurant, which we ate dinner in on two evenings, was very spacious and airy. Menu was very good as was the quality of the food. Drinks were well priced for a hotel of this standard and service was excellent.

Overall a great experience.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie_Lynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear guest:

We are deeply pleased that you have come to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad for your vacation and that you have encountered our, food, service and installations first rate.

Thank you very much for your nice notes on your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you and your family soon again.


Best regards.


Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The Iberostar people have done a sensitive and graceful job of matching the mood and scale of this hotel to that of the charming town of Trinidad. It is small (40 rooms), beautifully renovated and maintained, with an elegant marble staircase, handsome woodwork throughout, and a fountain in the center of the lobby lounge. The only negative I can cite about this space is that the seating area is a treacherously unnoticeable step below the surrounding lobby. I was one of many who stumbled, though not one of those who fell and were bruised.

We were lucky enough to have scored what we later learned is the best room in the hotel (#111), a large corner with louvered doors on two walls opening onto a big terrace overlooking the park. Other members of our group did not do so well, reporting that their rooms at the back faced a wall. All rooms, however, were comfortably appointed in traditional style, with excellent air conditioning, iPod-docking clock radios, flat screen tv and modern bathrooms. WiFi is free but is accessible only in the lobby, which is just as well, since it is so slow as to preclude almost anything but transmitting email. Somehow it all seemed to suit the slower pace and beautifully restored colonial streets of Trinidad.

Service was always friendly and highly proficient. Since tourist industry workers can earn far more in hard currency tips than they do in almost any state-salaried job, one finds chambermaids, busboys, etc whose educations, English language skills and overall sophistication are surprising to those of us in whose countries these are typically lowest wage positions.

Room Tip: Rooms 101 through 111 are most desirable, facing the park and with attractive terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fussydame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear guests:

It is really nice to read the detailed feedback you have posted at this Webpage. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel facilities. Staff members appreciate to know that their efforts have been recognized, thank you for highlighting the high service that you received during your stay.

We look forward to your return to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad and I wish you all the best.

Remaining at your disposal


Sincerely


Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Iberostar have done a great job renovating this luxury boutique hotel facing one of the main squares in the town. We had a great room on the first floor, spacious and with two large french doors out on to a balcony. Trinidad is an interesting town, more renovated than most Cuban towns because of its World Heritage status and a must-see if you go to Cuba.

The only minor flaw was that the park in front of the hotel was very noisy until the early hours on Saturday night.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the two rooms with balconies on the first floor at the front, but take ear plugs i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest

It is really nice to read the feedback you had placed at this Webpage. We do appreciate the time you had taken to share your valuable impressions to other users.


We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay , and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel or to any of our Iberostar resorts.


Yours sincerely

Carlos Lázaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The best hotel we stayed in on a 9 day tour. Outstanding food at dinner and breakfast buffet. Only drawback was when the hotel had a few visitors there was no dinner buffet. Although I didn't need wi-fi, it was limited to the lobby of the hotel. Clearly, a top rated hotel, among the best I've stayed outside of the US.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauhana56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear guests:

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and wish to thank you very much for your gracious comments.

As for the buffet,due to operational reasons we only serve it when we are expecting a minimun number of guests, otherwise we offer à la Carte Service.

Allow me to reiterate our gratitude for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad and for taking the time to share your comments with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad

Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
340 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Our 9 day tour, Colors of Cuba, with Friendly Planet included a two night stay here. It is a beautiful hotel with Colonial architecture facing a park. The lobby is spacious with an atrium, central fountain and lots of comfortable seating. There is free WiFi. Our room was large, bright and well appointed in the European style. The included breakfast buffet was exceptional. In the evening there was live music in the bar and adjacent restaurant. Drinks and wine were very reasonable.The hotel is within walking distance to the Plaza Major and a short taxi ride to the beach.

Room Tip: A room facing the Parque Cepedes is quiet and great for people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your visit to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel facilities and its services.

We are keen to welcome you again to the Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad and I remain at your entire disposal.

Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We really enjoyed the comfort, serenity and luxury of our 3 night stay at the Grand Hotel Trinidad, sandwiched as it was between several casa stays during our 3 week Cuba trip.

We had one evening meal which we felt was quite disappointing compared to the quality and price of dinners we enjoyed elsewhere in Cuba.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulM2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest:

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel , and we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us and the rest of the online community your impressions
about it.
As for the food, we are sorry that you did not find it at the same level as the rest of the services, but at times, no matter how hard we try, the lack of fresh products and the shortages of supplies make it difficult to reach the standars required by our Company . Nevertheless I assure you that we do not give up in our efforts to improve every day the quality and diversity of our cuisine. Moreover, we cannot compite in prices with the local restaurants (Paladares).
because of our higher costs of purchase.

We reiterate once again our gratitude and hope to have the opportunity next time to provide you with an excellent service.

Best regards

Carlos Lázaro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
181.3 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
3,205 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 11 in Trinidad
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
121.8 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
84.8 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 15 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,908 reviews
269.5 mi away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad

Property: Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
Address: Calle Jose Marti y Lino Perez, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Trinidad de Cuba is a 5-star hotel in the heart of Trinidad, a gorgeous town characterised by its elegant colonial architecture.The Iberostar Grand Hotel is perfect for couples and adults. A lower age limit of 15 has been set to ensure total rest and relaxation for our guests.The Grand Hotel guarantees visitors a truly extraordinary holiday, at any time of the year, getting to know the culture, the cuisine and the people.The Iberostar Grand Trinidad strives to bring together the great interest that there is in all things Cuban and a wide range of top of the range leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing