We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
Certificate of Excellence
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

If you are planning visit Trinidad(which is a must if you visit Cuba), this is the hotel to stay...It is a finely restored old building with a great location, big rooms, clean and very good breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisPap_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear guest:

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and wish to thank you very much for your gracious comments.


We are keen to welcome you again to the Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad and I remain at your entire disposal,


Yours sincerely,


Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    335
    51
    15
    13
See reviews for
165
800
49
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
herzele
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

It started with a helpfull assistant for the suit cases.
Followed by a welcome drink offered by the hotel manager.
We got a wunderfull room with view on the parc & the ocean.
We woke up by the birds sound.
We got a fantastic breakfast.
Free internet, that worked (the only one in CUBA during our 10 days stay
The best hotel in TRINIDAD and in iberostar the best in CUBA
In the morning, you can find a traveller guide at the reception.
This person knows the environment inside out -> added value.

Room Tip: we had room nr 203--perfect. with sea view and view on the parc
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephanfrombelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear guest:

Thank you for your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your visit to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel facilities and service.


Allow me to reiterate our gratitude for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad and for taking the time to share your comments with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad



Yours sincerely.

Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havana
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We decided to give this hotel a try for a couple of nights over a weekend in Trinidad before heading up to Cayo Coco and we were very happy we did!

The hotel is a very beautiful restored old building that has been there for about seven years located more or less in the heart of downtown Trinidad. Getting to the hotel can be a bit tricky as the roads aren't the best and traffic seems to ignore the stop signs and one-way arrows, but that is life in Cuba!

Check in was great, the staff all seemed to speak English and went with out a hitch. The lobby is very nice and lots of tour groups seemed to enter just to take pictures of the lobby!

The room (we were on the third floor) was very clean and didn't feel dated at all. The beds were comfortable and the shower had good water pressure and hot water (almost) on demand. There was a bit of trade-off with our room. There wasn't much of a balcony (we faced north) but it was nice and quiet at night. We could hear the music and partying from the park out front of the hotel on the saturday night, but it wasn't bad at all from our rooms.

The restaurant in the hotel is pretty good and offered a good selection in the morning buffet and dinner had a good menu. We ate here one night and one of the paladars the second night.Service was always good and very attentive, with the prices not being too bad for a 5* hotel outside of Havana.

One of the oddest things we ran in to was the free wi-fi. This is the only hotel we've stayed at on the island that offers this!

Overall we loved this hotel and to be honest found it to be the best overall hotel we've stayed at over the last couple of years we've been down here. I'd have no problem recommending this hotel to other people traveling down and we are already planning our next trip to Trinidad to include this hotel!

Room Tip: A room with a view of the park has more to see, but can be much louder in the evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trippy667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear guest:

We do thank you very much for your detailed and positive comments and for the time taken writing them. We are dead sure that they will very useful for those travelers who are planning to come to the Island.

We are very pleased reading that you enjoyed our hotel facilities.
Staff members appreciate to know that their efforts have been recognized, thank you for highlighting the high service that you received during your stay.


We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel or to any of our Iberostar resorts.


Yours sincerely

Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

An old house of a sugarcane trader, turned into an hotel. opens to a small park where young people sin, dance, talk all the night. So a bit noisy but worths as the building is so cute, clean and has nice restaurant- aspecially the breakfast is delicious!
you need to walk up 10 min to reach the central hill with bars and open markets.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RenginKoOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear guests:

We thank you very much for your kindly notes in this web page. It is nice to know that you have encountered our service, food and facilities completely satisfactory.



Do not hesitate in contacting us if you are planning to come again to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad

With best wishes,


Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel for two nights upon arriving in Trinidad from Havana, and thoroughly enjoyed it. The location was perfect - Trinidad is very small anyway, and this hotel overlooks one of its main squares.

We booked online well in advance of our stay, so I thought it would be best to confirm our reservation a couple of weeks before we arrived in Cuba, which I did - in doing so, I thought I would be a bit cheeky and see if there were any rooms with balconies available. The Customer Service team at the Iberostar said they couldn't promise anything, but that they would do their best for us.

When we arrived, we couldn't believe our luck! We were booked into room 111 - an absolutely gorgeous, spotless double room, with two big beds - and best of all, it was a corner room, with double doors opening out onto an absolutely huge balcony that went right the way around the corner of the hotel, looking out onto the square. We were absolutely delighted. It was great to sit out late in the afternoons and to watch the the to-ing and fro-ing below - there was so much to see, and it was a brilliant way to catch a bit of sunshine.

I have read reviews saying that some people found the rooms with balconies to be slightly noisy - while it was a bit noisy when we were actually out on the balcony, we found it very quiet and easy to sleep at nighttime. The air conditioning is absolutely fully operating, and was even a bit too cool for us at times, so we turned it off!

We also loved the massive bathroom. We had spent four days travelling around Havana previously, and had just travelled the five hours to Trinidad in the back a tiny Peugeot (and both of us get carsick!) so it was an absolute godsend to be able to relax in the huge bath - the bath salts were a lovely touch! The shower was also great, very hot and powerful.

As we were still feeling slightly unwell when we arrived, and it was getting quite late, we decided to be lazy and order room service. The pizza we received was incredibly average, but it did the job. I would have probably preferred to go out and about in Trinidad for food though, had we been feeling a bit more up to it.

Breakfast here was lovely - plenty of variety, and good coffee. The reception area was also very pleasant, although it must be said that the wifi was terrible - this didn't really matter to us though, as we were more than happy not to check our emails on holiday!

After staying here for two nights, we left to stay in a beautiful casa in another part of Trinidad (Casa Colonial). This had much more character, and was a very different experience. When it came down to it, I did prefer staying in casa's in Cuba rather than larger hotels, as they are so much more interesting. However, we really enjoyed the luxury of this hotel, and it was a perfect break for two nights - the balcony alone made it worth the money for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear guests:


It is really nice to read the detailed feedback you had placed at this Webpage. We do appreciate the time you had taken to share your valuable impressions to other users.

We are also more than glad to know that you found our service and facilities very satisfactory.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel or to any of our Iberostar resorts.


Yours sincerely

Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We splurged on this hotel. It was the most expensive room of the week we were in Cuba and we stayed at a number of TripAdvisor top rated lodgings. It was luxurious: from the bidet, complimentary toiletries to the slippers and robes that are provided.

The rooms are large and had a sitting area with a couch as well as a lovely terrace, with chairs a table and potted bogenvelia, facing Céspedes Park. Our room had a king bed and our friend's room had two queen beds.

As with so many public parks in Cuba, many people congregate in the park to socialize and escape their hot, small apartments so there was noise from the park until the wee hours of the morning. For us this was not a problem and did not detract from our experience. The hotel is well located and an easy walk to the historical centre of the city. We had a car and the only parking is on the street in front of the hotel under the watchful eyes of the doorman.

As noted by others the buffet breakfast was lavish: they even served smoked salmon. My only problem was, in a country where the citizens experience few choices in their diet, the breakfast seemed decedent. I asked the management if the wastage was distributed in some way to others and was told "sometimes"; however I have my doubts.

If you want accommodation that is equal to any luxury hotel in the world then this should be your choice in Trinidad; however choose it realizing it is just that, a 5 star hotel that could be anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janandgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear guests:

Thank you for your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your visit to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel facilities.

Allow me to reiterate our gratitude for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad and for taking the time to share your comments with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad



Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

near enough perfect and the breakfast is to be seen to be believed.Balcony was a nice plus -staff superb -wifi in lobby ( couldn't get it in room ) -as good as the very best hotels you would find anywhere in the world. ( Cocktail to welcome was a nice touch too ).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear guests:

We are deeply pleased that you have come to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad for your vacation and that you have encountered our service and installations amazing.

Thank you very much for your nice notes on your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you and your family soon again.

Wishing you a lovely day,



Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
8.0 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
225 reviews
181.3 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,380 reviews
122.5 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 11 in Trinidad
178 reviews
121.8 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
122.5 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad

Property: Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
Address: Calle Jose Marti y Lino Perez, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Trinidad de Cuba is a 5-star hotel in the heart of Trinidad, a gorgeous town characterised by its elegant colonial architecture.The Iberostar Grand Hotel is perfect for couples and adults. A lower age limit of 15 has been set to ensure total rest and relaxation for our guests.The Grand Hotel guarantees visitors a truly extraordinary holiday, at any time of the year, getting to know the culture, the cuisine and the people.The Iberostar Grand Trinidad strives to bring together the great interest that there is in all things Cuban and a wide range of top of the range leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing