We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific time in Trinidad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Terrific time in Trinidad”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel lived up to all expectations as a 'grand' hotel.

Located in the centre of Trinidad we were able to walk everywhere that we wanted to go. The staff were pleasant and helpful, recommending restaurants and local entertainment.

The breakfast was very good with the chef cooking great omelettes on demand.

The hotel wifi was free but, as you will discover, it is terrible all over Cuba.

The room maid did change our towels after our first night when it wasn't needed (we had hung them up ready to use the next day).

The hotel had a lovely colonial feel, was very quiet and relaxing and we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desigoodall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest:

It is for us very gratifying to know that the have enjoyed your stay in our hotel , and we do appreciate the time you have taken in writing your kind and complimentary notes.

Allow me to reiterate our gratitude for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad and for taking the time to share your comments with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad.


Yours sincerely


Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    886
    331
    49
    14
    13
See reviews for
157
786
48
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

An oasis in Trinidad. Beautiful colonial building. Lovely rooms and great location. Good value. Dinner in restaurant not that imaginative but breakfast is good. Staff very friendly and helpful. Has wifi but very slow.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markpsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear guest:

It is really nice to read the positive comments you had placed at this Webpage. We do appreciate the time you had taken to share your valuable impressions to other users.

We were delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back at the Grand Hotel Iberostar Trinidad in a near future.

Best Regards

Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Had a very pleasant stay in this superbly run hotel.Staff all very competent and friendly. Best breakfast I had in Cuba.The lady manager runs a very "tight ship" which reflects through every aspect of the hotel. Rooms and common areas are no smoking (unlike Iberostar Havana). If you have to stay in Trinidad, stay HERE. But not for long as there is really very little to see and do in the town. One particularly unpleasant local planted a wallet with a peso poling out in the street. When I went to retrieve it to hand in to the police he was hiding behind a balcony and taking my picture on his phone and laughing loudlly at me. Perhaps he is the sort of dishonest thief who would steal someone's lost wallet, but I am not and I found it all VERY INSULTING

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barrywestlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear guest:

We thank you very much for your kind and complimentary comments about your stay in our hotel. We are pleased to know that our facilities and services have met your expectations and that you have spent a lovely few days with us.
We regret the incident happened on the street, that fortunately has not had any serious consequence. We just want to say that despite all we are in a city with a negligible index of criminality and so testify to the vast majority of our visitors, although a few isolated cases as the one you experienced can always happen.

Once again I do thank you for sharing with us your kind notes.

Looking forward to host you in the near future,




Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
March, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

All the guide books will tell you that this hotel and its restaurant is the most expensive in Trinidad and with very good reason , The Grand is faultless in every aspect! An old colonial building which has been very thoughtfully converted into a luxury hotel without losing its old world character. It is conveniently situated a few minutes walk from old Trinidad, a must see that is stuck in a time warp. The staff in the hotel are very friendly and helpful (with reception even proferring a map of the old town and how to get there) and are meticulous in every detail. We enjoyed a gourmet meal in the restaurant as good as anything we have had in top restaurants in the UK but still only came to £20/ head. This must be one of the best hotels in Cuba!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter but all to a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear guest


It is really nice to read the detailed feedback you had placed at this Webpage. We do appreciate the time you had taken to share your valuable impressions to other users.

We are also more than glad to know that you had a pleasurable time at our outlets, and that you found our food offerings wonderful,

Once again I do thank you for sharing with us your kind notes.

Looking forward to host you in the near future,



Yours sincerely

Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

just a quick review: the Grand Hotel is pretty nice, the rooms are very luxurious and clean and the Hotel is very close to the center of the village.

The breakfast was just about average, typical continental with nothing fancy, the coffee was horrible.

Just a single sour remark, we asked the reception to help us booking a casa at our next location - and all they did was dial the number, handed over the speak - and charged us 3 CUC afterwards.

Room Tip: the double bed rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crobgun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback regarding your stay at the hotel
We regret your disappointment with the coffee. So far we have not had any complaints about it. However I have transmitted your opinion on to the head of the department involved to improve its quality as far as possible.
We want to inform you that we do not charge for the calls made at guest`s request when they are within the same province but when they are outside it , because phone calls in Cuba are not exactly cheap and the hotel cannot assume that cost.


Allow me to reiterate our gratitude for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad and for taking the time to share your comments with us.

Best Regards.


Carlos Lázaro
G. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel as part of a tour of Cuba via Trailfinders. We stayed at the hotel for two nights and had breakfast on both occasions. The public area was well presented and staff were very attentive. Free wi-fi was appreciated!
Very good breakfast, well presented. Also nice to have live pianist both in the evening AND during part of breakfast. Bedroom was large, very well presented and with a lovely balcony.
Trinidad is a location of extremes - the locals are very friendly but very poor and with horses and carts almost more prevalent than cars! The contrast between the life of the locals and THIS hotel is significant.
Also appreciated by our family was an American pool table (free of charge).

Room Tip: First floor room with a private balcony which overlooks the square. This might make it a little noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alistair D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guests:

We thank you very much for the time you have dedicated to writing your nice and positive feedback.
It is highly gratifying to to hear that you have found our services and facilities entirely satisfactory.

We look forward to the opportunity of hosting you again in the near future.

Best regards


Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I am a Tour Manager who often travels to Cuba with my groups. I have stayed at the Iberostar in Trinidad many, many times and they are always very courteous, and quite friendly. Leo, the manager has a keen eye for attention to detail and welcomes my groups with wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com

Helpful?
Thank Trish O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest:

Thank you very much for your nice comments regarding your stay with their groups at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that it has been, as usual, entirely satisfactory.

We hope you will continue to favor us with their trust we assure you that both Leo, who personally thanks you for your mention, as the entire team will do our best to make your stay with us an unforgettable memory.


Once again I do thank you for sharing with us your kind notes.

Looking forward to host you in the near future,



Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
181.3 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,296 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
216 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Ronda
Hotel La Ronda
#2 of 11 in Trinidad
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
121.8 mi away
Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero
122.5 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
179.2 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad

Property: Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
Address: Calle Jose Marti y Lino Perez, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Trinidad de Cuba is a 5-star hotel in the heart of Trinidad, a gorgeous town characterised by its elegant colonial architecture.The Iberostar Grand Hotel is perfect for couples and adults. A lower age limit of 15 has been set to ensure total rest and relaxation for our guests.The Grand Hotel guarantees visitors a truly extraordinary holiday, at any time of the year, getting to know the culture, the cuisine and the people.The Iberostar Grand Trinidad strives to bring together the great interest that there is in all things Cuban and a wide range of top of the range leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing