We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“An elegant hotel in the heart of colonial Trinidad” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Trinidad
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An elegant hotel in the heart of colonial Trinidad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

A mini oasis in the heart of Trinidad. After a 4 hour drive from Havana, arriving at the elegant Iberostar Grand Hotel was most welcoming with cool drinks and tapas in the lovely, colonial style lobby. Our room was very clean, tastefully furnished and with the added touch of a quaint terrace. Staff members were helpful and upon request, the concierge organised a fantastic walking tour with a local guide. A very special experience.
Wifi worked well in the lobby and a drink there after a long hot day of exploring was always a delight.
This was the second Iberostar hotel we stayed in Cuba and our only suggestion is that they upgrade their mattresses and pillows.

A wonderful stay in the best hotel in Trinidad!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eclectic61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guest:

We thank your very much for your complementary comments on your stay at our hotel and for the time you have taken in writing them.

We are glad to know that you have found our facilities, food offers and service fully satisfactory.

We really appreciate all our guest's suggestions which help us to improve the quality of our services. In this regard I want to inform you that since the last 3 years we have been partially renewing our mattresses, and hope that by the end of this year we shall have completed all changes. The pillows, however, are almost all new, and,moreover, in the room there is a " Pillow Menu" for the guest to choose the type that best meets his needs. May be you did not see it.


Allow me to reiterate our gratitude for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad and for taking the time to share your comments with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad



Best regards


Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    839
    320
    47
    13
    12
See reviews for
151
751
46
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Top class hotel light and airy with fabulous breakfasts.We had Tapas one lunchtime too also excellent.Very clean rooms huge.No problems perfect for couple of night stay.Taxi available easily, we went to the beach one afternoon.

Room Tip: Wi Fi only worked on one of our devices we had 2 rooms both lovely all big and airy.Front was no pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 384ClareB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear guests:

We do appreciate your kind and positive comments about your visit to our hotel and thahk you for the time you have employed in writing them.

We are pleased to know you have fully enjoyed our services and gastronomic offer and we hope to have the opportunity to to receive you again in our hotel if you decided to return to Trinidad.

Best Regards


Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I felt welcome from the moment our group arrived. The food in the restaurant was great. For dinner, I had salad & pizza. The pizza was big enough for two people. Of the 6 of us at the table 4 of us thoroughly enjoyed the food. The breakfast buffet was excellent. The rooms are very nice. My room had a balcony that was private but I could still enjoy the views. I didn't hear any street noise. The AC worked and the bathroom was well stocked.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear guest:

We really appreciate your summarized feedback on your stay at our hotel and we are very glad to know that you found our food offerings and facilities wonderful,

Allow me to reiterate our gratitude for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad and for taking the time to share your comments with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad


Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel lived up to all expectations as a 'grand' hotel.

Located in the centre of Trinidad we were able to walk everywhere that we wanted to go. The staff were pleasant and helpful, recommending restaurants and local entertainment.

The breakfast was very good with the chef cooking great omelettes on demand.

The hotel wifi was free but, as you will discover, it is terrible all over Cuba.

The room maid did change our towels after our first night when it wasn't needed (we had hung them up ready to use the next day).

The hotel had a lovely colonial feel, was very quiet and relaxing and we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank desigoodall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Guest:

It is for us very gratifying to know that the have enjoyed your stay in our hotel , and we do appreciate the time you have taken in writing your kind and complimentary notes.

Allow me to reiterate our gratitude for choosing Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad and for taking the time to share your comments with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad.


Yours sincerely


Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

An oasis in Trinidad. Beautiful colonial building. Lovely rooms and great location. Good value. Dinner in restaurant not that imaginative but breakfast is good. Staff very friendly and helpful. Has wifi but very slow.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markpsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear guest:

It is really nice to read the positive comments you had placed at this Webpage. We do appreciate the time you had taken to share your valuable impressions to other users.

We were delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back at the Grand Hotel Iberostar Trinidad in a near future.

Best Regards

Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Had a very pleasant stay in this superbly run hotel.Staff all very competent and friendly. Best breakfast I had in Cuba.The lady manager runs a very "tight ship" which reflects through every aspect of the hotel. Rooms and common areas are no smoking (unlike Iberostar Havana). If you have to stay in Trinidad, stay HERE. But not for long as there is really very little to see and do in the town. One particularly unpleasant local planted a wallet with a peso poling out in the street. When I went to retrieve it to hand in to the police he was hiding behind a balcony and taking my picture on his phone and laughing loudlly at me. Perhaps he is the sort of dishonest thief who would steal someone's lost wallet, but I am not and I found it all VERY INSULTING

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barrywestlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear guest:

We thank you very much for your kind and complimentary comments about your stay in our hotel. We are pleased to know that our facilities and services have met your expectations and that you have spent a lovely few days with us.
We regret the incident happened on the street, that fortunately has not had any serious consequence. We just want to say that despite all we are in a city with a negligible index of criminality and so testify to the vast majority of our visitors, although a few isolated cases as the one you experienced can always happen.

Once again I do thank you for sharing with us your kind notes.

Looking forward to host you in the near future,




Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
March, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

All the guide books will tell you that this hotel and its restaurant is the most expensive in Trinidad and with very good reason , The Grand is faultless in every aspect! An old colonial building which has been very thoughtfully converted into a luxury hotel without losing its old world character. It is conveniently situated a few minutes walk from old Trinidad, a must see that is stuck in a time warp. The staff in the hotel are very friendly and helpful (with reception even proferring a map of the old town and how to get there) and are meticulous in every detail. We enjoyed a gourmet meal in the restaurant as good as anything we have had in top restaurants in the UK but still only came to £20/ head. This must be one of the best hotels in Cuba!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter but all to a very high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directortrinidad, General Manager at Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear guest


It is really nice to read the detailed feedback you had placed at this Webpage. We do appreciate the time you had taken to share your valuable impressions to other users.

We are also more than glad to know that you had a pleasurable time at our outlets, and that you found our food offerings wonderful,

Once again I do thank you for sharing with us your kind notes.

Looking forward to host you in the near future,



Yours sincerely

Carlos Lázaro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
181.3 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,118 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 12 in Trinidad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
179.2 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
269.4 mi away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
84.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
Hotel Playa Cayo Santa Maria
#3 of 14 in Cayo Santa Maria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,923 reviews
123.2 mi away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 63 in Varadero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad

Property: Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
Address: Calle Jose Marti y Lino Perez, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Trinidad de Cuba is a 5-star hotel in the heart of Trinidad, a gorgeous town characterised by its elegant colonial architecture.The Iberostar Grand Hotel is perfect for couples and adults. A lower age limit of 15 has been set to ensure total rest and relaxation for our guests.The Grand Hotel guarantees visitors a truly extraordinary holiday, at any time of the year, getting to know the culture, the cuisine and the people.The Iberostar Grand Trinidad strives to bring together the great interest that there is in all things Cuban and a wide range of top of the range leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and TravelUp so you can book your Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing