We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay!”
Review of Tamargo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tamargo
Ranked #40 of 351 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay!”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

After a really terrible casa in trinidad, this place was recommended to us, and it felt like being in heaven. nice and clean. perfect inner yard and roof terrace. its in the town center and a supermarket is across the corner. nice hosts and good food. its better to book this place in advance, because it seems to be really popular among travellers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lydia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
100
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed in this Casa during May and it was great. Location is perfect and you can walk everywhere in town. Matilde and Felix are unbelievably nice. It was the cleanest Casa I was in and very comfortable. The terrace was great and the food was better than restaurants I went to in Trinidad. The room was a little hot at night but other than that I could not fault this Casa. It was really great to feel so at home.

Room Tip: Ask for the larger room, it might be a little cooler at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Casa Tamargo could not have been better - well-situated, clean and attractive. Matilde and Felix were delightful hosts, solicitous but not intrusive. Matilde prepared the best food in Trinidad, while Felix mixes a mean Mojito or Daiquiri. The house is in the historic centre of this beautiful old town, so all the places of interest are only a short walk away. Returning to the house to relax in the quiet courtyard or on the roof terrace was also a pleasure.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank michael n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We spent 5 days at the Casa Tamargo in February 2013. It was the best stay we had in our round-trip in Cuba. Felix and Mathilde are hosts who treat their guests in a professional way. The meals they served us, were much better than in any of the restaurants where we ate. We had a nice room, and the patio and sun terrace were nice places to relax. Oh, it is true that Felix serves the best drinks in town. His Pina Colada was so good!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nojo6266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

A unique occasion to live in an old colonial style house of Trinidad. Not only is the house beautiful, with its huge entrance hall, its ancient furniture, its big patio and its terrace overlooking the town, but the room to stay in is large (we had 3 beds) and comfortable, the dinner (and breakfast) are excellent, and it is very close to Plaza Mayor and all places to visit in Trinidad. It is a little more expensive than most casas in Cuba (remaining however very reasonable : 35 € per night), but it is really worth it. And Matilde + Felix are great hosts too, good way to improve your Spanish !

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knar-NP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Our second stay at Casa Tamargo, (the last time was Feb. 2011). The casa is located well, the hosts are honest and sincere; the food is great and Felix's drinks are awesome. It does help to speak some Spanish to fully appreciate these wonderful people. We stayed 5 nights; toured several areas and enjoyed our visit once again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BC_HowLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Felix and Mathilde welcomed us to their wonderful little corner of paradise. Not only is it well situated within Trinidad but the tranquil inner courtyard/garden is a fantastic retreat for relaxing or enjoying a pina colada made by Felix! The rooms are pristine clean and comfortable, hot shower, and really excellent food prepared lovingly by Mathilde. All in all I would highly recommend this casa as the best of all those we stayed at in Cuba.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyMcLennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trinidad hotels
0.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Trinidad
7.8 mi away
Hotel Los Helechos
Hotel Los Helechos
#7 of 11 in Trinidad
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa MiCuba
Casa MiCuba
#22 of 351 in Trinidad
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal Buscando a Caniqui
Hostal Buscando a Caniqui
#26 of 351 in Trinidad
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Casa Jose y Fatima
Hostal Casa Jose y Fatima
#8 of 351 in Trinidad
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Ayala Trinidad
Casa Ayala Trinidad
#69 of 351 in Trinidad
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamargo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamargo

Property: Tamargo
Address: Francisco Javier Serquera 266 | Entre Marti y Maceo, Trinidad 62600, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Sancti Spiritus Province > Trinidad
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 351 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing