We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hostel!!!”
Review of Villa La Roca

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holguin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa La Roca
Ranked #1 of 39 Holguin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hostel!!!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed in this Casa August 2013 and were very impressed! Very friendly and nice hosts. They helped us wherever they could. The room was very comfortable and clean, with own bathroom, TV, Clima, everything you need. We would definitely stay there again on our next trip to Holguin.
Thank you Daniel!!! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    13
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
110
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We were in Cuba for the first time and this hostel was the perfect first stop of our vacation. The rooms aren't very big, but the beds are comfortable and the house is beautiful and very clean. Marcia and Daniel's family is really lovely and funny and they do everything they can to make their guests happy. Marcia is a good cook, so we got lots of delicious food. Daniel speaks English very well and has contacts in the whole country. So he helped us to arrange our Holidays and gave us good advises. We even called him several times and he was always so kind to help us with his translation and solved some bigger and smaller problems. We really couldn't imagine a better service.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sth2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed at the Villa La Roca in April 2013 during a one month trip around Cuba on our bikes. Daniel and Marcia, the owners are incredible! The place is super clean and the food is very tasty as well as the most comfortable bed in Cuba. We were welcomed with open arms and made part of the family. They picked us up at the airport with our 2 bike boxes and Daniel helped us plan our trip, he gave us addresses of good and clean Casas in all the places we wanted to go and he gave us good advice and recommendations on our choices of destinations. It was like having our own private guide. When we were there, Daniel and Marcia were finishing a new self-contained apartment (with a small kitchen and a big balcony) adjacent to the casa on the second floor. This will be great for travellers wanting a bit more privacy than Casas normally give. The case is a bit out of the town center but they have good bikes to rent and the horse wagon (taxi) are on block from the house and cost about 10 cents.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kekine_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Villa La Roca has changed names. Now it is called Villa DAYI, which is painted on the wall from the outside. Didn´t get this information from hostelbookers along with the booking, but if you take the address with you, taxi drivers will take you to the right place. Do not pay more than 3 CUC no matter how grumpy they get.

Daniel and his wife are very friendly. Daniel even paid the driver on arrival since I did not have small change. He then gave me a map of Holguin and explained in detail how to get to the city centre by horse carriage and back. It is very easy, but quite a long trip.

When I returned in the evening the unpleasant part was about to begin - which makes it just 4 stars. Even though I had a reservation for one night, Daniel already expected a guest staying longer than me. Must be part of all real Cuban adventures to get moved for financial reasons. I agreed to move to Villa ELY calling it a good deed of mine.

In the morning, Daniel´s father took me to the Viazul bus station by car. Very nice guy who helped me checking in my luggage and did not leave before I did not get on board.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roamingqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xalapa, Veracruz-Llave, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Excellent casa in Holguin. Owners Daniel and Marcia are great and very helpful with planing activities, arranging transport or recomending other casa. Some of the best food I've had in Cuba was cooked by Marcia and her mother. A little bit away from the center of town but well worth it. Like Daniel says: It's all about the charisma!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianegagnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2013

La Roca is a very clean and homey casa with a lovely hammock and outdoor shower. Although it is not located in the city center, Holguin is not too large of a city for this to be an issue, and it's a cheap horse-taxi ride away.
What really makes this casa though are Dani and Marcia. They are extremely resourceful, accommodating and helpful. Dani was so helpful is giving us further travel advice, arranging our casa in another city and also arranging for rides, etc. Highly recommended. One of the best casa's I have stayed at in Cuba.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We stayed at Villa La Roca half way through our trip, before going to Guardalavaca for a couple of nights, on the recommendation of trip advisor. The casa has been done out nicely with a new ensuite bathroom and sun loungers and a hammock on the private terrace. It's a really relaxing place to stay. Daniel and his wife Marcia have created a great casa here and are a great team. Daniel has a big personality and creates a fun atmosphere around the place. Marcia is also lovely and her food is the best we experienced in our trip - I ate everything on the table (which was quite a feast) when we had dinner there. Ah, I can still taste it! Nice sound system playing cuban music while you eat too.
Highly recommend this casa. It deserves its ranking as top of the pile in Holguin. Will visit there again if we get back there.
Oh, the only negative point was the location, which is a good walk into the city centre. On balance (not stayed in any other place i Holguin mind) it's probably worth paying a bit extra for a taxi and stay here, which Danny's Dad, also called Danny, will provide!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holguin
25.1 mi away
Blau Costa Verde Plus Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
Villa Islazur Mirador de Mayabe
41.1 mi away
Villa Pinares de Mayari
Villa Pinares de Mayari
#6 of 10 in Holguin
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Islazul Villa Don Lino
Islazul Villa Don Lino
#4 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
573 reviews
29.1 mi away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
24.9 mi away
Hotel Playa Pesquero
Hotel Playa Pesquero
#1 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
7,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Roca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Roca

Property: Villa La Roca
Address: Calle 26 no 16 altos entre carretera de Gibara y 5, Holguin 80100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Holguin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Villa La Roca Cuba/Holguin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing