We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Holguin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Four of us stayed here over New Year and had a marvellous time.

Most of the other reviews are pretty spot on so I won't waste time duplicating, but in summary:

- Terrific grounds, really stunningly kept, lots of new places to discover too
- Loads of activities and things to see & do, unlike some other all inclusives I've stayed at
- Great rooms (note that some have/have not been recently refurbished - we asked to change rooms during our stay and staff were very willing to oblige)
- Superb pool area, really huge and plenty of areas to sunbathe around it. No shortage of sun beds
- Truly some of the most wonderful and helpful staff you will ever meet
- Great variety of places to eat & drink
- Lovely atmosphere all round the place
- Terrific weather!

- Yes the food isn't terrific, but by Cuban standards it's probably the best available. Contrary to some other comments, the only one we really didn't enjoy was the Japanese. The Cuban (definitely not bland!) and the French were probably the best two, along with the buffet. The Mediterranean was perfectly acceptable too. All that most of them lack is a bit of proper seasoning, which you suspect is because they can't get hold of the right ingredients.

Would love to go back & heartily recommend the place!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
14  Thank andyrout1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO_Cuba, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear andyrout1,

Your comments posted are truly appreciated. They are very important and useful to us. We are enormously happy to know that we made of your holidays in Paradisus Rio de Oro an unforgettable experience. Thank you so much for recommending our resort to other travelers. We will be very pleased to welcome you back soon. Just let us know if there is anything we can help you with for your next vacations in this beautiful paradise.

Warm regards,

Jean-Marc Rousseau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,638 - 1,644 of 5,307 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

My husband and I just spent a week at the wonderful Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort.It was our 4th time in Cuba but a first in Holguin.If you aim for a quality resort you should stay there without hesitation! The grounds are wonderful,the room immaculate and the food is delicious(buffet and ``a la carte`` restaurants)! Service provided by ALL employees was just impeccable.The resort is well located on the beach. Yes, there are some rocks but you will find ways to enter the water without any problem if scuba diving is not your thing.The water is crystal clear and warm, the 2 pools are huge and AMAZING.We stayed in a beautiful suite in Royal Service and we loved it! Employees were very professional, nice and attentive to our needs.We would like to recognize Reinaldo for his very good service and kindness. As well as Carlos ( food/restaurants manager ) for his outstanding professionalism and kindness .It showed he was caring for the guests!We enjoyed the Cuban night buffet and show.Rehimberto and Alexis ( gym) were also very helpful.The golf car service was very appreciated to go up and down the hill and all the drivers were very nice and helpful.

The resort is from a nice hour ride from the airport ( we enjoyed it) and there is a lot to do around the resort by yourself or through the numerous excursions offers.Taxis are available and affordable!

This the place to go for a relaxable vacation in a luxury environment in Cuba!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
12  Thank Adventurors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO_Cuba, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Adventurors,

Knowing about your lovely vacations at our Royal Service makes us extremely happy; because that is the reason we are always working for. Your comments are very appreciated and important to us. I will greet Reinaldo, Carlos, Rehimberto and Alexis for you. We would love to know about your next holiday’s plans and we will be very pleased to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards from Paradisus Rio de Oro,

Jean-Marc Rousseau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

My wife & I stayed at PRDO for 11 nights for our honeymoon.

The grounds and beach are absolutely gob-smacking! If you want to go somewhere that you wander round and feel you're in paradise then this is the one. We spent most days on the beach & never failed to get lounger & parasol. White sand, bright turquoise waters & plenty of fish to see whilst snorkelling. Also it's lovely and peaceful. However - watch out because I'm pretty sure I saw several stonefish! I have no idea how anyone could complain about the beach, it's beautiful.

The pool is great as well. Don't worry about the paint as it doesn't make any difference! There're plenty of loungers & Balinese beds and the drinks at the pool bar are lovely.

Staff are all wonderful people. They couldn't be more helpful and friendly. Especially the cigar selling guy (forgot his name!), Rolando the buffet chef and Yudith the waitress. Drinks across the board were good but not great. Wine is rough but that's to be expected in Cuba & all inclusive. The all inclusive Sparkling wine is actually nice though. There's a good selection of premium spirits & the measures are huge but cocktails were made differently every time I ordered! Not a bad thing as it kept it exciting!vThe room was comfortable and has everything we needed but wasn't up to a 5* level.

The only genuine disappointing thing about PRDO is the food. We ate at El Patio, the Japanese restaurant, the Mediterranean restaurant & the royal service restaurant. None were good I'm afraid & we even had a couple of dishes that we couldn't eat e.g a caprese salad of tasteless tomatoes stacked with processed cheese. The best food we has at the resort was at the buffet. A wide selection of meats & salad bits as well as a pasta station every night - it was good but not greats Flambé and breakfast was always scrummy. I don't want to sound like a snob but it just wasn't up to the standard we expected from a 5* hotel.

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay. The place is gorgeous & looks like paradise & we felt really looked after. However, the food & room bring the standard down a bit & I'd say it's more like a 4*. That said, I'd suggest this is the case across Cuba due to the economic/political situation there.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
14  Thank Steve-Reading7162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO_Cuba, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Steve-Reading7162,

Your posted comments are appreciated and very useful on our daily work towards your satisfaction. We have looked into them with the involved departments. I will personally give your greetings to Rolando and Yudith. Once more I thank you for helping us improve our services through your opinions. We truly hope to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Jean-Marc Rousseau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This was our first time to Holguin and I’m happy to say would go back. We’ve been to the Paradisus in Veradero, so we booked this Paradisus De Oro for April of 2014. I hope this review provides some candid feedback about the Resort.

We were attracted to the flora and fauna of the Holguin region. The hotel was well decorated in a colonial style with lots of plants everywhere. The main areas were simple to navigate. We arrived at 9pm at night, we were offered champagne and warm towels before checking in and they suggested we have some food at the buffet while they made arrangements to drive us to our room.

We booked the Junior Suite Deluxe which was a ground floor bungalow. The room was spacious with a wide view of the mountains and plam trees in the back. One of the best features was the completely private outdoor shower! In addition, there was also an indoor shower in the washroom.

For a few days, we booked the Junior Suite in Royal Service area, which was also quite nice. The Royal Service also had an outdoor shower (but not an indoor shower). The main differences between the Royal Service and Regular service is: Royal service provides a private beach, food and drink service on the beach, private restaurant (which was just OK) and bar, separate pool and that’s about it. It’s also much further from the main areas, so you will need to be driven back to your room. So it’s basically your preference on which area you want to choose.

There are many restaurants available, to be honest, we’re foodies so we only selected a few to try. The royal service restaurant Los Helechos is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The ocean view from the patio at breakfast is quite nice. I was pleasantly surprised to find eggs benedict on the breakfast menu but they need to improve the hollandaise sauce. Los Helechos offers some unique entrees with lobster, beef and chicken. We went there twice but in our opinion it was just ok; some of the entrees were a bit bland for our taste and in some cases the portions were quite small. However their pumpkin soup and deserts made up for it.

We thought since we’re in Cuba, why not try El Bohío the Cuban restaurant. Unfortunately we found the food at El Bohío to be really bland and flavorless. They do however have some nice live music and separate private Cabanas you can book for an intimate and special group dinner. The last restaurant we tried with the Continental El Patio. We found this to be the best restaurant. Beautiful interior, flavorful food, friendly and efficient staff. To be honest, we ate at the buffet most of the time and we found it to be wonderful. There was lot’s of variety of fresh fruit, vegetables, fresh meat and seafood to be grilled upon request and great, friendly staff. They also had an international wine selection and you could order and have brought to your room (for an additional fee). The buffet had different themed nights, we found the Cuban night buffet to be outstanding!

The main beaches were beautiful; some areas were a tad rocky (as in tiny rocks in the water) which you could easily walk over. The private beaches in the Royal Service area are very nice. The grounds are immaculate and constantly maintained. They also have a wonderful botanical garden, which was beautiful to see and photograph. A special treat if you like flora and fauna. If you are a photographer or like nature, there are tons of birds and you can go on guided bird walks, which is unique. The resort is also close to Bahía de Naranjo Natural Park.

The nightly entertainment was ok…we skipped it most of the time… we’re in our mid thirties and we found the entertainment to be a bit outdated for us. Also if you’re looking for a resort with vibrant nightlife going into the wee hours of the morning, this is not that kind of resort. Most of the main areas shut down by 11:30 ish and the general clientele of this resort are late 40’s and up.

One of the things that always surprises me about Cuba is the service. Unlike Mexico or other Caribbean destinations we’ve been to – where the service is top notch, the service in Cuba is never great. However the staff are friendly, have a good attitude and try hard. We found at times the service to be Ok to awful in all areas. The main bar was often the worst service, where we and others would sit for up to 30 mins without someone coming to take our drink order. So my advice is to be patient, order multiple drinks or buy a bottle of wine from the buffet.

Regardless we would say overall, we would definitely visit this resort again because of the beaches, beautiful views, flora and fauna and the wonderful caring staff at the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO_Cuba, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear M D,

We really appreciate your comments in Trip Advisor. They are very important for us in order to improve our services. Thank you so much for your suggestions too, which we are taking into consideration. We have already discussed your opinions with the departments involved and we are working to solve all of them right away. Despite the issues you have mentioned, we are very happy to know that you have decided to come back. I will be a real pleasure to welcome you back to this harmonious slice of paradise.

Kindest regards,

Jean-Marc Rousseau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Me & my brother stayed here for 1 week from the 4th - 11th aug!..

The hotel is totally huge, it's more or a village with bungalows & flats spread all around the place! To get about, the easiest way is to call for a bell boy, they come & collect you & take you to your desired destination in a golf buggy!, just to give you an idea of how big the place is, it took us 1 min 30 seconds to get from our room to the main lobby! There are really only 4 places to go.. The main beach, the private beach ( royal service only ) the main pool or the royal service pool.. There are no shops or towns nearby.. So if you want crisps, chocolate.. Snacks... Take them with you!! This hotel really is amazing if your looking for just peace & tranquility!! It's unspoilt beauty & surroundings make it the perfect getaway for a truly relaxing break!

My brother on the other hand is only 18, he found it incredibly boring as there was no shops, not much nightlife & not many girls to chase as it's an adults only hotel!

On the main beach, all the watersports are free, there's the paddle boats, kayaks & sail boats, sun loungers are free.. The beaches tho are exactly how you would expect them to be!.. At 1st glance!.. Your blown away!! It really does look that good!!! & everyone says how rocky the beach is... Not at all!! It's rocky near the rocky area!! Haha... Walk just 30 seconds to the left & it's not rocky!! Duhh!

The snorkelling at the main beach really is amazing!!! Take your own snorkel mask & flippers!! They have them here but your always best to take your own!.. Anyway... About 60 yards out, there is the BEST CORAL REEF ever!!!!! It's amazing!!! & that's where all the beautiful colourful fish are!! It's amazing!!

The food is lovely!.. Just what you would expect really, a choice of everything!! It's good!! :)

Also.. There is coconuts in all the palm trees!.. If you see a gardener, kindly ask him to get you one down, & he'll open it for you to drink the milk!! Yummy!! :)

The rooms are amazing!! Outdoor shower in the royal service, jacuzzi bath, the beds made twice daily!.. Mini bar.. ( fridge in cupboard ) filled with your desired drinks!.. Whenever we wanted anything.. They brought it!.. Bacon sandwich at 5am for example!! Champagne by the bottle... They brought it!! You don't need to bring beach towels as there are clean ones everyday in the rooms!

One thing i must say tho... BRING MOSQUITO REPELLENT!!!!!!

Ouch!!

SPECIAL THANKS TO:
Julio the bar guy at the royal beach
Rolando the chef
Manuel the gardener!! He is amazing!!! Great at his job!!
Carlos the bellboy!! A happy man & made us feel very welcome!!
PRDO!! Thankyou very much!

Stayed: August 2014
12  Thank Flashbobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO_Cuba, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Flashbobbo,

We truly appreciate your review in Trip Advisor. We are very pleased to know that we accomplished your expectations about Paradisus Rio de Oro and we made of your vacations with us a memorable experience. I will personally give your greetings to Julio, Rolando, Manuel and Carlos.
We will be very happy to know you are coming back soon.

With very best regards,

Jean-Marc Rousseau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This was our 5th time here at the PRDO and I honestly feel so comfortable here I would like to say its my 2nd home. the staff are really what makes this place so so special. You can go a year and they still remember you, what you like to drink etc and will go out of their way to ensure you really do have the holiday of your lifetime. The rooms are kept beautifully clean, as is the whole complex. The food ..well it was always spectacular and well presented. Even room service, we needed an early night and decided just to stay in and chill out, so ordered a club sandwich and choc cake, when it arrived our table was set and we were made to feel so special. The pool was being renovated whilst we were there, which yes is a disappointment, but it needed doing and we totally understand that this type of work is done during the quiet season. The entertainment as usual is of top quality, nothing cheap nasty and tacky, its all classy and more up market than most hotels. The aqua ballet was outstanding. The management are constantly walking around ensuring your holiday is going like a dream, and will listen to any suggestions anybody should make. The beaches were stunning and well kept. Every day they are cleared of seaweed and kept that way. Would I recommend this hotel ? It's the only hotel i could honestly recommend to anybody and feel confident in my advice. Within days of returning I have re booked to go back next year, I need to return because every time I come here I leave behind my heart ...that's my excuse ;)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
16  Thank Di&Mal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO_Cuba, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Di&Mal,

We feel really honored that you consider us as your second home. That is the reason we work for. Thank you so much for sharing you experience in Paradisus Rio de Oro with other travelers and also for keep choosing us to spend you holidays. You will always be welcome to this resort as part of our family you already are.

Very best regards,

Jean-Marc Rousseau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The only complaint we could make about this whole trip is the upgrade on the plane to Thomas Cook Premium - what a complete rip off that was! With other airlines you get complimentary items, which typically include; headsets, drinks, snacks - with Thomas Cook you get NOTHING except a bit of extra leg room.

This was our third trip to Cuba and the best hotel of the visits we have made. We knew before that the pool would be closed and were very pleased it was opened early and we had five days to enjoy it.

All the staff were extremely friendly (including the gardeners and maintenance staff) and we laughed and joked our way through the whole two weeks.

As this was low season there was a reduced service which resulted in evening dinner alternating between A La Carte and Buffet, all were very nice but most people preferred the Japanese, closely followed by the International; surprisingly most were of the view that the Royal was their least favourite, which under normal operating levels you have to pay extra for. The only downside to evening dinning was that men are required to wear long trousers, which is fine in the A la Cartes, however rather excessive in the Buffet which has no air-con or fans. This caused quite a lot of annoyance amongst the male guests as many women wore very short skirts and little strappy dresses; one woman actually went into dinner in shorts on more than one occasion and was allowed in. - Double standards!

We had read several reviews about the snorkelling here, which was ok as long as you are a casual snorkeller, if diving and snorkelling is what you do, you will find it a bit disappointing.

If you are a diver, all your dives are free in this resort. If anybody reading this review is going here in the near future and planning to dive and would be happy to take a DVD of photos and video out to the dive instructor, could you please get in touch. The post in Cuba can be unreliable.

All in all would we go back to this resort - Yes, but there are lots of other places to visit, so not in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRO_Cuba, General Manager at Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear michael m,

Knowing about your wonderful holidays in Paradisus Rio de Oro, makes us very happy. Thank you so much for letting us knows and sharing your opinions with other travelers in Trip Advisor.
We truly hope you decide to come back soon again to this slice of paradise.

Warm regards from sunny Esmeralda Beach,

Jean-Marc Rousseau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holguin
0.5 mi away
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
Sol Rio de Luna y Mares
#1 of 3 in Guardalavaca
5,785 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Playa Pesquero Resort, Suite & SPA
368.6 mi away
Iberostar Varadero
Iberostar Varadero
#3 of 64 in Varadero
6,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
368.9 mi away
Royalton Hicacos Varadero Resort & Spa
230.0 mi away
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
Royalton Cayo Santa Maria
#1 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
3,087 reviews
233.1 mi away
Melia Buenavista
Melia Buenavista
#2 of 16 in Cayo Santa Maria
2,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa

Address: Playa Esmeralda, Crta Guardalavaca, Holguin 007, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Holguin
Price Range: £155 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Bahia de Naranjo Natural Park, in Playa Esmeralda, on the northern coast of Holguin province. Five-Star Ultra All Inclusive Eco-Resort with 354 rooms. Conceived only for adults aged 18 years or more. Maximum comfort and perfection in its private Royal Service area for a fabulous experience in a world apart. Recommended for weddings, honeymoons, incentive trips and wellness/spa. Guest Rooms 354 rooms: 254 Junior Suites, 24 Luxury Junior Suites, 16 Luxury Junior Suites Ocean View, 2 Suites Deluxe, 36 Master Junior Suites Royal Service, 14 Master Junior Suites Ocean View Royal Service, 6 Master Junior Suites Luxury Royal Service, 2 Garden Villas Royal Service. Dining: 8 Restaurants (A la Carte, Buffet), 5 Bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Holiday Gems, Prestigia, Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradisus Rio De Oro Resort And Spa
Paradisus Rio De Oro Hotel Holguin
Paradisus Hotel Guardalavaca
Rio De Oro Paradisus
Paradisus Rio De Oro Cuba
Hotel Paradisus Rio De Oro
Paradisus Rio De Oro Resort & Spa Cuba/Holguin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing