We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great time at the Blau”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Holguin
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Another Great time at the Blau”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Second stay within the last 6 months, an amazing time had by all. Staff can not do enough for you, grounds are kept immaculate, we had no complaints about cleaning staff. Food was plentiful, lots to choose from, pool bar snacks throughout the day and into early hours. Leo and the rest of the animation team work relentlessly to organise events. Entertainment is top class. We met some amazing people and intend on booking a return trip next year.

Room Tip: Block 16 and 28 are good, stayed in 16103 and 28207
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sue01041961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBlauCV, Manager at Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your post! It´s always good news when we learn about another guest who has enjoyed a stay with us and, even more important, who intends to return. If there´s anything we can do prior to your next stay, please feel free to contact us. We´ll make sure to mention your review the staff members.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    1,360
    475
    168
    88
See reviews for
789
1,167
178
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (659)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Very enjoyable. Great resort, weather good. I read the reviews and was unsure, but after visiting many locations over the world definitely believe this is cuban 4 star. The service was good, and so friendly. End of season so the room had been used a bit, but saying that very clean, daily good service, and vey satisfactory.

Entertainment was fun and beach service good.

I went to havana for a couple of days - definitely fun and a must, but to come back to the resort was lovely to chill and relax again.

Would I go back - yes - although again l would split it and visit other places in cuba as well - its a resort - and cuba is so much more than the resorts.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
7 Thank fktom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBlauCV, Manager at Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Lovely title for your review. We´re pround to have provided that fun experience for you! Hopefully there will be other visits from you in the future. We are at your service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband, my kid and I had an excellent time here, we went in April and had an amazing experience.
People were friendly, rooms were OK! (not a big deal as we spent most of the time out in the beach in the pool and looking around the city.
The resort was beautiful, the pools were clean and the people was fantastic.
The food was good! I wouldn't say the food was amazing but it was very descent, considering I have heard people say that the food is horrible, i believe the food was ok, again, I am not a picky eater so I guess it all depends on the people.
My trip was fantastic, the employees are quite friendly with children and very considerate,
It's a place with a great BALANCE (speaking of ages).
They have everything you need to have an amazing time.
Most important thing: TREAT PEOPLE WITH RESPECT and they will love you!
Going back this month!
Bring your thermos to fill them with drinks!!! Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarahi n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBlauCV, Manager at Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Being a mostly family-oriented hotel, we sincerely appreciate commentslike yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This review is a bit late. My SO and I stayed at the resort from Apr 2nd to the 9th. We flew CanJet which was a really nice, comfortable flight, and was on time, going to Cuba and back. We flew out at 7:45 am which is early for us but it was worth it as when we got there we still had time for the buffet lunch and time to do other things. Getting thru the airport was quick and painless. Bus ride to the resort was as comfy as expected and it was about 45 minutes from the airport. However we enjoyed it as we got to see many different sights along the way. You really got to see how some of the cubans live.

Our room in the Noli plus section was quite spacious with some lovely views. We were on the top floor at the end of the hall where there is a spacious balcony with tables and chairs. Beds were comfy and we received any and all supplies, such as drinking water, beer and pop on a daily basis. Also got our free bottle of Cuban rum which comes with the noli plus room.

What we really liked about this resort was that everything, meaning all the action, was centrally located. The bars, buffet, theatre, pool and lobby were all right there. The mini flea market had several vendors which seemed to change daily. All the bars/bartenders served drinks quickly. There never seemed to be any line ups. However there were lineups in the buffet for certain foods but they moved quickly. The food there was very good and we always found something to eat. We never went hungry.

Grounds were beautiful as was the beach. A little rocky here and there but the water was amazing. And snorkeling was truly a wonderful experience.

The bus service was awesome. You could go to the different resorts and back to your own on only 5 pesos. What a great deal! We went to the large flea market at Club Amigo and I managed to find what I was looking for in one of the shops there, which I couldn't find anywhere else, not even at the airport.

Our maid was very friendly and did a great job at cleaning our room. I do forget her name now but she used to be a lawyer. And we just loved 'Danny' ,I think it's spelled, who is a woman and who worked at the buffet. She was so sweet! We loved sitting in her section and chatting with her. She always made us feel so welcome. We learned a lot about her as we did our maid. Such a great learning experience.

The pool was so much fun and the pool bar guy was always ready to wait on me. He's the best, but I don't recall his name. The only thing that I didn't much care for was that every day at around noon or so they have the volleyball match in the middle of the pool.

The theatre had some very good shows. The two that I thoroughly enjoyed was the fashion show and the water ballet in the pool. That was incredible as was their costumes.

We didn't want to leave and felt like staying an extra week as we enjoyed it so much. I'm one of these people who enjoys trying out different resorts, so maybe one day we'll be back but we'll want to try out the new side next time.

So, in conclusion I would say that this is definitely a 4 star in every way and definitely worth a visit!

Ps. Oh, and don't forget your Heinz Ketchup and Peanut Butter. Also a big re-usable mug so you don't have to make as many trips to the bars.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OttawaMetroGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBlauCV, Manager at Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
It´s never too late to sumit a review! Specially one like yours, abundant in details that should be useful to future travellers. We appreciate the time devoted to writing it and are very glad that you had a good time at the hotel! As you well point out, one of the most attractive features of the Blau Costa Verde section is the central location of services, that allows guests to access them without hassle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham, england
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

we have had 3 lots of petty thieving from our hotel room of tablets that my partner needs daily. BEWARE. we had ours in drawers but they were took over three days. hotel not very helpful with our complaint
and prostitutes work in the hotel for old men who are lonely
trips nto very good and hotel shop is hopeless. not much to spend money on.

Room Tip: dont book to come here. go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traceya89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBlauCV, Manager at Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for submiting your review. We´re sorry that you feel some pills were taken from your room. Understandably, access to guests´ rooms is extremely restricted with basically only the room maid being able to go in for the daily cleaning. Maids deal with guests belongings on a daily basis, some of them very valuable, therefore their performance in this respect determines their very employment. On the other hand, there´s a very strict policy in place regarding prostitution, not only at the hotel, but in the country. Prostitution is not encourage nor allowed. Known offenders are not permitted to say at the hotel. Only in this case does the hotel have grounds to ban a person from staying as a guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Went in 2005 and stayed for a week. The room was ok, the size of the room was great though. Some of the entertaining was pretty fun but we didn't know that some of the daytime events were something you had to attend all week and couldn't just jump in whenever you wanted. The food was nothing to get excited about and with only 1 option of a restaurant you were eating at a buffet style all week.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The new "PLUS" section was our choice, the 1st thing I did was use my jack knife to fix the dead bolt mortice, as it wouldn't lock.Should have brought a camping lantern as the lights in the bath room are dim especially when one is burnt out. I could not safely give myself a good shave and repeated requests to have it fix went no where.The drying string thingy was busted, but wife had a travel one, so OK.
The ceiling panels are coming apart both in the bathroom and the patio.
AS far as being 'quiet', the ever present BOOM-BOOM starts again at 11PM, when the Disco starts at the Beach Restaurant.
The 'a la cart' dinners were a disappointment, we've had better in previous years.Different managers both Spanish and Cuban running around with Walkie Talkies putting out fires I guess.Not very approachable as in previous years.
We will not be back. This time we where past 'high season' approx. 350 guests. I can't imagine what the place is like with ± 1500 guest.
The animation team is the best and the Holguin talent pool is superb.We'll miss that.
The staff give it their best. Can't blame them when the beer is flat and the shrimp rubbery.
Adios

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ketjap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holguin
365.4 mi away
Blau Varadero Hotel Cuba
78.4 mi away
Gran Club Santa Lucia
Gran Club Santa Lucia
#1 of 4 in Playa Santa Lucia
1,483 reviews
2.5 mi away
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Pesquero Resort, Suite & SPA
4.4 mi away
Paradisus Rio de Oro Resort & Spa
6.8 mi away
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
#2 of 3 in Guardalavaca
4,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort

Property: Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort
Address: Playa Pesquero, Holguin 82700, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Holguin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort is located on the seafront next to the fine white sandy beach of Playa Pesquero in eastern Cuba. Our Holguin resort is surrounded by luscious tropical vegetation. At Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort the natural environment is fully incorporated into the resort. Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort offers spectacular views from our rooms over 36 000 m2 of gardens and natural vegetation. Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort offers (with extra charge): Souvenir shops. Car and moped rental. Taxi service. Parking. Laundry service. Medical services: nursing service in the hotel and medical visits on request. Bureau de change in reception. Massage services. Hairdressers. Special dinner. Weddings. Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort ALL INCLUSIVE: Breakfast, lunch and buffet dinner. 2 á la carte restaurants per week, reservations are required. *Dress code long trousers. Local beverages and select international brands. Non-motor water sports. Sporting activities: volleyball, basketball, tennis, aerobics and snorkelling, daytime and evening entertainment programme including Spanish lessons, dance classes, and nightly shows. Minibar. Teatime. Discotheque. Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Booking.com, LoveHolidays and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blau Costa Verde Beach Hotel Holguin
Blau Costa Verde Cuba
Blau Costa Verde Beach Resort Cuba/Holguin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing