We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little market!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guardalavaca Beach

Guardalavaca Beach
Ranked #2 of 27 things to do in Holguin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Londrina, PR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great little market!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Was really nice and there were a number of venders that were very easy to bargain with, but there were also alot of pushy venders so beware of this, the beach was wonderfull and you can get alot of good deals there, was nice to be in town, but not alot of city life!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    572
    382
    115
    19
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cartoonist at Bar La Rueda”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

If you go to this beach stop and have a drink at the this bar and let Yoandi draw you in his unique cartoonist style. Very reasonable and a great unique souvenir. I think we paid 1 peso per person. Well worth it!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank msTabudhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“nice from a distance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

I only saw this beach from a distance at the market in Guardalavaca, but it seemed to be quite sandy and nice. Didn't have time to swim there, but will go next time!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Guppielady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norval, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not worth the trip or lost time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Our resort allowed artisans to come in and set up. They changed up every day. Most of what we found on our resort was also found at the market at Guardalavaca. It felt less safe there, and less comfortable. Nice beach, but nothing too special from my experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mofcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

The Guardalavaca "public" beach as it is known, is just gorgeous; pristine clear turquoise water and beautiful powder soft white sand. There are a couple of café/bars on the beach where you can sit and while away a few hours taking in the lovely views and soaking up the atmosphere with a cold beer in hand!

You can access the beach via the boardwalk at Brisas or by walking straight through the market place from the mainroad.. also look for the El Ancla restaurant up on the ledge at the far end of the beach, where you can grab a bite to eat or just sit outside and enjoy its amazing panoramic coastal views whilst suffering another beer..lol.... Enjoy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LoonyLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Guardalavaca Beach also viewed

Holguin, Holguin Province
 
Holguin, Holguin Province
Holguin, Holguin Province
 

Been to Guardalavaca Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing