We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap Hideaway Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Islazur Mirador de Mayabe
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Holguin
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Arrived at the hotel 'round midnight after a late flight from Montreal. My first impression was, "is anybody home?". A darkly lit reception handled my reservation and I was swiftly escorted to my digs. I did pass a couple of cabins with some racket emanating from them but for the most part, it was near ghost-townish-like.
The room was a typical 2 star Izlazul room. Good enough, but nothing to brag about. A good nights sleep was had after a busy travel day with delays.
After waking up, I had a chance to scout around the premises to see what it had to offer. A fair sized grounds with some paths that led to a small farm/zoo and some lookout spots towards the city of Holguin. I saw no sign of any drunk donkey or even any drunk guests for that matter. Too early for that I guess. I was impressed with the large pool and some locals and tourists eventually livened up the pool area for some swim and sun.
I would guess that it was approximately 20 minutes to the airport and about the same to Holguin city center. It would definitely be more convenient to have your own transportation while staying here as taxis can be hard to find here at many certain times. A large outdoor patio restaurant is on site with decent chow to fill up on while enjoying the view.
A good enough place for those who enjoy a quiet spot not too far from a major Cuban city.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CubanWaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Mirador de Mirabe on the outskirts of the city of Holguin, on top of a hill, with sweeping views over the valley below. 24 air-conditioned rooms and swimming pool. Again a strange Cuban hotel, but tobe fair we only stayed one night and there was bad weather around

Its main selling point appears to be a donkey that gets drunk on beer fed to it by guests - I understand they are now on their 4th donkey with the same name. Happily we did not meet the donkey - he may be in between incarnations at the moment. The hotel has wonderful views over the valley below, and a big swimming pool

The bedroom was "drab" and one of those "modern" buildings that the Cubans have put up (badly) 20 years ago, and to be fair was maintained, but not what you would describe as somewhere to relax in... The rooms do not look out over the view, instead facing the jungle, which was inches from our window.

Dinner was passable - we were the only people eating. By breakfast a few more guests seem to have arrived, but the staff kept the blinds down and we were not able to enjoy the view.

My verdict is that it was fine for a one night transit stop (avoided going into the town and was easy to find) but I would not have like to have spent any longer there. Unlike many hotels we stayed at in Cuba, it lacked "charm"

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ickbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franislazul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amarcos2375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Un lugar silencioso y tranquilo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Olimpio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Bente J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holguin
31 mi away
Hotel Club Amigo Atlantico Guardalavaca
1.4 mi away
Islazul Villa El Bosque
Islazul Villa El Bosque
#10 of 11 in Holguin
58 reviews
21.5 mi away
Islazul Villa Don Lino
Islazul Villa Don Lino
#4 of 4 in Rafael Freyre
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel E Caballeriza
Hotel E Caballeriza
#4 of 11 in Holguin
24 reviews
71 mi away
Hotel Roc Santa Lucia (Ex Gran Club)
Hotel Roc Santa Lucia (Ex Gran C...
#1 of 4 in Playa Santa Lucia
1,505 reviews
31.5 mi away
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
Brisas Guardalavaca Hotel
#2 of 3 in Guardalavaca
4,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Islazur Mirador de Mayabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Islazur Mirador de Mayabe

Address: Alturas de Mayabe, Km 8 | Mayabe, Holguin 80100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Holguin
Price Range: £31 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Islazur Mirador de Mayabe 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Islazur Mirador de Mayabe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Islazur Mirador De Mayabe Hotel Holguin
Villa Islazur Mirador De Mayabe Cuba/Holguin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing