We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“462 Steps in mid day sun”

Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“462 Steps in mid day sun”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

You get to the top after being hassled all the way up to find an art shop and cafe. View amazing though

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank PE07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    195
    82
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I did the stairs at 37c and it definately wasnt easy ,that being said...it was worth it! amazing views of Holguin and the mountains from the top.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank bigdaddyeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A ONE TIME EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We took the excursion to Holguin in April of 2013 on our way to Holguin Airport for our return flight to Halifax. We saw a lot of the countryside, which was very interesting, just seeing where the resort workers live and the animals and lovely countryside along the way. We had a full meal in a restaurant high above Holguin City, which was very interesting looking down at all the activity in the streets. We could never imagine driving through there on our own. We visited some of the local stores and just browsed. The local people milled around us somewhat, but we just had to keep moving. Our tour bus took us up to the Hill of the Cross and there were several locals there but they did not bother us. We didn't have to climb any steps, thankfully, because it was quite a hot day. When we paid for this excursion, it included VIP service at the airport, whereby we were served first with our luggage and getting us through the system. Then we were able to sit in the VIP lounge at the airport, which is air conditioned, and you are provided with free drinks and free food. With this service, you get on the airplane first. We purchased this excursion through our Sunwing representative.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“An experience!!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Lots of stairs, so be prepared, rest every 50 steps, wear good shoes, a hat, bring water. Restaurant at the top was good. Bring your own Kleenex or toilet paper for any attraction.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank April T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Great view - Bummer about the beggars”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Worth stopping - it is an important pilgrimage destination, be prepared for hassles by the few locals. They are polite and will go if you ask them to. There are police there as well. great for photos and a view of Holguin

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank curioustravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hill of the Cross (Loma de la Cruz) also viewed

Holguin, Holguin Province
 
Holguin, Holguin Province
 

Been to Hill of the Cross (Loma de la Cruz)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing