We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise only minutes from Mesa”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lake Saguaro

Lake Saguaro
Book In Advance
More Info
US$21.99*
and up
Desert Belle Sightseeing Cruise on Saguaro Lake
Ranked #540 of 1,823 things to do in Arizona
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Paradise only minutes from Mesa”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We were visiting mesa and found this lake. What a beauty! Our daughter loved the chance to run around and the location is so beautiful. So close to the city too!

Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingMatthieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    26
    7
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
128 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great day on the water”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We (11 of us) packed a lunch, rented a pontoon boat and set out for 1/2 a day on Lake Sagauro.
This is an excellent experience.
We are from the east, land of many lakes. If you long for a 'water fix' while in Arizona, this is a must!
We saw wildlife, bald eagles, long-horned sheep and heron.
A marvellous way to spend an afternoon.
The scenery is fantastic.
Note: Take care when renting a pontoon boat from the Sagauro Lake Marina.
The rental desk is not customer friendly and if there were other options we would not deal with them again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sand369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
165 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Gotta love Arizona”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Although most tourists think of AZ as a desert paradise....those of us that live here truly enjoy our lakes and waterways! Saguaro Lake is one of those beautiful spots. Whether you are out for a scenic drive to look at the amazing dessert, which is a little higher and contains a huge variety of cacti, or looking for a true day on the lake, this area is perfect. The Lakeshore restaurant is a good spot for breakfast or lunch.....try the ham steak and pancakes...my oh my..and rent a boat and see the amazing canyons and colors of the lake. Just gorgeous! It is definitely worth a stop......

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara4797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“GET YOUR PASS FIRST and go have a fun day”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

***Remember to get a Tonto's Pass before you go – you need one to get into the park!!! You can get one at these stores listed http://www.fs.usda.gov/Internet/FSE_DOCUMENTS/stelprdb5331614.pdf (example: Circle K, Big 5 Sporting Goods, Sports Chalet, most gas stations, etc ).

We took our boat to the second boat ramp. Both get crowded, but plenty of parking. Once you get out of the marina area – it is nice and relaxing. One of the pull off beaches was very crowded with people and dogs, but we found our niche somewhere else. We found a beach and a cove and had the place to ourselves to picnic and swim. Beautiful sights and birds. No – it is not the best or prettiest lake around, but it was the closest for us and we made it a memorable day. It looks like they have some great spots to picnic if you are not on the water. We did scuba dive this lake once – years ago. Not recommended – visibility is very poor.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank masterofdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Do your homework (thoroughly) before drive...for First Time Visitors”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Quick notes: Buy Tonto's Pass at any convenient stores (CVS, Circle K, 7-11, gas stations) IN TOWN before you reach your destination. Pathetically as it sounds, you cannot obtain the Tonto's pass when you are in the REGION - it's no joke!
Solutions: 1. Drive back out (20+ miles) to get the darn Tonto's pass 2. Ask random patrons in the parking lots as they are (seem to be) leaving to buy the pass from them or 3. take a chance to get a violation ($6 to be paid in court - same as you would pay normally).

Suggestions: There are many areas to have a picnic under shades (Phoon D Exit) at various sites...Pack your drinks (NO GLASS CONTAINERS - be respectful to other park-users) and food, and most importantly your floaters...chill and enjoy the hot arizona summer by the riverbanks and 70-80 F temp. As for this park, I give 2 thumbs up! Pack out what you packed in. NOT recommend Butcher Jones Area (So dirty/trash and dog's poops). Travel safe!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank iHearTravel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Saguaro also viewed

 

Been to Lake Saguaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing