We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun place to go” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Saguaro

Lake Saguaro
Book In Advance
More Info
US$21.99*
and up
Desert Belle Sightseeing Cruise on Saguaro Lake
Ranked #552 of 1,811 things to do in Arizona
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun place to go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Saguaro Lake is a very fun but busy area to go plenty of places to camp just be aware if you are going with your family on a weekend there is a place nicknamed "Party Cove" there is a channel on the south side of the lake that leads to this location and there tends to be a lot of partying and can lead into some fights not a great place for kids BUT the rest of the lake and the restaurant and the boat tours definitely makes it worth taking a trip to see just make sure you get there early so you don't need to wait to get on the lake!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    25
    7
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Saguaro Lake Boat Cruise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Went to Saguaro Lake for a boat cruise aboard the Desert Belle. We arrived early and found a parking spot near the restaurant. We walked down to the ticket booth. It was a hot, sunny day in May so we were looking for shade right away. Well, there really isn't any, a few small trees and the restaurant patio walk through. We walked down the shore a little to sit under a tree waiting for the cruise to board. We watched people lining up in the full sun to get their tickets. There were older people, seniors, small children, and disabled lined up for a long time in the glaring sun. They made everyone wait on the shore after getting their tickets sharing 2 small benches and a small tree in the semi shade. Everyone was asked to arrive half hour early so they all waited in the hot sun. And its not even summer yet!
I think the people who run the Desert Belle cruise line should consider a line canopy of some type to give their customers a little shade if they are going to make them wait in the sun to board.
The boat trip itself was quite enjoyable. There is a snack bar with good popcorn, cold drinks and bar offerings. The scenery is beautiful and there are animals to be spotted on the shore including big horn sheep and bald eagles.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Get permit before you arrive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

New to the area, so wasn't aware that you needed to get the $6 Forest Pass before you left town. They do not sell them there and are strict about each car having a pass to park... lots of law enforcement. We drove back out 12 miles or so to the nearest gas station, and doubled back. We spent time at Butcher Jones rec area, which felt much like being at a real beach. Lots of people, but plenty of space and everyone was having fun and enjoyable to be around.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank shadeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Paradise only minutes from Mesa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We were visiting mesa and found this lake. What a beauty! Our daughter loved the chance to run around and the location is so beautiful. So close to the city too!

Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingMatthieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
126 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great day on the water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We (11 of us) packed a lunch, rented a pontoon boat and set out for 1/2 a day on Lake Sagauro.
This is an excellent experience.
We are from the east, land of many lakes. If you long for a 'water fix' while in Arizona, this is a must!
We saw wildlife, bald eagles, long-horned sheep and heron.
A marvellous way to spend an afternoon.
The scenery is fantastic.
Note: Take care when renting a pontoon boat from the Sagauro Lake Marina.
The rental desk is not customer friendly and if there were other options we would not deal with them again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sand369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Saguaro also viewed

 

Been to Lake Saguaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing