We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Gorgeous Scenery even in Cloudy Condition

After walking in the Redwoods @ Armstrong, we drove 20 minutes west to the Coast to the seaside... read more

Reviewed 13 August 2016
7Traveller13
,
SF Bay Area
via mobile
All that was missing was one eyed willie's boat-GOONIES

It's beautiful. We stopped here because The Goonies ending was filmed here. The road leading to... read more

Reviewed 31 July 2016
357cesiliac
via mobile
Read all 33 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around California
from US$59.00
More Info
from US$489.00
More Info
from US$400.00
More Info
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
24
8
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
8
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We so enjoyed this park and we visited it twice. Each time to take in the sunset, but the second time we made sure to come early in order to take advantage of the short trails, beach walks and variety of views the area offers. What a special place to enjoy a few hours after a busy afternoon of wine tasting! The water was freezing and the wind breezy but the experience irreplaceable. It is open dawn to dusk so plan your time accordingly.

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank lisabI238SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

It was very cold and windy the day we visited here. We came her to see the sea lions that often lounge on the beaches. Unfortunately, the area where the sea lions were lounging was roped off so we could only see them from quite a distance. Kayaking seems to be the preferred method for sea lion viewing. There were some nice views, but nothing spectacular. I probably would not drive all the way out here again.

Date of experience: August 2013
Thank Jeffster123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I am originally from this area (Marin) and this is my very favorite beach. Amazing rock formations, diverse beach areas, harbor seal sighting opportunities, dunes, and a beautiful accessible but still secluded feeling beach. Highly recommend this as a perfect stop on the California coast. Best time for a coastal visit is either spring or fall when the air temp is not much different than the water if you want a clear day. Summer often results in a foggy or overcast day unless it is super hot out to burn though the characteristic northern coast summer mist.

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank 178rachelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Goat Rock Beach is across the Russian River from Jenner, CA, down a long winding road that ends at a small parking lot with access to the beach. The beach is a short walk from lot and there is no need to hike down a cliff or up over a huge sand bern. There is also a restroom with running water, which was quite a surprise since many of the other stops along the route only had outhouses.

The clouds that day gave it a slightly ominous feel since the ocean is dangerous in the area. There are signs indicating a servere rip tide so no swimming is allowed, but it's a fun beach nonetheless. The beach is clean and a great place to picnic and watch the harbor seals that line up on the sand along the river.

I highly recommend spending a few hours enjoying the views!

Date of experience: June 2013
Thank Lisa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We visited Goat Rock Beach as part of our trip up the coast from Bodega Bay. The main attraction to Goat Rock for us was to see the harbor seals resting on the sand bar/beach area where the Russian River flow into the ocean. This beach as excellent facilities including rest rooms with running water. The beach is clean and offers families a nice place to picnic. There is a warning sign so let the buyer beware. Again, the seals were resting in the sun and folks were not bothering them. we took our pictures from the bridge above the beach near the Jenner Inn. Otherwise you can walk the entire beach to the river and get a close up personal view...I suspect you will smell them before you see them. Over a hundred.

Date of experience: May 2013
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews