We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cypress trees”

Trap Pond State Park
Ranked #50 of 373 things to do in Delaware
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cypress trees”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Love the campground. Traveled in a class A so we didnt use bathrooms. Pond was fun kayaking thru cypress trees - would camp here again !!

Helpful?
1 Thank Bounding4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    31
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hebron, MD
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“First Time Camper”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This was our first experience of camping with our newly purchased travel trailer. Had trouble finding our campsite & once we did, we realized our camper could not fit in that spot. A park ranger came by & helped us find another suitable site. The sites are not marked very well so you're not quite sure which spot is yours. As much as I love trees, a few of them need to come down to enable you to ease your camper into your site. We were in Loop D which is the pull through sites. Once settled though, we had a great time. I enjoyed walking our dog through the trails around the campground. The campstore staff was very friendly & the store stocked the basics but would like to have seen more fresh items there. Unfortunately a few problems occurred & we had to use the bath house for toilet issues. Checked out the showers & they were so nasty there is no way I could take a shower there & feel clean. Also felt a bit uneasy going in in there at night, Our dog was always on a leash as required, yet there were others there with their dogs running around without any leashes on. Rangers do ride through pretty regular & are very helpful. We did enjoy our time there & would definitely return

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trudy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Occoquan
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Things Have Changed Lately”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I'll be totally honest and straight up on this past weekend's stay and state our reasons:
1. Campstore was awesome in helpful, friendly and good staff (A+)
2. Cabins - stayed in cabin .. dirty. (Not swept as years before).
3. Cabin - cigarette butts everywhere outside our cabin along with can tops all over the ground, beer cans in the firepit. This seems to be a custodial issue with the persons in charge of cleaning, replacing bulbs, checking cabins before no renters arrive. This has happened the last 2 times we have reserved a cabin.
4. Outhouse near cabins: NO HAND SANITIZERS FOR A COUPLE OF DAYS. Smells really bad.
5. Showers - warm water great for showering but....... dirty floors..(No cleanup overnight after dirt tracked in from outside). HANDICAP shower broken in men's bathroom.!!! Hooks broken off walls for hanging clothes, towels. Women's shower dirty, toilet seats nasty, not cleaned for 2 days...dirty floors. Sinks nasty. (WHAT HAPPENED IN THE LAST YEAR?) Someone not taking care of the place who is in charge of this.

Last year this was not the case...seems to be beginning to run down and not taken care of.

Very disappointed to the point won't be back for a while until this is corrected. Trap Pond use to be a nice park and kept clean by rustic standards. Don't know what is happening here but needs to be addressed.

Saw people walking dogs in areas designated as "NO PETS IN THIS AREA". No one enforces the rules...pretty lax this time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 1Daisyduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsgrove, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very nice state park”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This park has very good mountain trails. It also has a nice beach/park area with charcoal grills and pretty water view. There are many private and large wooded sites so we always make a reservation to get what we want. Friendly staff, too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mirandamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Wide variety of activities found here”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We went here to camp for one night. By the time we made a reservation, only the walk-in tent sites were available and we enjoyed that very much. You had some privacy from neighbors, lots of trees. The walk-in wasn't far. Closest to the walk-in sites was a porta-potty of sorts. Showers and other facilities are in the campground, but we did not use those.

We also brought kayaks with us. We enjoyed putting those in at the boat ramp area. There were a few boats on the pond fishing. Our favorite activity of the weekend was paddling to the opposite end of the pond to see stands of bald cypress trees. We had tried to view these from a trail, but by far the best views were from the pond. We very much enjoyed paddling and floating amongst them.

Activities here included walking trails, kayaks, canoes and paddle boats for rent, fishing, picnic areas, frisbee golf course. Speaking of walking trails, if I had a complaint, it would be that most trails are poorly marked. We attempted the Cypress Point trail, but ended up on the frisbee golf course many, many times. It's a one-mile trail and we must have walked three trying to stay in the right place. But it was a lovely leisurely walk, so despite the mis-markings, non-markings, I'm not complaining about that too much.

The campground was clean and seemed well-maintained. There was a camp store that satisfied most needs and necessities you may have forgotten.

Overall, a very decent Delaware Park.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Imzpickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trap Pond State Park also viewed

 

Been to Trap Pond State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing