We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mackay Bar - Amazingly perfect, perfectly amazing”
Review of Salmon River

Salmon River
Book In Advance
More Info
US$99.00*
and up
Riggins Idaho 1-day Rafting Trip on the Salmon River
More Info
US$75.00*
and up
Half-Day Guided Rafting Adventure
More Info
US$100.00*
and up
Full Day Rafting Trip
Ranked #176 of 614 things to do in Idaho
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The "River of No Return" is the longest free-flowing river contained within one state of America's lower 48 states. This river begins South of Stanley, Idaho, through the towns of Clayton, Challis and Salmon before heading West through the Frank Church River of No Return Wilderness. The Designated Wild & Scenic section, from Corn Creek to Carey Creek is one of the world's best wilderness river trips.
Palo Cedro, CA
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Mackay Bar - Amazingly perfect, perfectly amazing”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

If I were able to give more "green dots" for this vacation I would...first time ever!! Buck and Joni (along with Dax and their staff) run Mackay Bar Outfitters and Guest Ranch and you will NOT have a better vacation than this..don't even think twice. We were not sure what to expect when we arrived at Vinegar Creek to catch the jet boat for an hour ride to Mackay Bar where we spent 4 days (we are a family of 14 ranging from 7 to 75). Buck was an incredible boat manager, ensuring safety and everyone's enjoyment. Every single person on our trip would do this again...and want to, in fact, our grandson is convinced he is going back to Mackay Bar in November for Steelheading. People that had never fished before enjoyed fishing. The river runners in our group really had high praise for Buck and his boat handling (and these are professional guides with high standards).
Joni ensured our stay was perfect. We were constantly busy with a variety of activities, all designed to meet the standards of 14 very different people. The food was amazing. The accommodations are great. Cabins have a double and twin bed downstairs and have 2 twins in the loft, making them perfect for families. There are three cabins and three rooms in a main lodge.
Every day we had the jet boat available to us from sun up to sun down...and Buck/Joni took us on a wide variety of adventures. Hiking, exploring historical sites, fishing, and just plain having fun.
I cannot overstress how hard the folks at Mackay Bar worked to ensure we had a great family get together. The young kids were really interested in horseback riding (as were several of us not so young kids). Buck got up very earlier to bring the horses down to the coral, ensuring they were there for riding in the early morning. The horses are beautiful and well cared for...plus they were VERY gentle with the kids (which ranged from a couple who had taken a number of lessons to two who had never been on horseback).
We have managed outdoor/park concessions, etc and have pretty high standards for nature/adventure operations...wow, Buck and Joni do such an excellent job, they are right on the top of our list of resort managers. You will not experience a higher level of personal attention or attention to detail. Also, Buck is extremely knowledgeable about fishing and hunting...and makes an excellent guide. Our grandson is still talking about how much he learned about fishing from Buck and he has had a number of fishing lessons.
When we first researched this vacation we knew it would be delightful, but did not expect the level of service, fun and great time Buck and Joni ensured that we had at Mackay Bar...don't hesitate, BOOK immediately, you too will LOVE it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank qsmamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    3
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Salmon River Rafting Company -- Wayne Johnson”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We had a wonderful trip into this wilderness along the Salmon River, guided by Wayne Johnson and his Salmon River Rafting Company crew. We learned about Wayne and the SRRC from an Idaho Public TV program which gives a very detailed picture of this experience including what its like to be on the river and the wonderful personalities of those who have chosen to live and work in the valley of the Salmon.

http://video.idahoptv.org/video/2365055687/

We were especially entranced by how Wayne and others conveyed the history of this river community, and the heartiness required to make a go of it in all seasons. But also the sense of personal warmth and caring that is a part of this special community along the Salmon River.

The 'here and now' of being on the river, with the excitement of the rapids and the peacefulness of slow water amidst growing fellowship, the warm welcoming lodges at the end of the day and perhaps overarchingly the privilege of being in wilderness with all these basic human perks made this a truly transformative experience. We would recommend it highly, and envision returning several times ourselves.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming,
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Salmon River Rafting Company-Wayne Johnson -Main Fork Salmon River”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The river trip is a perfect escape from the pace of life today. SRRC and owner Wayne Johnson and long time guide Steve Gale gave 11 BOOMERS a spectacular 5 days over a long Labor Day weekend. This was a Lodge Trip, beds,breakfast, dinner and great hospitality from delightful and interesting, hard working families who live in this wilderness. All 11 of us will return for an early summer camping trip. The breathtaking beauty of the canyon of the Main Fork of the Salmon (2nd deepest in the US) and short hikes to historic sites made every minute interesting. The rapids were exciting but not threatening and the occasional stretches of flat water were relaxing. Most enjoyable was the endless font of history, geology, archeology, humor and adventure stories from Wayne and Steve too. Wayne is truly a Renaissance Man whose passion for the place, the people and the history of this place is infectious.we left with books about the river, the colorful folks who have lived there and we plan to return, soon. The trip is not cheap but is reasonable. Importantly, you never have to open your wallet from when you meet Wayne to getting in your car to depart after sad goodbyes. Hotel, meals, transport to Corn Creek to start the float, River of No Return Lodge, Whitewater Ranch, China Bar, Shepp Ranch and a great flight back to Salmon I'd for another night at the hotel and a farewell dinner are all included. at trips end be generous with your guides.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiliboomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain Home, Idaho, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Whitewater rafting”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Salmon River Rafting company. Did a great job, guides were awesome, knowledgeable and fun. Lunch was awesome and well planned, well worth the time:-)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennewick, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
583 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Love that white-water rafting!”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Great river to raft on. This time we did the Lower Salmon with friends. Plenty of class 2,3 and some 4 rapids. Gear and labor intensive unless you go with an outfitter. If you are not experienced, or do not have someone experienced take you, go with one of the outfitters. Beautiful scenery. Lots of wildlife. Shuttles and services available in White Bird. Sleep on sand beaches. Pack in and out all supplies and waste (including your own!) No services once you are on the river. You need Idaho invasive species permit for your boat, Washington Discover Pass to park your car at the takeout at Heller Bar. Do your homework.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank OutdoorBoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salmon River also viewed

 

Been to Salmon River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing