We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to play!”

Forest Dunes Golf Club
Ranked #2,459 of 2,249 things to do in Michigan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Resort course, part of the Gaylord Golf Mecca, which was designed by Tom Weiskopf.
Swartz Creek, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to play!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My wife and I played 18 as an anniversary gift to one another. We had a great time. Absolutely love the course. We are not great golfers. My wife played the forward tees and I played the next ones back(started said that would be like the red an white). I found the course to be very playable from tees I played. There is a forced carry on most holes but decent drives were rewarded. The fast greens were a test but I was prepared for that. Really like the feeling of isolation from each hole. Feels like you're all alone even on a busy day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hacker15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    9
    6
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flint, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beyond Incredible!”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Forest Dunes claims to be "Bucket List" golf, and they are certainly not kidding. The location is definitely off the beaten track and you will wonder if you took a wrong turn trying to get there, However, you are immediately in awe once you pull into the parking lot and see the visually stunning clubhouse...wow. The course is an absolute stunner, and the overall conditions are second to none. This place is as finely manicured as any track you will ever play, and the tee boxes and fairways were super lush and green...very impressive! They have the fastest greens of any course I have ever played, but they roll as true as can be. The 19th hole par 3 with a bunker in the center of the green is an added bonus; great for taking care of those final bets! Challenging but fair, Forest Dunes is an incredible golf experience and one that you will always remember.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
Reviewed 18 July 2013

they have a ridiculously high opinion of themselves.. They say that if Arcadia Bluffs is Michigans "Pebble Beach", then F Dunes is it's Spyglass"!! What a joke!!!! In the middle of nowhere... More bugs than a person should encounter in a lifetime, and WAY too many retired marshalls/starters walking around with clipboards in their hands, when, on the hottest day in 3 years, they may have been on carts keeping the on course water jugs full, or maybe at these rates, ACTUALLY HIRE another cart person for those 3 dollar bottles of water!!!! Honestly, we would have (no kidding) paid $10 for water if it had been available!!! Got our round for 50% off because we were 55... Big deal... $75 instead of $150!!! You have got to be kidding!!! Did no one at this course get the memo that the economy is still somewhat in the dumpster??? Save yourself some grief....drive 40 miles up 75 to Gaylord and play Otsego Club.Tribute...unreal value...stunning views, condition and staff... No two holes are the same, and Very playable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank TobyRudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holt, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Above average, not worth full price of admission.”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Forest Dunes has the best practice facility. The course is well groomed, and tour grade greens. Nicely laid out holes and gorgeous club house. Hole 19 was a treat for my group.

The service however was lacking to say the least. After a wonderful round of golf, we headed into the restaurant for a nice cold one. We were never greeted. After sitting for 15 minutes at a table with no service, we went to the bar. The bartender was cordial. We asked if we could be served outside, and they reassured us someone would be out to take our order. We grabbed our drinks and headed to the patio. We were enjoying the views and our drinks, after 45 minutes and empty glasses, no service. The were two men that appeared to managers of the club, looked at us several time, but never inquired how our stay was or offered us any assistance. This was not classy. Where was the superior service and hospitality? The kicker to this whole thing, was they were not busy. Several of the wait staff were standing around.

We will probably not visit again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ST W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Second best in Michigan...only to Arcadia Bluffs”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

First, but not the last time I'll play golf here. Great course, great set up and fantastic to play. I would recommend this to anyone who loves golf.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank PARtisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Forest Dunes Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Forest Dunes Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing