We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Blue Water”

Ranked #457 of 1,499 things to do in Missouri
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Protected area consisting of 134 miles of the Current and Jacks Fork Rivers in the Ozark Highlands of southeastern Missouri, which offers excellent opportunities for canoeing, kayaking, tubing and fishing.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Blue Water”
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Camped out in Ally Spring in June 2012 as we were on a road trip from Houston, TX to Niagara Falls, Canada. Our campsite was very hard to find as they have several entrances and not very well marked. I did not have cell service (Verizon) so I could not locate my family members that were already situated. We turned into one camp ground that said Ally Spring and were looking for the camp ground – there were no visible signs so we took a road that we thought would take us to our camp ground. HUGE mistake!!!!! Not sure where it takes you, but about a mile or two into the trail – we reversed all the way back. It’s a very narrow road (perhaps a walking trail or for employees to take on a golf cart) but again, it was unmarked. One wrong move made by my DH, and we would probably would have gone over the cliff and onto the river. It was very nerve wracking reversing those two miles out.
After we safely made it out, we got back on the main road and finally found our camp site.
The camp site was nice, with the exception of no hot water!!
The next morning we took a tour of Ally Spring – just gorgeous and breath taking!!!!
We walked around Round Spring and were just mesmerized on how blue the water was!
We tried to do the cave tour – but unbeknownst to us, they only do them at certain times, so we didn’t get a chance to do it since we had to head to our next destination.
We really wanted to see Devil’s Well as well, but it was closed for renovation.
We took a long hike into the woods as there was a sign that said that there was a cave in the middle of it. After walking for what seemed like miles, we got scared and turned around. So who knows if it was even there?
All in all – Ozark is a calm place for a weekend camping site with the family. Even though we went in the summertime – it was cool. Thankfully we had brought big blankets and light jackets.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    6
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Plains, MO
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty Little Scenic Waterfall”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Rocky Falls in Shannon County is a quiet little stair-step waterfall, off of the beaten path. It’s quiet beauty and soothing sounds feel soothing and peaceful to me. I always enjoy a visit. During the hottest summer months their may be several people playing on the falls and in the pool below, but any other time of year that I have visited it is quiet and serene. The fall colors are beautiful around mid October and it's generally a great place to take pictures of nature.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kristenwattsonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay City
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Big Spring”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I was driving from Chicago to see the Crystal Bridge Museum in Bentonville, AR. It was a peaceful but long drive. Big Spring is an excellent place to take a break. It is the biggest spring in the United States. The water is blue due to the mineral content in the water.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerBayCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malden, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
159 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Beautiful Alley Springs Mill on the Jack's Fork River”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The Jack's Fork is part of the Ozark National Scenic Riverways and just 2 hours from my home. We visit here at least 6 times a summer. There is a great campground right on the river or you can just make a day trip and float or relax beside the river. It is crystal clear and beautiful. There is a general store across from the campground and the town of Eminence is just 4 miles away where you can rent canoes. The Alley Roller Mill is open during the summer and there is NPS staff there to answer questions. On select days during the summer they will fire up the mill and demonstrate how it used to operate. This is a great trip for adults and kids.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank maldenmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rocky Falls is natural wonder and great family fun!”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This a a great family outing. A cool place to float around. Has bathroom facilities and nature trails.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank reecerob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ozark National Scenic Riverways also viewed

 

Been to Ozark National Scenic Riverways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing