We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mount Washington”
Review of White Mountains

Ranked #142 of 762 things to do in New Hampshire
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mountains of the Appalachian range in northern New Hampshire, where the highest point is Mount Washington at 6,288 feet.
Hyderabad, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mount Washington”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The drive in cool chilly weather was excellent.The audio CD guide provided for the tour is quite informative and exhaustive. It was a thrilling experience to climb to the summit in chilling and gushing winds in hazy visibility

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank guntupalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    11
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not what I was expecting”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Went to the White Mountains and expected they would be White. They were green. Not what I was expecting.
Hiked the Appalacian Trail. Thought I'd see some bald eagles and at least one American flag blowin' in the breeze. Did not. Yet again, not what I was expecting.
-Blanche White

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Blanchwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“End of summer vacation”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We camped out, drove Mt. Washington, went to story book village, searched for covered bridges...my girls and I had such an amazing time, we love New Hampshire and all the beauty it has to offer.

Helpful?
1 Thank TDiBattista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Magical autumn getaway”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Since spending our honeymoon in the White Mountains in 1974, we return almost every summer or fall for a weekend. The Franconia Notch, Flume Gorge, Canon Mountain Tramway, Polar Caves - so much to see and do. Clark's Trading Post is still a favorite stop.

This is a trip during which you can slow down, relax, take a leisurely hike (our favorites are the Flume and the Canon Mt. rim) and enjoy nature's beauty. Don't miss driving the Kancamagus Highway - breathtaking whatever the season.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Must drive scenic byways in the eastern US”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Excellent scenery during the fall season. Countless number of poets and authors have penned their thoughts, and I need not be another :). Just go there and the bliss of nature. The collage of colors mesmerize the mind and the spirits. Take the cog rail trip up Mt Washington. GET TICKETS ONLINE as that is a very very busy attraction. Stay in the local family run and independently owned inns to "feel" the charm of the locale...have good food in Glen Junction and have a wonderful time. The Kancamagus Highway is worth taking and so is the whole 113-302 loop. Literally....don't miss it. Soak in nature!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank bikramdas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Mountains also viewed

 
Franconia, White Mountains
Franconia, White Mountains
 

Been to White Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing