We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST PLACE EVER!”
Review of Keuka Lake

Keuka Lake
Book In Advance
More Info
US$117.18*
and up
Keuka Lake Winery Tour
Ranked #1,009 of 4,596 things to do in New York
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the Finger Lakes in Upstate New York.
Wellsville, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“BEST PLACE EVER!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I love spending the summer here at Keuka Lake. it's so relaxing and calm. the people are friendly to

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cat lover a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    5
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Central PA
Level Contributor
131 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Sip the Fruit Juice”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

In November, we visited the wineries of Keuka Lake. The year before we visited the wineries of Seneca Lake. If you are looking for a great time and love wine, this is a fantastic place to visit. We visited this on a weekend, and it was quite crowded. I do not like the crowds, and when I go back, it will be during a weekday. We still had a great time and would recommend the area. I definitely want to go back and visit the Curtiss Museum. Looks fantastic. Hammondsport is a rustic town, and I love seeing the old houses.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Flick8675309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
523 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Beautiful, pristine lake, great for a peaceful vacation”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I spent four years living on Keuka Lake as a college student and return every five years. It is among the cleanest of the Finger Lakes, and the most scenic. It is smaller than some of the lakes, so you can easily see across. It's unique "Y" shape gives it an interesting character. The middle of the "Y" and perimeter of the west lake are dotted with boutique wineries. In the summer they have special events which lends to the unique culture and provides something to do for vacationers. Like other glacial lakes, the water can be cold but it is swimable in July, August and early September. Boating abounds, ranging from dinner cruises about a paddle boat, to motor, party, and small row boats. There's an Amish market nearby which provides interesting shopping, incuding for scrumptious Amish pies and pastries. In the past 15 years, Amish from the Pennsylvania Dutch area have migrated to the Finger Lakes where land is cheaper. It is common to see horse drawn carriages, particularly toward Dundee on the east bank of Keuka Lake.

There are some nice motels, lake front cottages, and a lovely, upscale hotel at the middle of the "Y" (often the site of weddings) with beautiful views. It's about a 7 hour drive from the NYC metro area and 1.5 hours from Rochester, where the main airports are. There is a small private airport for corporate planes near Keuka. The little town, Penn Yan, provides basics with an "'old town" feel. It's a great place to visit for a weekend or week.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank DrKatieRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benbrook, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Keuka is a true gem - what happens on Keuka stays in your heart. We stayed at Lady of the Lakes - rented all the 2br units for our son's wedding in August of 2011. It was perfect for family reunion. This summer we stayed at the Willows Bed and Breakfast. Wow! That was wonderful! Hosts Jim and Kathy have transformed Jim's family cottage into a waterfront haven with super large decking, long dock, comfortable rooms with ensuite baths, inviting community and dining areas, and INCREDIBLE breakfasts! Kathy will accommodate dietary needs. Jim grew up on the lake and is a great historian and guide. Must be able to handle stairs.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank renonana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvania, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fun In The Hot Sun!”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

After renting a private cottage on Seneca Lake through VRBO, we ventured out to the one of the neighboring lakes, Keuka Lake, one day. The kids really wanted to go on wave runners so after calling many local marinas that rent boats and PWC, I found Morgan Marine. They were very helpful and reasonably priced for brand new PWC rentals. Renting the pair is first come/ first serve so beware if it is a hot and sunny day, get there early to ensure that they are available to you. Keuka Lake is very long and you can only use the PWC in a specified area of the lake but don't worry, there is plenty of water for everyone. Give yourself plenty of time to watch an informational video and fill out contracts etc. Morgan Marine also rents various boats as well. I highly recommend them.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Mindy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Keuka Lake also viewed

Keuka Park, Finger Lakes
 
Penn Yan, Finger Lakes
 

Been to Keuka Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing