We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Minis on the Dragon”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fontana Lake

Ranked #1,057 of 2,476 things to do in North Carolina
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 29-mile-long lake has deep, cold waters that provide an ideal setting for fishing and other water recreation.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
135 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Minis on the Dragon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Minis on the Dragon! Over 700 Mini Coopers drive the Dragon, Hwy. US 129 every May. The event is held at Fontana Village Resort. Whether you stay there or not, its is something worth seeing! Vendors, 300+ minis in a group photo, food, fun and twisties! Hwy 129 had 318 twisties in 11 miles! What fun for any car. Would go back time and time again.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank soyouwillknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    6
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
354 reviews
235 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,224 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lake Viewed From the Great Smoky Mountains Railroad Train”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Viewed this beautiful lake while riding the Great Smoky Mountains Railroad Train from Bryson City, TN. Lake was artificially created due to building a Dam on the Little Tennessee River that flooded the lumber town of Fontana, Proctor and Judson. It is a beautiful remote and peaceful area (except for the train whistle!).

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank CynthiafromOhio2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Sleeping Beauty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Lake Fontana could not be more peaceful. We paddled across the lake leaving from Cable Cove to the old town of Hazel Creek in the Smokies. We camped out at Tumbling Waters Campground where you can catch your own trout and they will clean it for you. The next day we went down the Nantahala River just outside of Bryson City, NC,

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank emazon2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful lake - something for everyone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We go to this area every summer, and any day spent on the lake is a great one! There are lots of areas to explore: we stopped once and hiked up to the old cemetery, another time we found a rope swing, and we even camped on a little island once. You can rent various equipment at the marina and they are very helpful and nice. We have canoed, jetskied, tubed, and had great picnics out on a pontoon. And a sunset on the lake is not to be missed! It is not very busy, you often feel like you have the entire lake to yourself. This is a truely beautiful place.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
9 Thank Laurareneek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savoy, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Beautiful lake in the Smokies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

This is a huge lake created by the Fontana Dam. The water is very clear, and the lake is beautiful. We started the day off just wanting to check out the "Dragon's Tail" road and learn about the Fontana Dam and the TVA before visiting the Cherokee Village. We stumbled onto the Fontana Lake Marina quite accidentally. We ended up boating and swimming for over 2 hours in the lake. We went there on a weekday, and we only saw a handful of other boats passing by. We pretty much had the entire lake for ourselves. We did not want to leave. I'm sure we will be going back in a near future.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
16 Thank Hercules1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fontana Lake also viewed

Robbinsville, North Carolina Mountains
Fontana Dam, North Carolina Mountains
 
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
Bryson City, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to Fontana Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing