We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”

Ranked #858 of 2,602 things to do in North Carolina
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beach extends for 15 miles.
Charlotte, NC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This is our 3rd trip to Bald Head Island and everything on this island is magical. We used to vacation in Hilton Head and Wild Dunes, SC but after we discovered BHI we insist on always coming back.

We have rented villas and homes and each place came with 2 golf carts (most rentals have them) and there is so much to do on this island. Aside from the Turtle Walk and various sailing/kayaking lessons there are also camps for the kids.

We loved riding bikes around the island as well. Every Wednesday during the summer the town has the Sunset Celebration (it is free) which is great fun for the kids and adults with a DJ, dancing, games and a bonfire w/ smores on the beach.
It is just a beautiful, classic beach town that is unspoiled (no tacky shops/hotels/ loud cheesy bars, no overcrowded beaches)......you feel like you are in another country, it is so serene.

If you are looking for a gorgeous, relaxing getaway then this is the place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetravel38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    8
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great!!!”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Many different beaches to pick from around the island! Rent golfcart to be able to visit more of the island especially if time there is limited! But still a great place to take family even for the day!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank jordigirl92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Bald Head Island, NC”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We just returned from our first visit to Bald Head Island, March 23-28, 2013. We had always wanted to see the island, but had hoped to do so in warmer weather. It was unusually COLD! We stayed in a beautiful cottage in Keeper's Landing. You travel by golf cart, bike or foot. The beach is beautiful, wide, and VERY clean. It was so cold we did not get in the ocean but did walk miles. The island itself is beautiful but expensive. The island can only be reached by ferry or private boat. If you use the ferry there is a tram that will take you to your rental. Shopping is limited: a grocery store, and about 5 shops. The golf course looks great but it was way to cold and windy for us to golf. There are 4 restaurants but only 3 where open during our visit - there were restrictions on where you could eat unless you were a member (we were not!). The Frying Pan Flats were very interesting. We are glad that we went but once is enough for us, I do not like to say never but I will say it is highly unlikely that we will return-- we will explore another island.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank beachieme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
149 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“It's just another expensive beach.”
Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

The ferry ride over and back for our large family just about sent us into bankruptcy. The idea of this island is quaint. Unfortunately none of the workers or visitors acted very friendly at all. The island has few public restrooms and even fewer are wheelchair accessible. Most shops are not wheelchair accessible either. The sweet ladies who volunteer at old badly were the exception to the rule....so if they work for free they are nice, is what my children learned from this island.

Helpful?
6 Thank stacicooperhoffmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I love this island!”
Reviewed 19 October 2012 via mobile

Bald Head Island is a magical place to visit! Travel by ferry to get there and
travel by golf cart thru out the island. I have always loved going to Bald Head Island. Be sure to stop and take a view on each side of the island. We stayed at a place on the far end of the island on my most recent visit in September 2012. I can never get enough of this place! Oh.....please be sure to stop and see the little purple berries that grow on the island.

Helpful?
1 Thank loveitalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bald Head Island Beach also viewed

Bald Head Island, North Carolina Coast
Bald Head Island, North Carolina Coast
 
Bald Head Island, North Carolina Coast
Bald Head Island, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Bald Head Island Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing