We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Chance”

General Lee's Headquarters Museum
Ranked #1,163 of 2,680 things to do in Pennsylvania
Attraction details
Twinsburg, Ohio
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Last Chance”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Nestled between a motel and a restaurant, we were told this historic house was acquired by the national park and the artifacts will be stored away and the house closed to the public in December. We were lucky to be there at the right time. Add this to "must see" list before it closes.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Haven, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“small but informative.”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Real small museum but it was nicely laid out and informative. I was shocked that it was free to get in , and didnt know what to think of A free museum.Well it was great and we did leave A donation to help out when we left .IT very informative about the family that owned the house and how they managed through the battle. Worth the stop.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting place but a little musty in there.”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stopped by on our tour of the battleground and it was a small but informative museum. It was a little musty in there but overall, it was a good place to stop. The gift shop offers some nice things too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DLR97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W. PA
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A great first stop if you are coming into town from Rt 30”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Small but a lot of information was glad we stopped as we entered town this is where we purchased our tour cd guide for our visit.
It is self guided where you do the reading.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PAhitstheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great pieces of history”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was a wonderful place! The very first display I viewed had items which soldiers carried. The Southern soldier carried a Bible and the Union a battle guide. I found great irony in this display. I really liked being able to stand in the house used by one of the greatest military leaders our country has known!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed General Lee's Headquarters Museum also viewed

 

Been to General Lee's Headquarters Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing