We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wild West” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Hills

Black Hills
Book In Advance
More Info
US$84.40*
and up
Mount Rushmore and More Tour
Ranked #118 of 449 things to do in South Dakota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This storied mountain range was named because of its dark, dense forest terrain.
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wild West”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Just returned from The Black Hills and Mt. Rushmore. Great Area to visit. Must see Badlands, Crazy Horse and Mt. Rushmore also drive the Needles hwy. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Stayed at storm mountain cabins in Hill city. Great location.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank linric13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    14
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Winding our way through the Black Hills on our Harleys was breath taking! What a beautiful masterpiece that our God has created! The lush, green valleys, the majestic mountain peaks and the peaceful feeling that you get while taking in the beauty is priceless. Mount Rushmore was magnificent as was Crazy Horse. If you stop to visit Crazy Horse mountain, be sure to visit the welcome center. It is brimming full of artifacts, history and memorabilia of the history of the area. It is more than worth the cost of $5. I am SO glad that we decided to stay in Custer instead of dealing with the crowds of people in Sturgis. Even though it was a 70 mile ride to Sturgis from Custer, it was worth every single mile. So pretty!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank LauraY3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Riding the Black Hills of South Dakota is the most amazing experience you can get. Just breath taking!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Nature with all of its glory fills this area with sweeping mountains, lush woodlands, rivers and beautiful skies. It's as if time has never touched this place. A definite place to see!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Freedomangelbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome! !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Beautiful scenery. Mount rushmore is amazing!Custer Park was also very beautiful to drive thru, Crazy Horse was also a very spectacular site. I would highly recommend anybody to go visit this part of the country.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilliard, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I visited the Black Hills in SD in July 2013. I flew up to Minneapolis and drove their with my family who visits there every year. I didn't know that this trip would be one of my favorites over all. We stayed in a cabin just outside of Deadwood, SD which was a great place for us because we went there just to go ATVing in the hills. Where we stayed we would hop on te 4wheelers and drive down te road to one the entrance points to start riding. Espically being from flat Florida this was an experience. You deal with all sorts of terrain. Climbing over rock beds, wooden bridges and just miles and miles of trails. Driving threw creeks and findin new places. Before you knew it you was on top of one of Gods beautiful creations. We woul drive and have lunch some place along the way. One day we found this opening to a lake and we found this huge cliff to jump off into the water. We were only about 45 minutes from Mt. Rushmore so we had to go visit that. So it's a great location to go on vacation and relax. See some beautiful sights an enjoy life.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank dillon_sheffield00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Black Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing