We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Scenic Overload”
Review of Black Hills

Black Hills
Book In Advance
More Info
US$84.40*
and up
Mount Rushmore and More Tour
Ranked #129 of 467 things to do in South Dakota
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This storied mountain range was named because of its dark, dense forest terrain.
Wales, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Scenic Overload”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We drove from Lead, SD to Mt. Rushmore, to the Crazy Horse Monument and then through Custer State Park and the Needles Highway. What a wonderful day. Buffalo burgers at Mt. Rushmore, and then live buffalos in the wild. Between the outstanding views and the many wildlife sightings, we were busy stopping and looking all day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank Gerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    14
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooksville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wild West”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Just returned from The Black Hills and Mt. Rushmore. Great Area to visit. Must see Badlands, Crazy Horse and Mt. Rushmore also drive the Needles hwy. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Stayed at storm mountain cabins in Hill city. Great location.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank linric13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Winding our way through the Black Hills on our Harleys was breath taking! What a beautiful masterpiece that our God has created! The lush, green valleys, the majestic mountain peaks and the peaceful feeling that you get while taking in the beauty is priceless. Mount Rushmore was magnificent as was Crazy Horse. If you stop to visit Crazy Horse mountain, be sure to visit the welcome center. It is brimming full of artifacts, history and memorabilia of the history of the area. It is more than worth the cost of $5. I am SO glad that we decided to stay in Custer instead of dealing with the crowds of people in Sturgis. Even though it was a 70 mile ride to Sturgis from Custer, it was worth every single mile. So pretty!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank LauraY3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Riding the Black Hills of South Dakota is the most amazing experience you can get. Just breath taking!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

Nature with all of its glory fills this area with sweeping mountains, lush woodlands, rivers and beautiful skies. It's as if time has never touched this place. A definite place to see!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Freedomangelbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome! !!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Beautiful scenery. Mount rushmore is amazing!Custer Park was also very beautiful to drive thru, Crazy Horse was also a very spectacular site. I would highly recommend anybody to go visit this part of the country.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Hills also viewed

 
Badlands National Park, SD
Badlands National Park, SD
 

Been to Black Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing