We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing rock formations”
Review of Fisher Towers

Fisher Towers
Book In Advance
More Info
US$74.00*
and up
Fisher Towers Rafting Full-Day Trip from Moab
Ranked #275 of 1,077 things to do in Utah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Famed red rock formation, can be viewed when driving along the Scenic Byway.
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing rock formations”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Amazing rock formations. The hike into the towers is challenging for those of us who do not like heights or ledges. The views are amazing, interesting to watch the rock climbers. It was very windy the day we went and the wind whipped around the formations. We hike slowly so it took us over 3 hours. Worth the walk.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    13
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
261 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sight!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

For the best view come on a partially cloudy day around sunset- the towers light up bright red! It is fun to watch the climbers scale the rocks. Bring a telephoto lens and binoculars for the best view. If camping here, arrive no later that 10 am to get a campsite (less than 10 available). You can camp in the valley nearby if none are available. Nice hiking trails if you can handle a moderate hike.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Road_Bear57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayfield, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best view in the valley”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is one of my favorite hikes in Moab. It is a two hour hike that is dog friendly and along the way you will get to see the rock climbers do their thing. Lots of fun. When you get to the end of the hike the views are incredible of the valley and the river.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't miss”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

One of my favorite hikes in the area. It is not super challenging but has some steep areas so maybe not great for young children. The views are amazing!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank NewYork_NYTra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Terrific hike en route from Grand Junction to Moab”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We flew into Grand Junction, CO, for our recent trip to Moab. I found this hike on Trip Advisor while reading about traveling to Moab. Your two basic choices are I-70 west to Highway 191, then south to Moab (faster), or I-70 west to Exit 214 (scenic), then Highway 6 to Highway 128 to Moab.

We chose the scenic route on the way in, and were glad we did. This route took us right by Fisher Towers, which is easily found on typical map apps. The drive is rural, and as described by others, truly spectacular, particularly between Fisher Towers and Moab, as you essentially follow the Colorado River into town.

Many locals were surprised that we found this hike, as it is a bit out of the way for many tourists but popular with locals. The site is famous as the location for the Citibank rock climbing commercial...search for that and you can find lots of pictures and information about the hike.

There isn't a lot of parking at the trail head, but we did find a spot. The trail is fairly well marked with cairns and a rare sign. You can see the Titan (largest tower) at 1.5 miles, trail ends at 2.2 miles. Round trip took us four hours, but we visited with many other hikers and took lots of pictures. It was hot, even in April, as the trail is largely exposed and faces west.

You don't need hiking poles but I was happy to have mine. My wife wished she had hers at times on the return.

We were fortunate to see a climber duplicate the Citibank ad while we were there...quite the impressive sight!

This is a no brainer if you're driving from Grand Junction. If staying in Moab without coming in from the east, then you must drive just over 20 miles east on Highway 128 from the Highway 191 junction. In that case, Corona Arch or Negro Bill Canyon might be better "outside the park(s)" options, as they are closer to town.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank clcjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fisher Towers also viewed

 

Been to Fisher Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing