We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Houseboat on Lake Powell!”
Review of Lake Powell

Lake Powell
Ranked #290 of 1,105 things to do in Utah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Straddling Northern Arizona and Southern Utah, Lake Powell and the surrounding Glen Canyon National Recreation Area offer many leisure activities.
Guilford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Houseboat on Lake Powell!”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

There is nothing like unplugging and living on a 65' houseboat on Lake Powell, especially after Labor Day. The lake is warm, fresh and clean, and the weather is warm in the days and just right at night. We needed air conditioning just two nights. The scenery is fantastic (red stone with white highlights, blue water and clear blue sky! Basically, the cost of the boat is it (park fees for Glen Canyon National Park ar small, and parking is free after that.)
Bring your small boat, launch at Hall's Crossing or Bullfrog, and motor to the houseboat that you rent. The small boats allows scouting and sports while the big houseboat is your mobile home. Lots of sandy patches to tie the houseboat up to, and enjoy hiking and beach fires in the evenings. Great place for kids of all ages and whole-family holidays.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    43
    12
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Casper, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Houseboat Adventure”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We just got back from our first houseboat trip and it was unforgettable! Our party consisted of four couples - all well traveled, but with no experience house boating. We started at Bullfrog Marina where we picked up our 59' Discovery Platinum XL boat. The boat has 2 private staterooms and 2 semi private berths below - all double beds. There was plenty of common space, a good sized galley, as well as lot's of outdoor deck space on the top deck, both covered and not covered. A short but thorough instruction from Aramark and we were off! The scenery is absolutely breathtaking and the houseboat proved to be comfortable and well equipped. The lake was warm and beautiful and the water clear and inviting and irresistible for swimming! Other than the constantly stunning views of Lake Powell and all of it's canyons and gulches, we also found some great hikes. The only drawback was a few minor mechanical issues with the boat which we were able to repair or deal with. They proved inconvenient but not detrimental, and were pointed out to Aramark on our return so hopefully the next group did not have to deal with them. The cost was comparable to a week at a resort. The environment was much more along the lines of RV Camping. Overall, the whole experience was excellent, and we will probably do it again. From our own first time lessons, here are a few pointers for houseboat beginners:

1) Plan your food and beverages carefully. Lake Powell is very remote and you can't just run to the store.
2) Ice is important. The boat fridge and freezer run on a generator, which does not run the entire time. We found it best to use for food only and the chest freezer for our ice supply. We used coolers for all the drinks, and some of the more versatile food. With our size party, for 7 days, 20 blocks of ice were needed for the week.
3) A small boat makes a huge difference! We used our 19 footer for exploring and sightseeing, and most importantly, for going ahead of the big boat to find a good spot to beach. It towed well behind the big boat.
4) Beaching and securing a large houseboat is definitely a challenge - much more than expected. Also finding an appropriate place to beach. We found it best to find a wonderful spot and stay for a couple of days and use the small boat to run around. After the trip we realized it may have been a good idea to use Google Earth to find some possible camps prior to the trip.
5) The lake is deep. Other than the requisite life jackets, it is a good idea to have other floating apparatus like tubes, rafts, noodles, etc. for more relaxed swimming.
6) A boat is extremely close quarters so make sure you choose the right party for a trip like this!
7) We purchased a book and map in advance and it was definitely worth it to find all the good spots for hiking and sightseeing. There are many to choose from, but we used the map Glen Canyon National Recreation Area: Utah / Arizona, USA (Trails Illustrated Map # 213) by National Geographic and the book Boater's Guide to Lake Powell by Michael R. Kelsey

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
14 Thank letsgogogofromWYO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Valley City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lake Powell is greaaaaaaate.”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We go there at least every other year, or more if possible, and we love it. We indulge quite a bit in the water sports, and you couldn't ask for better water. At this time of the year the water is in the high 70's, perfect for those needing to stay in the water a little longer because they couldn't get up on skis or wakeboard. You can also take some time to take in the sights, because no matter how often you go, the level of the lake can change what you can see. The water is gorgeous and the rock walls are stunning.
Our stay is usually from Saturday to the Sunday a week later. There are some pretty hefty winds now and then, that you may have to put up with, but it's still worth it. If you only have a few hours to visit you can still enjoy it. When we go as our entire family, we always take turns providing the evening meal (that is each married child's family) and we usually end up with more than we can eat. Therefore we usually find some weary traveler to invite over to share our meal. So if you see us there and are hungry, you may want to stop by.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

WE stumbled across the enormous Lake Powel on a drive towards Monument Valley. Lake Powell is stunning, the colour of the water is as blue as the Mediterranean, the sun shines and shimmers across the lake.
There are numerous trips on the water, boat hire, great café and accommodation.
Sadly we only had a couple of hours there, but will definitely be going back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lake Powell was VERY beautiful”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We took a tour of the Grand Canyon,Lake Powell, Zion, & Bryce national parks. All were completely different and very beautiful. I wish we could have spent more time in each place, but we were on a 7 day Caravan bus tour - who by the way, were EXCELLENT! I highly recommend them.

The main restaurant had great food and a beautiful view. The lake is very pretty, but the rock formations are gorgeous. Be sure to take a boat tour - there are about 3 of them of varying lengths. Take sunscreen!!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TomR233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lake Powell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing