We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting History”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cove Fort

Cove Fort
Ranked #74 of 1,036 things to do in Utah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cove Fort was used as a Stagecoach Way Station and Pony Express station.
Cabool, Missouri
Level Contributor
295 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Interesting History”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This is a well cared for, Mormon Fort established in 1867, and has a lot of history. They give personal tours of the inside of the Fort and it is worth a stop.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank motraveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    34
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ivins, Utah
1 review
“I love coming to this Historic Site”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Loved stepping back in time. With or without children, (and I have done both) it's a great adventure. Bring a picnic lunch. Take a nap under the apple trees and shade trees. Guides are very knowledgeable and love what they do. Grand kids loved the stories about each of the rooms and then being able to climb to the top of the fort. The homemade "pioneer button spinner" given to my grandson has become one of his treasures. "Cove Fort Days" will be my fourth visit this year!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurricane, Utah
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best visited the first week of August”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The first weekend in August is a celebration called "Cove Fort Days". There are dozens of things to do, especially for young people, There are all kinds of exhibits and games that they would enjoy, as well as pioneer demonstrations and live entertainment for adults. There are wagon and stage coach rides during the day also. Cove fort has guides in each of the rooms inside the fort itself. This year it will be August 1 and 2. There are also free hot dogs, chips and drinks.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Excoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great opportunity”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We took the tour with our three small children. In the video it was interesting to see the willingness of Ira be so quick to follow the prophet. What a great example. Our missionary tour guide Sister Waite knew all the history and fun facts. Thanks for a great tour.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mernlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great place to visit and learn about Utah history!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had a wonderful time learning about the Hinkley family and seeing so many original artifacts from the 1800's. What a great place to stretch your legs and walk around and tour while traveling or for a day trip. Family friendly and full of wonderful LDS missionaries who welcome you and take you on a wonderful tour.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank iamla01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cove Fort also viewed

 

Been to Cove Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing