We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nerves of steel”
Review of Moki Dugway

Moki Dugway
Ranked #109 of 1,090 things to do in Utah
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Jefferson City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nerves of steel”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Driving southerly along with no idea what lay in store for us, we started seeing warning signs advising certain vehicles to turn back, etc. Then the pavement ended. Then the bottom fell out of the world and we could see absolutely FOREVER. What a great view. Then we read the sign about dropping over a thousand feet vertically while only moving forward less than a quarter of a mile horizontally. So on we went. Single lane, gravel switchbacks with no guardrails, and STRAIGHT DOWN off the sides. Not for the faint of heart at all. Photos cannot illustrate how this felt. Don't hit the brakes, you'll slide in the gravel off the edge. Don't go too fast because there's a hairpin switchback in front of you. And don't have a motor home because it is a very narrow ONE LANE road to handle BOTH DIRECTIONS (yes, someone will have to back up if you meet oncoming vehicles) Still, I wouldn't miss it for the world. If you can, try to time it during a very-low traffic hour to avoid other vehicles. The view is: magnificent. The experience: unforgettable

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Allen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    38
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A Great Drive”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

If I hadn't done the research I wouldn't have believed that a normal road, the US-261, suddenly becomes the Moki Dugway, a 3 mile unpaved road with many switchbacks and 10% grades! We started at the top and made our way down. The views from the top were spectacular, there is a pull out at the top so you can park and admire the view.

The road, even though unpaved, was not too bad and was wider than I expected it to be. We were going down but didn't meet too many cars coming up. Cars and motorbikes are ok on this road, but not really suitable for RVs.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
529 reviews
167 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“EEK!!! Is there a rating for very scary downhill ride?”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

From the Muley Point Overlook, which is really beautiful to Mexican Hat there is this gravel switchback road which could send your blood pressure off the charts!!! It is called Route 261 and If you have a heart condition, avoid this place at all costs. The road is not paved and it is basically a one lane road. If a car is coming up or going down ---- start praying! Then there is the drop off over the side of the hill. (Yet, another heart attack producing time). It is a good detour, but I'm just preparing you if you are in any way height phobic.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SantaFeDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
“Worth the detour just for the drive”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Heading north, you wonder how exactly you're even going to proceed. The map says the road goes straight through, but you see this enormous wall in front of you. After the sign warning you about 10% grades ahead, you realize you're entering what is basically a set of switchbacks for cars. From the top, it looks like the view from an airplane. Hard to believe you climbed so high in such short distance.

Many motorcyclists seem to make the trip just for the ride, but the detour is even more worthwhile if you incorporate two points along the way.

The first is Goosenecks State Park just south of the dugway, where you can enjoy one of the few places in the area with picnic tables, with a view of the strange path the river cut through the rock.

Just north of the dugway, turn left just after you reach the top (blink and you'll miss the turn) to reach Muley Point. Muley Point itself is 5 miles down a well-graded dirt road. The first viewpoint you reach, while spectacular enough, isn't Muley Point. Make sure you turn right and go to the end of the road. You'll likely have the place to yourself.

All of these places can be reached with any car, but at the end of Muley Point you'll want to take it easy if you have a low clearance vehicle.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank gregsf11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great drive”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

If you are uncomfortable at all in the car, this is not for you. Fantastic drive up along the side of the mountain, clinging to the cliff on a gravel road. Fantastic views out towards Monument Valley, and a really fun drive. Take it slow and enjoy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank driver604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moki Dugway also viewed

 

Been to Moki Dugway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing