We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surreal Experience!”
Review of White House

White House
Book In Advance
More Info
US$18.00*
and up
White House and Capital Views Outdoor Walking Tour
Ranked #42 of 442 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: One of America's most recognizable historical and political symbols is also the home and office of the President of the United States.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Surreal Experience!”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

What an experience to stand in front of the White House. This is a must do in DC and the only reason why I did not rate it 5 was that theu don't do tour through the White House anymore!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ant1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,539
    1,778
    1,045
    186
    75
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
142 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Very lucky to have entered the back garden admitted twice a year”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We have seen volunteers were giving the fall garden free tickets and asked whether it was real The White House garden or not.The garden was opened to Public for two days each twice a year. Then we have waited in queue for about an hour to enter. İt was a bonus for Washington trip. There were volunteers protecting the grass, brass band playing music, Michelle Obama's vegetable garden, heliport, Kid's playground, Bodyguard's GMC cars, Jacqueline Kennedy's Rose Garden containing address desk of the President and 73000 sq.meters of garden covering 5000 sq.meters of The White House. We were as close as 20 meters to the building in front of which there was a green canvas sunshade entrance. İt was an unforgettable experience with my family. My advice to Washington trip planners, Beware of the admittance dates of The White House garden from the official websites. We got it by chance.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ritzy375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The seat of all power on earth but a bit of a damp squib ?”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Visited the White House during a trip to Washington DC and got soaked to the skin waiting in the queue then dripped all the way around the building, more than half of it was closed off to visitors.

A bit like the London Eye, it's a must do but don't expect the usual American bigger than yours monument as it's an old converted country house that's probably the most famous building on the planet but it's smaller than your average hotel.

No bags allowed so leave them in the car.

One of the list ticked off but not worth a second visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steppe80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
267 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A thrilling experience”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We loved visiting the White House. It is stunningly beautiful, just wish we could have gotten closer but still an exceptional site.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Feds294201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Feeling to be in CNN”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Every single werk we have seen the White House over the CNN, so that, to be here is like I am in the TV show

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SergioAndrade1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White House also viewed

 

Been to White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing