We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thought provoking”

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$65.00*
and up
Monuments of DC Segway Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A living memorial to the Holocaust, the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum inspires citizens and leaders worldwide to confront hatred, prevent genocide, and promote human dignity. Tickets are only needed from March 1 to August 31 to visit the Museum's Permanent Exhibition, which tells the history of the Holocaust from 1933 to 1945. Exhibitions Include: Permanent Exhibition: The Holocaust Spanning three floors, the self-guided Permanent Exhibition presents a narrative history of the Holocaust and features historical artifacts, photographs, and film footage. Personal objects and the concluding eyewitness testimonies highlight the stories of individuals. Recommended for ages 11 or older. The Portal: A Real-Time Conversation with People Forced to Flee Persecution The Shared Studios Portal allows you to have a face-to-face conversation with someone in another part of the world-as if you are standing in the same room. Through this installation, visitors will be able to converse in real time with displaced persons or refugees in Iraq, Jordan, and Germany Remember the Children: Daniel's Story Representing the experiences of many Jewish children during the Nazi era, "Daniel" narrates through his diary the history of the Holocaust in ways that children can understand. Recreated environments present life in a middle-class German home, in a Jewish ghetto in occupied Poland, and finally at the Auschwitz concentration camp. The exhibition is explicit without being graphic. Recommended for ages 8 or older. Some Were Neighbors: Collaboration & Complicity in the Holocaust Some Were Neighbors: Collaboration & Complicity in the Holocaust addresses one of the central questions about the Holocaust: How was it possible? The central role of Hitler and other Nazi Party leaders is indisputable. Less well understood is these perpetrators' dependence on countless others for the execution of Nazi racial policies. Within Nazi Germany and across German-dominated Europe, circles of collaboration and complicity rippled throughout governments and societies wherever victims of persecution and mass murder lived.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thought provoking”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Do this last on your list of to do things for the day. You feel emotionally drained at the end. We had the opportunity to hear a survivor speak about her experience. This was voted as the top museum by my students in 7&8.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Crewchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,540
    1,274
    358
    99
    47
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“holocaust museum”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

over 3 visits to DC, i went back to this museum 3 times. it has a strange attraction, and the brutality of the nazis is difficult to comprehend and fully understand in the first visit. strongly recommend a short first visit, followed by a longer fact finding one

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank underground_miner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Very well done”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Very well done. Took about 2.5 hours to tour the museum. Check in was quick and easy - federal govt employees just go to the information desk and get your free tickets.
Also note that you will need to go through metal detectors on the way in.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank flyerfan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not as gruesome as expected”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We expected that if we started our day here, it would be a dark cloud over the day. We were pleasantly surprised that, while there was a ton horrible images and negative things, there were not gruesome pictures of the dead and tortured prisoners. It is set up very well, with the the rise of hitler on the top floor and the subsequent history on your way back down to the main floor, ending with the freedom of the enslavement camps. It is a lot of heavy sad history, but is interesting. There are did bits of that time period that I did not know. There is a continuous film playing towards the end with people reflecting on the time, some are escapees, some helped jews with freedom/ protection, some reflect on how they wish they could help. All are equally moving and sad.
If you wish to get into the exhibit you need tickets. I am not sure if you can reserve them on line, but they do hand them out outside the building until they are gone. If you are a veteran, ask at the counter for tickets. They were out of tickets the day we went, however when discussing the disappointment of not being able to see the exhibit as a veteran, they stated they have a few tickets they hold for veterans. You must show your ID though.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travel_bug99205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Staff and volunteers need sensitivity training desperately!!!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My husband has MS and cannot stand for hours in queues. We tried by various means to get tickets where he would not have to wait for a long time.

The staff and voluteers in this facility all need sensitivity training. All that I spoke with including on the phone when I called were very rude.

For a place that is trying to teach understanding and equality for all, this place showed no compassion for someone with a disability.

My husband is also a US veteran but as he left the military many years ago he does not carry any military ID anymore. So they would not believe him. If he could have produced military ID he would have got more consideration and gone to the head of the queue.

I emailed the museum with my concerns and received a standard response that they get so many emails they cannot guarantee answering any.

So much for their quote "what you do matters

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Margaret799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed United States Holocaust Memorial Museum also viewed

 

Been to United States Holocaust Memorial Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing