We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great - and we saw Hillary Clinton and Ralph Lauren!”

National Museum of American History
Book In Advance
More Info
US$115.00*
and up
Private Guided Tour of the National Museum of American History
Ranked #33 of 432 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: One of the Smithsonian museums along the Mall, this one has more than 3 million artifacts in its collection—from gowns to locomotives—that reflect and preserve a record of America’s past.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Kemnay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great - and we saw Hillary Clinton and Ralph Lauren!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Great museum and like most in DC - its free! We came in when they were having the swearing-in ceremony for new citizens. Hillary Clinton and Ralph Lauren were there giving speeches so was great to see. So many things to see from all aspect and ages through American History.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,220
    968
    402
    130
    27
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A must see, spend some time”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Many excellent exhibits here. Of note, the flag that flew over Fort McHenry, Star-Spangled Banner handwritten by Francis Scott Key. First Ladies dress exhibit. Americana exhibit. Too many areas, pick your interest (transportation, Americana, daily life, etc)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
179 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Walked in and Walked out”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Entering the museum, we expected to see so many interesting artifacts and collections. Looking at the map, it appeared that at least half the place was closed off. Turned around and left to spend more time at the Museum of Natural History.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Mississippi
Level Contributor
110 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“interesting”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I loved the president and first ladies exhibit. My girls loved the first ladies' dresses and enjoyed some of the presidential things but for the most part this museum is better for older people. My children are 8 and 5. I was very moved by the exhibit about the struggle for civil rights.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MAMCBE2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Monroe, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well done for all levels of interest”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

My Husband has a master's degree in American history. He and my teenage boys were enthralled for the duration of our visit.
Myself and my daughter found the exhibits to be entertaining due to the life sized models and exhibits.
The presidential area included all of the inauguration gowns worn by the first ladies as well as the China they each picked out.

Helpful?
Thank AUJACK2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Museum of American History also viewed

 

Been to National Museum of American History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing