We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Cookies of my Life !!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thomas Sweet Ice Cream

Thomas Sweet Ice Cream
Ranked #8 of 87 Dessert in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Seating, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Georgetown
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best Cookies of my Life !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

A must go in DC. They have the best cookies I have ever tried ! I was three days here and I visit them every day and today I bought a lot of cookies for home ! I'll miss this delicious place !!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alamaya12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    22
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
101 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“THE place to stop for Ice Cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

While wandering around Georgetown during our vacation, we once again relied on Tripadvisor to help us with an ice cream craving. It's like gastro-geocaching... When you first walk in, the menu and the options looks daunting. We were there during a weekday afternoon and it was busy but we were served quickly. The soft serve was good, the cookie monster, coconut & butter brickle were awesome. Like some of the other reviewers, we walked past a cupcake place with a line down the block but were SO glad we stopped here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
135 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Is it crazy to walk with an ice cream cone when it's snowing?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

I was walking around Georgetown on a freezing Saturday night. I thought it would be great to stop in somewhere for a Hot Toddy. Then I came up on Thomas Sweets and thought I would just stop in to warm up and look around.
Just looking is not an option in the face of so many delicious flavors of ice cream.
One good think - when I went back into the cold my cone didn't melt too fast.
Good variety of ice cream and chocolates. Great quality and friendly service.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrales, NM
Level Contributor
93 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Coconut, bittersweet chocolate, pure deliciousness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We came to meet a friend here while visiting D.C. We had a few tastes while waiting and we were very impressed. We bought a cup of the coconut and the bittersweet chocolate to share, and then the kids bought one more cup of each for themselves. This ice cream is outstanding and well worth the visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank entrejoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GA
Level Contributor
139 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Skip DC cupcakes- this is so much better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Yes, DC cupcakes has a show but Thomas Sweet is THE best place for dessert in the Georgetown area. They're happy to provide a taste. The menu is extensive and includes tiramisu, cake batter... over 25 flavors of ice cream, fudge that's out of this world, soft serve, coffee. Enjoy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Karyatissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thomas Sweet Ice Cream also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Thomas Sweet Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing